Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson

Last night, Beck played Madison Square Garden and brought out a number of friends throughout the night. Spoon’s Britt Daniel took the stage alongside Beck to perform the Spoon track “I Turn My Camera On,” from 2005’s Gimme Fiction and “Dear Life” from Beck’s most recent album, Colors. Later, he brought out opener Jenny Lewis to perform “Girl Dreams” from One Foot in the Grave, which Beck hasn’t performed since 2003. [ Stereogum ]


Former Majical Cloudz frontman Devon Welsh has announced his debut solo album, Dream Songs. “I wrote songs but didn’t think about their purpose or about anything at all to do with the music industry or if I would be releasing music in the future,” explains Welsh. “I just tried to grow as a person and do some learning.” He also shared a new single off the album, “By the Daylight,” which follows the previously released “I’ll Be Your Ladder” and “May.” The new song comes with a video directed by Christopher Honeywell. Dream Songs is out August 24 via You Are Accepted. [ Consequence of Sound ]

Electronic producer Zhu and Tame Impala teamed up to released the single, “My Life,” a couple months back. Today, a video for the song has been unveiled. The clip was co-directed by American Millenial, the duo of Ben Tan and David Altobelli, along with Elliot Sellers and stars Willow Smith. Tame Impala’s last full-length was 2015’s Currents. Zhu released his debut studio album, Generationwhy, in 2016 and will play the Paramount Theatre on Tuesday, October 16. [ Pitchfork ]

Chvrches stopped by Australia’s Triple J radio station to contribute a song for their Like a Version cover series. The Scottish trio chose to take on Kendrick Lamar’s “LOVE,” off of 2017’s DAMN, turning it into a cinematic synth-filled ballad. Chvrches released their third LP, Love Is Dead, earlier this year. Chvrches will be in Seattle on Saturday, September 29 to play the Paramount Theatre. [ Under the Radar ]

iframe height="315" src="" width="560">

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Blood Orange and We Were Promised Jetpacks announce new albums, Death Cab for Cutie shares a new song, Fleet Foxes unveil a new music video, and the M.I.A. documentary receives a trailer.

Read More
Daily Roundups

Wednesday Music News

Cat Power announces first album in six years, Frankie Cosmos shares a new video, and new music from Bon Iver's Justin Vernon, Animal Collective, and D.R.A.M.

Read More
Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Minus the Bear announce break up and final EP plus new music from Wild Nothing, Waxahatchee, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, and The Hold Steady plus Alt-J get a remix from Alchemist and Trooko featuring Danny Brown.

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site