Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Janice Headley
photo by Bebe Labree Besch (view set)

  • Influential icon Thurston Moore shares a new track today: stream the stand-alone single "Cease Fire" below. The former Sonic Youth frontman explains the inspiration for the track, "Guns are designed to kill and we, as non-violent human beings, are against the killing of any person or animal. The song is also about the power of love, in all its freedom of choice. A power that no gun can extinguish as love will rule always. Melt down your guns and kiss your neighbor." Listen below, or download from his website. Thurston returns to Seattle on Tuesday, May 9th at Neumos. His touring band will again be Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth) and Deb Googe (My Bloody Valentine), with James Sedwards (Nought, Chrome Hoof). [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • The Drums return this summer with new music; stream the first single "Blood Under My Belt" from the forthcoming full-length "Abysmal Thoughts" (the quote marks are part of the title). The Brooklyn-based project now features only frontman/founding member Jonny Pierce who calls the LP, "a vivid self-portrait, alive with the hyperdramatic emotional potency of The Smiths, the arch literary pop moves of New Zealanders like The Verlaines and The Clean, and the riotous clatter-punk power of the U.K. DIY bands of 1979." He elaborates, saying, "I said I wanted to let life happen? Well, the universe listened and life began to fuck me real good! But honestly, I make the worst art when I'm comfortable. The stuff that resonates with me the longest - and that resonates with others - is always the stuff that comes out of my misery. Happiness can be confusing to me. It shows up out of nowhere, and before you can even get used to it, it's vanished. But "Abysmal Thoughts"? I can rely on them - and with the political chaos that is raining down, who knows when these dark feelings will subside?" "Abysmal Thoughts" will be out June 16th via Anti-, and The Drums return to Seattle on Monday, July 17th at Neumos. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Australian group Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever have a new EP coming out next week, their first for Sub Pop Records. Check out a video for the title track "The French Press" below, which features the band performing at a pool party wedding. The French Press EP is out March 10th, and the group will be LIVE on KEXP Tuesday, March 28th at 1:30 PM PT, followed by a show that night at Barboza. [ Stereogum ]

  • Nathan Williams has been a busy guy. Not only did he recently collaborate with his brother on a video game where you can punch white nationalist Richard Spencer in the face, but his band Wavves have announced a new album, You’re Welcome. Check out two singles below, the title track and "Daisy." Following a supporting spot on the Blink-182 tour (for real), the guys will head out on their own, playing Monday, June 5th at The Crocodile. [ Pitchfork ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Late last year, Nine Inch Nails surprised fans with an EP of new songs titled Not the Actual Events. Digital copies were already emailed to customers, but now the physical versions are starting to make the rounds, and it's a mess. Literally. A warning label is affixed to the package reading "actio…

Read More
Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

New Beck songs! Well, new-ish. Back in 2011, Beck contributed two original pieces for the film soundtrack to D.J. Caruso’s thriller, I Am Number Four. Over the weekend, Caruso shared two of those songs online, which you can stream below. No definite news on the long-awaited follow-up to 2014's Mor…

Read More