Out This Week 10/5

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Lots of great local releases this week, including the sophomore full-length from Seattle supergroup Childbirth, featuring members of Chastity Belt, TacocaT and Pony Time. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a strong set of snarky garage-punk with primal, grungy guitar lines and pounding rhythms accompanying Julia Shapiro’s sarcastic vocals and the band’s biting, often-hilarious lyrics skewering sexism and lots more."

Seattle artist Paul Hiraga, better known as Downpilot, shares a "a fine set of well-crafted folk-pop ranging from jangly mid-tempo rock reminiscent of R.E.M. to sparse, atmospheric ballads." Portland band Blitzen Trapper release "a solid set of ‘70s-steeped folk-rock ranging from funk-inflected rock reminiscent of The James Gang to harmonica-laden folk." And new music from Queensrÿche! (Did you know they're from Bellevue?)

There's great releases from other places, too: the fifth album from Wavves, the LA-based band fronted by Nathan Williams, is "a potent, hook-filled blend of power-pop, garage-punk and grunge-pop, featuring consistently strong, sharply crafted songs juxtaposing angst-fueled lyrics with bright pop melodies." Brooklyn artist Arthur Ashin (a.k.a. Autre Ne Veut) presents "another adventurous set of arty, R&B-inflected electro-pop combining some jazz instrumentation and glitchy electronic textures and effects with his raspy, volatile vocals and intimate lyrics." Nashville band Promised Land Sound release "a well-crafted set of folk-tinged psych-pop with jangly guitars, warm harmonies and sparkling pop hooks." And Belfast band Girls Names put out "another potent set of dour post-punk with ominous, clanging guitars, eerie keyboards, hypnotic rhythms, sullen vocals and strong song hooks."

  • Air Formation – “The Wasted Days”
  • from Were We Ever Here on Club AC30
  • Alixander III – “Broken Promises”
  • from Heavy Friends, Pt. 2 on Forced Exposure
  • Allusondrugs – “Her Crown”
  • from Magic College on Too Pure
  • Alpaca Sports – “Just Like Them”
  • from When You Need Me the Most on Elefant
  • Attic Lights – “Future Bound”
  • from Reworked by La Casa Azul on Elefant
  • Autre Ne Veut – “World War Pt. 2”
  • from Age of Transparency on Downtown
  • Avicii – “Ten More Days”
  • from Stories on EMI / Island / Virgin
  • Bixiga 70 – “100% 13”
  • from III on Glitterbeat
  • Born Ruffians – “We Made It”
  • from Ruff on Yep Roc
  • The Bottle Rockets – “XOYOU”
  • from South Broadway Athletic Club on Bloodshot
  • Brad San Martin – “Lessons Left Me”
  • from Tell Someone on Jigsaw Records
  • Bryson Tiller – “Exchange”
  • from T R A P S O U L on Trapsoul
  • The Butterscotch Cathedral – “Flood Of Mendoza”
  • from The Butterscotch Cathedral on Trouble in Mind
  • Childbirth – “Nasty Grrls”
  • from Women's Rights on Suicide Squeeze
  • Children of Bodom – “Morrigan”
  • from I Worship Chaos on Nuclear Blast
  • The City – “Victim Of Circumstance”
  • from Now That Everything's Been Said reissue on Light in the Attic Records
  • Clap! Clap! – “Serendipity”
  • from SIMPLE EP on Black Acre
  • Clutch – “Psychic Warfare”
  • from Psychic Warfare on Weathermaker
  • Darkstar – “Pin Secure”
  • from Foam Island on Warp
  • Dead Heavens – “Adderall Highway”
  • from Adderall Highway on One Little Indian
  • Deafheaven – “Brought to the Water”
  • from New Bermuda on Anti
  • Dirty Ghosts – “Cataract”
  • from Let It Pretend on Last Gang Records
  • DJ Spinn – “All Day VIP”
  • from Off That Loud on Hyperdub
  • Downpilot – “Radio Ghost”
  • from Radio Ghost on Tapete Records
  • Duke Dumont – “Need U (100%) (James Laurence Bootleg)”
  • from Blasé Boys Club Part 1 on Virgin EMI
  • Eagles of Death Metal – “Complexity”
  • from Zipper Down on T-Boy Records
  • Editors – “The Law”
  • from In Dream on PIAS
  • Electric Six – “Roulette”
  • from Bitch, Don't Let Me Die! on A Special Thing
  • Emily Kinney – “Birthday Cake”
  • from THISISWAR on Universal
  • Express Rising – “Aylmeri Bracelet”
  • from Fixed Rope on Numero Group
  • Girls' Names – “Reticence”
  • from Arms Around a Vision on Tough Love
  • Helvetia – “Crumbs Like Saucers”
  • from Dromomania on Joyful Noise
  • Indian Handcrafts – “It's Late Queeny”
  • from Creeps on Sargent House
  • Janet Jackson – “No Sleeep”
  • from Unbreakable on Rhythm Nation
  • Joe Jackson – “A Little Smile”
  • from Fast Forward on earMUSIC
  • Kylesa – “Lost and Confused”
  • from Exhausting Fire on Season of Mist
  • Larry Gus – “NP-Complete”
  • from I Need New Eyes on DFA
  • Matt Nathanson – “Giants”
  • from Show Me Your Fangs on Vanguard
  • Mercury Rev – “The Queen Of Swans”
  • from The Light in You on Bella Union
  • Moon Taxi – “All Day All Night”
  • from Daybreaker on BMG / Universal
  • Ms. John Soda – “Hero Whales”
  • from Loom on Morr Music
  • The New Mastersounds – “Made For Pleasure”
  • from Made for Pleasure on The Royal Potato
  • Nils Frahm and Ólafur Arnalds – “Four”
  • from LOON EP on Erased Tapes
  • Promised Land Sound – “Otherworldly Pleasures”
  • from For Use and Delight on Paradise of Bachelors
  • Queensrÿche – “Arrow Of Time”
  • from Condition Hüman on Century Media
  • Rudimental – “Never Let You Go”
  • from We the Generation on Asylum
  • The Selecter – “Open Goal”
  • from Subculture on self-released
  • Sevendust – “Thank You”
  • from Kill the Flaw on 7Bros. Records
  • Shellshag – “Blowin' It”
  • from Why'd I Have to Get So High? on Don Giovanni
  • Shopping – “Straight Lines”
  • from Why Choose on Fat Cat
  • SK Kakraba – “Guun”
  • from Songs of Paapieye on Awesome Tapes From Africa
  • Squeeze – “Happy Days”
  • from Cradle to the Grave on Virgin EMI
  • Swim Deep – “Namaste”
  • from Mothers on RCA
  • Tamar Braxton – “Angels & Demons”
  • from Calling All Lovers on Epic
  • Trevor Jackson – “Scratch Video Megamix”
  • from Trevor Jackson Presents: Science Fiction Dancehall Classics on On-U Sound
  • Trivium – “Silence In The Snow”
  • from Silence in the Snow on Roadrunner Records
  • Wavves – “Way Too Much”
  • from V on Ghost Ramp/Warner Bros.
  • Yvette – “Calm and Content”
  • from Time Management EP on Godmode

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/12

All week long on the KEXP Blog (here and here), we've been celebrating the release of Israel Nash's latest, Israel Nash’s Silver Season. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "another impressive set of psych-tinged folk-rock reminiscent of Neil Young, featuring a warm, ‘70s-steeped sound with ex...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 9/28

It's getting hard to keep up with all the great fall releases. If you thought last week was jam-packed, just check out what's in store this week!

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site