In Stores Now 2/22

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

The highly-anticipated tenth full-length from experimental-pop group Animal Collective hit stores last Friday. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson. Brooklyn band Wild Nothing return with their third LP. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "this Brooklyn-via-Virginia project spearheaded by Jack Tatum finds him continuing to evolve by giving a wider range and more studio sophistication to his shimmering dream-pop. Along with glistening guitars and synths, the album features sax, strings, marimbas and more on beautifully arranged songs ranging from propulsive '80s dream-pop and swooning, atmospheric songs to tropical-inflected minimalist pop and moody, soul-steeped ballads."

Seattle trio So Pitted debut on Sub Pop with "a powerful set of scuzzy noise-punk with angular, abrasive guitars, pummeling rhythms and dread-filled lyrics." More local music hits the streets from Gazebos, whose debut is "a lively set of prog-tinged post-punk with shape-shifting arrangements and elastic vocals."

The latest from Brooklyn band TEEN is "their sharpest set to date of arty electro-pop with shimmering synths, airy three-part harmonies and sharply crafted lyrics revolving around feminism and relationships." And Boston-based group Lake Street Dive bring "a well-crafted set of '60s-steeped soul with impeccably arranged and produced songs ranging from energetic Motown-style soul-pop and sizzling funk to gospel-influenced ballads, combining tight musicianship with Rachael Price's dynamic, honeyed vocals."

  • After the Burial – “Lost In The Static”
  • from Dig Deep on Sumerian Records
  • Animal Collective – “FloriDada”
  • from Painting With on Domino
  • BJ the Chicago Kid – “Love Inside”
  • from In My Mind on Motown
  • Brood Ma – “Nrg Jynx (Daze End Version)”
  • from Daze on Tri Angle
  • Carrie Rodriguez – “La Última Vez”
  • from Lola on Luz
  • The Cave Singers – “That's Why”
  • from Banshee on self-released
  • Cavern of Anti-Matter – “Tardis Cymbals”
  • from Void Beats / Invocation Trex on Duophonic
  • Choir Of Young Believers – “Olimpiyskiy”
  • from Grasque on Ghostly International
  • Chuck Johnson – “Middle Water”
  • from Velvet Arc on Trouble in Mind
  • Dan Sartain – “First Bloods”
  • from Century Plaza on One Little Indian
  • (DJ-Kicks / Moodymann) Yaw – “Where Will You Be”
  • from DJ-Kicks on !K7
  • Doug Tuttle – “Falling To Believe”
  • from It Calls Me on Trouble in Mind
  • El Guincho – “Cómix feat. Mala Rodríguez”
  • from Hiperasia on Everlasting
  • Essaie Pas – “Retox”
  • from Demain Est une Autre Nuit on DFA
  • The Fall – “Venice with Girls”
  • from Wise Ol' Man on Cherry Red
  • Gazebos – “I Don't Wanna Be Here”
  • from Die Alone on Hardly Art
  • Golden Daze – “Never Comin' Back”
  • from Golden Daze on Autumn Tone
  • The Heliocentrics – “Night And Day (From The Deep)”
  • from From the Deep on Now-Again
  • Jack Garratt – “Breathe Life”
  • from Phase on Interscope / Island
  • Jordan Klassen – “Baby Moses”
  • from Javelin on Nevado
  • Lake Street Dive – “I Don't Care About You”
  • from Side Pony on Nonesuch
  • Lightstorm – “Missionary Is Impossible”
  • from Creation on Drag City
  • Living Hour – “Seagull”
  • from Living Hour on Lefse
  • Lushlife / CSLSX – “This Ecstatic Cult ft. Killer Mike”
  • from Ritualize on Western Vinyl
  • Marlon Williams – “Hello Miss Lonesome”
  • from Marlon Williams on Dead Oceans
  • Matmos – “Ultimate Care II Excerpt Eight”
  • from Ultimate Care II on Thrill Jockey
  • Michael Nau – “Winter Beat”
  • from Mowing on Suicide Squeeze
  • Motorpsycho – “Spin, Spin, Spin”
  • from Here Be Monsters on Rune Grammofon
  • Prins Thomas – “A2”
  • from Principe Del Norte on Smalltown Supersound
  • Ra Ra Riot – “Water”
  • from Need Your Light on Barsuk
  • Rangda – “To Melt The Moon”
  • from The Heretic's Bargain on Drag City
  • Rick Springfield – “Let Me In”
  • from Rocket Science on Frontiers Records
  • Seth Bogart – “Eating Makeup (featuring Kathleen Hanna)”
  • from Seth Bogart on Burger
  • The Shivas – “Sad Sad Sorrow”
  • from Better Off Dead on K Records
  • Sioux Falls – “Dinosaur Dying”
  • from Rot Forever on Broken World Media / Standard Brickhouse
  • The Soft Moon – “Without (Codex Empire Remix)”
  • from Deeper Remixed Vol. 2 on Captured Tracks / aufnahme + wiedergabe
  • So Pitted – “rot in hell”
  • from neo on Sub Pop
  • Submotion Orchestra – “Kimono”
  • from Colour Theory on Counter
  • TEEN – “All About Us”
  • from Love Yes on Carpark
  • Tracy Bryant – “Come Around”
  • from Subterranean on Burger Records
  • Vandaveer – “But Enough On That For Now”
  • from The Wild Mercury on MRI / Whitespace
  • Venetian Snares – “You and Shayna”
  • from Traditional Synthesizer Music on Planet Mu / Timesig
  • Wild Nothing – “Life of Pause”
  • from Life of Pause on Captured Tracks/Bella Union
  • Wolfmother – “Victorious”
  • from Victorious on Universal

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/29

This week's batch of new releases takes us from Seattle to Saint Petersburg, Russia, as Pinkshinyultrablast return with their sophomore full-length. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album as "an even more impressive set of fuzzy shoegazer psych-rock, featuring a more complex and dynamic …

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/15

KEXP premiered an album stream of the latest from Portland band Radiation City last week, and it's now in stores. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes their latest, "features a more synth-driven sound for their eclectic dream-pop, combining bright synths and glittering guitars with funk-inflected rh…

Read More