In Stores Now 10/17

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Veteran LA-based artist Moby debuts his new project, Moby & The Void Pacific Choir, and KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes their first LP is "a potent set of noisy, goth-tinged post-punk with loud, distorted synths, rumbling guitars, pounding industrial rhythms, dour vocals, soaring song hooks, shouted choruses and dystopian, politically charged lyrics." Australian duo Jagwar Ma release their sophomore full-length, "another strong set rooted in late '80s-early '90s Manchester dance-rock, with a bit more emphasis on rhythm and electronics than the debut." Also from Down Under, we have the debut from D.D Dumbo, aka aka Oliver Hugh Perry, who brings "an impressive set of eclectic avant-pop incorporating elements of '80s-steeped, New Waveish prog-pop, folk-rock, psych, dance-pop, Malian desert blues, Indian classical and much more on densely produced, intricately crafted songs combining a rich variety of instrumentation with his soaring vocals and probing lyrics exploring the relationship between humans and nature."

Conor Oberst (of Bright Eyes/Desaparecidos) shares his seventh solo release, "a strong set of intimate, stripped-down folk-pop featuring a stark sound with Oberst accompanying himself on piano, acoustic guitar and harmonica on mostly dark, often self-lacerating songs that reflect upon isolation, fragility and mortality." Philadelphia-based band Purling Hiss bring "a diverse, hook-filled blend of '90s-influenced psych-rock with garage-punk, jangle-pop, driving post-punk and more, combining loud, fuzzy guitars, muscular rhythms and often politically charged lyrics for these uneasy times." And west coast trio Terry Malts find "a more diverse and melodic take on the band's garage-pop sound, with songs ranging from driving post-punk to jangly power-pop."

  • (Various Artists) J Mascis - "Waltz #2" (Elliott Smith)
  • from Say Yes! A Tribute to Elliott Smith on American Laundromat
  • 40 Watt Sun - "Beyond You"
  • from Wider Than the Sky on Radiance
  • Anciients - "Following the Voice"
  • from Voice of the Void on Season of Mist
  • Axis: Sova - "Violent Yellow"
  • from Motor Earth on God Records
  • Bell X1 - "Out of Love"
  • from Arms on Bellyup
  • Benoît Pioulard - "Layette"
  • from The Benoît Pioulard Listening Matter on Kranky
  • Big Star
  • from Complete Third reissue on Omnivore
  • Black Marble - "Woods"
  • from It's Immaterial on Ghostly International
  • Blackberry Smoke - "Believe You Me"
  • from Like an Arrow on 3 Legged Records
  • Bushman's Revenge - "Contemplation"
  • from Bushman's Fire on Rune Grammofon
  • Bushman's Revenge - "As We Used To Sing"
  • from Jazz, Fritt Etter Hukommelsen on Rune Grammofon
  • C Duncan - "On Course"
  • from The Midnight Sun on Family Vineyard / FatCat Records
  • Califone - "Mittens (4-track Version)"
  • from Roomsound reissue on Dead Oceans
  • Christian Kjellvander - "Midsummer (Red Dance)"
  • from A Village: Natural Light on Tapete Records
  • Conor Oberst - "Ruminations"
  • from Ruminations on Nonesuch
  • Crying - "Wool in the Wash"
  • from Beyond the Fleeting Gales on Run for Cover Records
  • D.D Dumbo - "Walrus"
  • from Utopia Defeated on 4AD / Liberation Music
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan - "Limerent Death"
  • from Dissociation on Party Smasher
  • Donny McCaslin
  • from Beyond Now on Motéma Music
  • Duchess Says - "I Repeat Myself"
  • from Sciences Nouvelles on Slovenly
  • Dusky - "Sort It Out Sharon"
  • from Outer on Polydor
  • Fraternal Twin - "False Alarm"
  • from Homeworlding on Ghost Ramp
  • Gabriella Cohen - "Sever The Walls"
  • from Full Closure and No Details on Dot Dash
  • Jagwar Ma - "Give Me A Reason"
  • from Every Now & Then on Mom + Pop Music
  • Jamie Lidell - "Walk Right Back"
  • from Building a Beginning on Jajulin
  • JoJo - "Fuck Apologies (feat. Wiz Khalifa)"
  • from Mad Love on Atlantic
  • Johnnyswim - "Drunks"
  • from Georgica Pond on Big Picnic Records
  • Jonny Fritz - "Stadium Inn"
  • from Sweet Creep on ATO
  • Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker - "Something Familiar "
  • from Overnight on Rough Trade
  • Katie Gately - "Tuck"
  • from Color on Tri Angle
  • Katie Melua - "Dreams On Fire"
  • from In Winter on Sony BMG
  • Kings of Leon - "WALLS"
  • from WALLS on RCA
  • Kuedo - "In Your Sleep (ft. Hayden Thorpe)"
  • from Slow Knife on Planet Mu
  • Las Kellies - "Summer Breeze"
  • from Friends & Lovers on Fire Records
  • The Lemon Twigs - "As Long As We're Together"
  • from Do Hollywood on 4AD
  • Luke Haines - "Marc Bolan Blues"
  • from Smash the System on Cherry Red
  • Marcel Dettmann - "Let's Do It (Rolando Remix)"
  • from DJ-Kicks on !K7
  • Mike Doughty - "I Can't Believe I Found You in That Town"
  • from The Heart Watches While the Brain Burns on Snack Bar
  • Moby & the Void Pacific Choir - "Almost Loved (Moby Remix)"
  • from These Systems Are Failing on Little Idiot / Mute
  • Mono - "Requiem For Hell"
  • from Requiem for Hell on Temporary Residence
  • The Naked and Famous - "The Runners"
  • from Simple Forms on Somewhat Damaged
  • Nils Bech - "Glimpse Of Hope"
  • from Echo on DFA
  • The Notwist - "Pilot (Live)"
  • from Superheroes, Ghostvillains & Stuff on Alien Transistor
  • Oozing Wound - "Diver"
  • from Whatever Forever on Thrill Jockey
  • The Orb - "First, Consider The Lillys"
  • from COW / Chill Out, World! on Kompakt
  • Oval - "Popp"
  • from Popp on Uovooo
  • Phil Collins
  • from The Singles on Atlantic / Rhino
  • Powell - "Frankie (ft. Frankie)"
  • from Sport on XL
  • Purling Hiss - "Fever"
  • from High Bias on Drag City
  • Real Numbers - "Only Two Can Play"
  • from Wordless Wonder on Slumberland
  • Suzanne Vega - "We Of Me"
  • from Lover, Beloved: Songs from an Evening with Carson McCullers on Perpetual Sounds
  • Swet Shop Boys - "T5"
  • from Cashmere on Customs
  • Sybarite - "Valence"
  • from Waver the Absolute on Temporary Residence
  • Terry Allen
  • from Lubbock (On Everything) reissue on Paradise of Bachelors
  • Terry Malts - "Used To Be"
  • from Lost at the Party on Slumberland
  • Two Door Cinema Club - "Gameshow"
  • from Gameshow on Glassnote Entertainment Group
  • Zeds Dead - "DNA (ft. Jadakiss & Styles P)"
  • from Northern Lights on Deadbeats

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/24

Last week, we got the seventh solo album from Conor Oberst. This week, we've got a box set from his old project, Bright Eyes. You get six remastered, reissued vinyl copies of Fevers and Mirrors (2000), LIFTED or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground (2002), I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morn…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/10

After a two year wait, and a rescheduled release date, we've finally got the latest from Phantogram on our hands. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says, the "New York duo's third album is a sleeker, more polished take on the band's moody electro-pop inflected with hip hop, funk and other styles." Swed…

Read More