In Stores Now 1/30

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

January ends on a bang as many long-awaited albums hit stores this past Friday. Cleveland's Cloud Nothings return with their fourth LP, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "their most polished and measured set to date of punkish power-pop. Produced by John Goodmanson, the album combines a dynamic, full rock-band sound with emotive lyrics and bright pop hooks." They'll be LIVE on KEXP on Friday, February 17th at 1:00 PM PT, and KEXP presents them two nights at The Crocodile, Friday, February 17th and Saturday, February 18th.

Prolific L.A.-based artist Ty Segall shares his ninth LP, produced by legendary record producer/engineer Steve Albini. The self-titled album is his first solo release with a full band (in this case, Emmett Kelly, Mikal Cronin, Charlie Moothart and Ben Boye). "Together with Albini, they provide a loud, muscular sound on a diverse assortment of first-rate songs ranging from anthemic garage-rock and expansive prog to sludgy psych-rock and acoustic-oriented psych-pop." (Hear the new songs live in person at Neumos on Thursday, March 2nd.)

Allison Crutchfield is a musical veteran, as a member of Philly-based band Swearin' and previous projects P.S. Eliot and Bad Banana with her twin sister Katie of Waxahatchee, but this week, we've got her solo debut, "an impressive set that veers from spare, intimate folk-pop to anthemic, synth-driven indie-rock on sharply crafted songs with emotive lyrics of life in transition." On their third album, Vancouver, BC duo Japandroids bring a "more expansive take on the band's anthemic, life-affirming garage-pop, ranging from classic Japandroids heart-pumping sing-alongs to more measured but still effective fare featuring prominent synths and acoustic guitars." Buffalo-bred, NYC-based artist Julie Byrne returns with her second album, "an entrancing set of atmospheric folk with a spare, dreamy sound featuring finger-picked guitar and occasional keyboards and strings accompanying her breathy vocals, wistful melodies and evocative lyrics revolving around love and nature." And Glasgow/London duo Sacred Paws make their debut with "an excellent set of Afropop-influenced post-punk with buoyant guitar lines, percolating rhythms, occasional horns and synths, sweet harmonies, bittersweet lyrics and sunny melodies."

  • Allison Crutchfield - "I Don't Ever Wanna Leave California"
  • from Tourist in This Town on Merge
  • Ariel Pink / Weyes Blood - "Tears on Fire"
  • from Myths 002 on Mexican Summer
  • BBQ / Mark Sultan - "Agitated"
  • from BBQ / Mark Sultan on In the Red Records
  • Bell Biv DeVoe - "I'm Betta"
  • from Three Stripes on eOne
  • Bert Jansch - "Carnival"
  • from Living in the Shadows on Earth Recordings
  • Brantley Gilbert - "The Devil Don't Sleep"
  • from The Devil Don't Sleep on The Valory Music Co.
  • Cloud Nothings - "Modern Act"
  • from Life Without Sound on Carpark Records
  • Deaf Havana - "Fever"
  • from All These Countless Nights on SO Recordings
  • Delbert McClinton / Self-Made Men - "Like Lovin' Used to Be"
  • from Prick of the Litter on Hot Shot Records
  • Denzel Curry - "Narcotics"
  • from Imperial on Loma Vista Recordings
  • Egyptrixx - "We Can Be Concrete"
  • from Pure, Beyond Reproach on Halocline Trance
  • Emptyset - "Speak"
  • from Borders on Thrill Jockey
  • Fancey - "Dream All Night"
  • from Love Mirage on Stoner Disco
  • Fred Thomas - "Mallwalkers"
  • from Changer on Polyvinyl
  • Gabriel Garzón-Montano - "Crawl"
  • from Jardín on Stones Throw
  • Horse Thief - "Another Youth"
  • from Trials & Truths on Bella Union
  • Japandroids - "North East South West"
  • from Near to the Wild Heart of Life on Anti-
  • Julie Byrne - "Natural Blue"
  • from Not Even Happiness on Ba Da Bing Records
  • Kreator - "Earth Under The Sword"
  • from Gods of Violence on Nuclear Blast
  • Lauren Alaina - "Road Less Traveled"
  • from Road Less Traveled on Mercury Nashville
  • Marillion - "Marbles in the Park"
  • from Marbles in the Park on Ear Music / Racket Records (New Age)
  • Mark Eitzel - "An Answer"
  • from Hey Mr. Ferryman on Merge
  • Matthew Shipp - "Flying Carpet"
  • from Piano Song on Thirsty Ear
  • Menace Beach - "Maybe We'll Drown"
  • from Lemon Memory on Memphis Industries
  • Once & Future Band - "How Does It Make You Feel?"
  • from Once & Future Band on Castle Face
  • Oto Hiax - "Creeks"
  • from Oto Hiax on Editions Mego
  • P.O.S - "Lanes"
  • from Chill, dummy on Doomtree Records
  • Priests - "Nothing Feels Natural"
  • from Nothing Feels Natural on Sister Polygon Records
  • Rose Elinor Dougall - "Stellular"
  • from Stellular on Vermillion Records
  • Sacred Paws - "Rest"
  • from Strike a Match on Rock Action
  • Stef Chura - "You"
  • from Messes on Urinal Cake
  • Theo Bleckmann - "Elegy"
  • from Elegy on ECM
  • Tift Merritt - "Dusty Old Man"
  • from Stitch of the World on Yep Roc
  • Tobin Sprout - "When I Was A Boy"
  • from The Universe and Me on Burger Records
  • Train - "Play That Song"
  • from a girl a bottle a boat on Columbia
  • Twiztid - "Kill Somebody"
  • from The Continuous Evilution of Life's ?'s on Majik Ninja
  • Ty Segall - "Break A Guitar"
  • from Ty Segall on Drag City

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/13

If you're looking for a last-minute Valentine's Day gift for a music lover, look no further than this week's new releases. Brooklyn-based Sudanese multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Sinkane (aka Ahmed Gallab, former Yeasayer/Caribou/Of Montreal sideman) releases his fourth LP. KEXP Music Director Don Y…

Read More
Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Slowdive - Star Roving

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the day podcast subscription. This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unrealeased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJ’s think you should hear. Today’s song, featured on the Mo…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 1/23

Highlights this week include the latest from Foxygen. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the "fifth album from the duo of Sam France and Jonathan Rado is the first to be recorded in a proper studio. Produced by Trey Pollard, the album is a lush set of '70s-steeped orchestral glam-rock incorporating…

Read More