The Black Keys Announce Ninth Studio Album and First In Five Years, "Let's Rock

Music News
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Alysse Gafkjen

The moment we’ve been anticipating/expecting since The Black Keys dropped their first song in five years, “Lo/Hi,” in early March has arrived: an album announcement.

Yes, the duo will release their ninth studio album “Let’s Rock” (the quotation marks are intentional) on June 28 via Easy Eye Sound/Nonesuch Records. They’ve also shared the second single off the record, “Eagle Birds.”

Drummer Patrick Carney describes the record as an “homage to electric guitar.” Adding, “We took a simple approach and trimmed all the fat like we used to.”

Indeed, “Eagle Birds,” a stripped-down no-frills rocker with a stomping beat and a growling guitar. Dan Auerbach had this to say about the new record: “When we’re together we are the Black Keys, that’s where that real magic is, and always has been since we were 16.”

“Let’s Rock” was recorded at Auerbach’s studio Easy Eye Sound in Nashville and follows 2014’s Turn Blue. The band is set to embark on a massive arena tour with Modest Mouse this September, with a date at the Tacoma Dome on Saturday, November 23 with Shannon and the Clams.

Below, read the tracklist and listen to “Eagle Birds.”


01. Shine A Little Light
02. Eagle Birds
03. Lo/Hi
04. Walk Across The Water
05. Tell Me Lies
06. Every Little Thing
07. Get Yourself Together
08. Sit Around And Miss You
09. Go
10. Breaking Down
11. Under The Gun
12. Fire Walk With Me

Related News & Reviews

Music News

Lucy Dacus Considers Her Mother and the Taurean Experience on "My Mother & I"

The song follows "La Vie En Rose" for Dacus' 2019 holiday single project

Read More
Music News

FKA Twigs Returns in Stunning Form on "Cellophane"

The emotional ballad is her first solo single in 3 years

Read More