In Stores Now 2/29

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

This week's batch of new releases takes us from Seattle to Saint Petersburg, Russia, as Pinkshinyultrablast return with their sophomore full-length. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album as "an even more impressive set of fuzzy shoegazer psych-rock, featuring a more complex and dynamic sound with layers of distortion-drenched guitars, atmospheric keyboards, driving rhythms, celestial vocals and soaring pop hooks." Seattle's own Crater release their debut full-length, "a promising set of dark electro-pop with buzzing synths, rumbling guitars, industrial-tinged rhythms, ethereal vocals and hypnotic pop hooks."

School Of Seven Bells share their fourth and final album featuring songs recorded before the 2013 death of founding member Benjamin Curtis. "Completed by surviving member Alejandra Deheza, the album is an emotionally powerful set of atmospheric electro-pop combining soaring synths and propulsive rhythms with Deheza's ethereal vocals and often poignant lyrics of love and loss."

Boston band Quilt return with "a tighter, cleaner and more concise take on their folk-tinged psych-pop inflected with dream-pop, motorik prog and other styles on a variety of beautifully crafted songs." Santigold's third album "is a brightly colored blend of R&B, hip hop, dancehall, New Wave pop-rock and more, with a variety of stylistically diverse songs offering up critiques of consumerism." And Heron Oblivion (a project featuring members of Comets On Fire, Espers and Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound) unleash their debut, "a promising set of expansive psych-rock ranging from fiery, distortion-drenched ragers to hypnotic acid-folk dirges."

  • (Various Artists) Brandon Flowers, Britt Daniel, Dhani Harrison, Jonathan Bates, Wayne Coyne, and “Weird Al” Yankovic – “Handle With Care”
  • from George Fest: A Night to Celebrate the Music of George Harrison on Universal
  • (Various Artists) Tom Waits – “Soul Of A Man”
  • from God Don't Never Change: The Songs of Blind Willie Johnson on Alligator
  • The 1975 – “UGH!”
  • from I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it on Dirty Hit/Interscope
  • Adan & Xavi Y Los Imanes – “Along The Way”
  • from Adan & Xavi Y Los Imanes on Everloving
  • Andrew Weatherall – “The Confidence Man”
  • from Convenanza on Rotters Golf Club
  • Anthrax – “Breathing Lightning”
  • from For All Kings on Megaforce
  • Bonnie Raitt – “Gypsy In Me”
  • from Dig in Deep on Redwing Records
  • Bullion – “Loop The Loop”
  • from Loop the Loop on Deek
  • Coastgaard / Coastguard – “Landmines”
  • from Devil on the Balcony on eOne
  • Crater – “Hardly At All”
  • from Talk to Me So I Can Fall Asleep on Help Yourself
  • Death Index – “Little 'N' Pretty”
  • from Death Index on Deathwish
  • DMA'S – “In The Moment”
  • from Hills End on Mom + Pop
  • DMX Krew – “Spiritual Encounter”
  • from You Exist on Hypercolour
  • Eerie Wanda – “Volcano Lagoon”
  • from Hum on Beyond Beyond Is Beyond
  • Emma Pollock – “Alabaster”
  • from In Search of Harperfield on Chemikal Underground Records
  • Farm – “Outeriff”
  • from The Innermost Limits of Pure Fun reissue on Sundazed
  • Giorgio Tuma – “My Last Tears Will Be A Blue Melody”
  • from This Life Denied Me Your Love on Elefant
  • Hands Like Houses – “Colourblind”
  • from Dissonants on Rise Records
  • La Santa Cecilia – “Nunca Mas”
  • from Buenaventura on Universal Music Latino
  • Lizzy Mercier Descloux
  • from Mambo Nassau on Light in the Attic Records
  • from Zulu Rock on Light in the Attic Records
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – “Kevin (Feat. Leon Bridges)”
  • from This Unruly Mess I've Made on Macklemore
  • Michael Daves – “Pretty Polly”
  • from Orchids and Violence on Nonesuch
  • Mount Moriah – “Cardinal Cross”
  • from How to Dance on Merge
  • Odd Nosdam – “Burrow”
  • from Sisters on Leaving Records
  • Pinkshinyultrablast – “The Cherry Pit”
  • from Grandfeathered on Club AC30
  • Purple Pilgrims – “Thru Evry Cell”
  • from Eternal Delight on Not Not Fun
  • Quilt – “Roller”
  • from Plaza on Mexican Summer
  • The Renderers – “Seaworthy”
  • from In the Sodium Light on Ba Da Bing Records
  • Santigold – “Chasing Shadows”
  • from 99 Cents on Atlantic
  • Sarah Neufeld – “The Ridge”
  • from The Ridge on Paper Bag
  • School of Seven Bells – “On My Heart”
  • from SVIIB on Vagrant
  • Steve Mason – “Planet Sizes”
  • from Meet the Humans on Domino / Double Six
  • Supersonic Blues Machine – “West of Flushing, South of Frisco”
  • from West of Flushing South of Frisco on ADA / Provogue Music Productions
  • Wakey!Wakey! – “Cruel You”
  • from Overreactivist on The End
  • Willie Nelson – “Someone to Watch Over Me”
  • from Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin on Legacy
  • Witching Waves – “Twister”
  • from Crystal Cafe on HHBTM Records / Soft Power
  • Yuck
  • from Stranger Things on Mamé Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 3/7

You'll want to "march" yourself into the record store for this month's first batch of new releases. Highlights include the latest from Wussy. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "the seventh album from this Cincinnati band led by former Ass Ponys frontman Chuck Cleaver and Lisa Walker is another f…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/22

The highly-anticipated tenth full-length from experimental-pop group Animal Collective hit stores last Friday. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson. Brooklyn band Wild Nothing return with their third LP. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "this Brooklyn-via-Virginia p…

Read More