In Stores Now 10/10

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

After a two year wait, and a rescheduled release date, we've finally got the latest from Phantogram on our hands. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says, the "New York duo's third album is a sleeker, more polished take on the band's moody electro-pop inflected with hip hop, funk and other styles." Swedish band GOAT return with their third album which "features a more rootsy, acoustic-oriented take on their blend of shamanistic psych-rock with Afro-Beat, Malian desert blues, Congolese rumba and other styles. The album is more acoustic-oriented at the beginning, combining a variety of traditional acoustic instrumentation with hypnotic rhythms and gradually more prominent fuzzy electric guitars as the album progresses." The latest from Torrance, CA band Joyce Manor "is their most confident, diverse and sharply crafted set of emotive pop-punk to date, combining crunchy guitars, energetic rhythms, angsty lyrics and brightly melodic song hooks."

Durham, NC-based artist Hiss Golden Messenger (aka M.C. Taylor) shares his seventh LP, "his strongest set to date, featuring a warm, '70s-steeped folk-rock sound incorporating elements of funk, soul, blues, country-rock and other styles on bittersweet songs exploring the tensions between home life and the road." The fifth album from the Charleston, SC duo Shovels & Rope "features a bit more diverse and dynamic sound ranging from fuzzy glam-inflected rock to acoustic-oriented folk-pop on a consistently strong set featuring some of their most personal songs to date." And Xylouris White -- the duo of Dirty Three drummer Jim White and Cretan lute player George Xylouris -- share their sophomore album, produced by Fugazi’s Guy Picciotto, and featuring guest vocals from Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy.

  • Adrian Younge - "The Electronique Void Act 1"
  • from The Electronique Void on Linear Labs
  • Balance and Composure - "Postcard"
  • from Light We Made on Vagrant
  • Barry Gibb - "In the Now"
  • from In the Now on Columbia / Sony Music
  • Brent Cobb - "Solving Problems"
  • from Shine on Rainy Day on Low Country Sound
  • Brookzill! - "Mad Dog in Yoruba (feat. Fafá de Belém & Kiko Dinucci)"
  • from Throwback to the Future on Tommy Boy
  • Colbie Caillat - "Goldmine"
  • from The Malibu Sessions on PlummyLou
  • Dance Gavin Dance - "Deception"
  • from Mothership on Rise
  • The Devil Wears Prada - "Lock & Load"
  • from Transit Blues on Rise
  • DVA [Hi:Emotions] - "DAFUQ (ft Sinjin Hawke)"
  • from NOTU_URONLINEU on Hyperdub
  • Eddie Money - "Two Tickets to Paradise"
  • from The Complete Hits and More! on Real Gone Music
  • Evelyn "Champagne" King - "Shame"
  • from The Complete RCA Hits and More on Real Gone Music
  • The Game - "92 Bars"
  • from 1992 on Entertainment One Music/5th Amendment/Blood Money
  • Goat - "Union of Mind and Soul"
  • from Requiem on Sub Pop
  • Green Day - "Revolution Radio"
  • from Revolution Radio on Reprise
  • GTA - "Little Bit of This (ft. Vince Staples)"
  • from Good Times Ahead on Warner Bros.
  • Hiss Golden Messenger - "Sufferer (Love My Conqueror)"
  • from Heart Like a Levee on Merge
  • Joyce Manor - "Fake I.D."
  • from Cody on Epitaph
  • Julia Jacklin - "Hay Plain"
  • from Don't Let the Kids Win on Polyvinyl
  • Kaiser Chiefs - "We Stay Together"
  • from Stay Together on Caroline
  • Light Fantastic - "Out of View"
  • from Out of View on Spiritual Pajamas
  • Lou Reed - "I Can't Stand It"
  • from The RCA and Arista Album Collection on Legacy / RCA
  • Lucio Battisti - "Dio Mio No"
  • from Amore E Non Amore reissue on Light in the Attic
  • Melissa Etheridge - "Hold On, I'm Coming"
  • from Memphis Rock and Soul on Concord Music Group / Stax
  • Meshuggah - "Clockworks"
  • from The Violent Sleep of Reason on Nuclear Blast
  • Norah Jones - "Carry On"
  • from Day Breaks on Blue Note / Virgin EMI
  • Oasis - "D'You Know What I Mean?"
  • from Be Here Now reissue on Big Brother
  • OneRepublic - "Oh My My"
  • from Oh My My on Interscope / Polydor
  • Phantogram - "Calling All"
  • from Three on Republic
  • Phish
  • from Big Boat on Jemp Records
  • Placebo - "Pure Morning"
  • from A Place for Us To Dream: 20 Years of Placebo on Rise
  • Shovels & Rope - "I Know"
  • from Little Seeds on New West
  • Slaves - "Fuck The Hi-Hat"
  • from Take Control on Virgin EMI
  • Sonic Avenues - "Future"
  • from Disconnector on Dirtnap Records
  • Sum 41 - "Fake My Own Death"
  • from 13 Voices on Hopeless Records
  • Takuya Kuroda - "R.S.B.D"
  • from Zigzagger on Concord
  • Todd Snider - "Hey Pretty Boy"
  • from Eastside Bulldog on Agonia Records / Aimless Records
  • White Lies - "Swing"
  • from Friends on BMG
  • Xylouris White - "Black Peak"
  • from Black Peak on Bella Union
  • Yello - "Limbo"
  • from Toy on Polydor

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/17

Veteran LA-based artist Moby debuts his new project, Moby & The Void Pacific Choir, and KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes their first LP is "a potent set of noisy, goth-tinged post-punk with loud, distorted synths, rumbling guitars, pounding industrial rhythms, dour vocals, soaring song hooks…

Read More

Live Around Town This Week

Great Spiders, Mr.Skates!Earshot Jazz Festival: Amendola Vs.

Read More

KEXP Live from Iceland Airwaves 2016

Join KEXP as we return to the land of fire and ice, broadcasting live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival! KEXP’s international broadcast will feature 16 exclusive performances live on air on Wednesday, November 2nd, through Saturday, November 5th, from 6AM-2PM (Pac…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/3

September closed out with a really strong week of new releases, including the long-awaited new album from Bon Iver. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "his most adventurous, forward-looking recording to date, combining spacy, digitally warped electro-pop with folk, gospel and other styles on s…

Read More