Out This Week 10/12

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

All week long on the KEXP Blog (here and here), we've been celebrating the release of Israel Nash's latest, Israel Nash’s Silver Season. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "another impressive set of psych-tinged folk-rock reminiscent of Neil Young, featuring a warm, ‘70s-steeped sound with expressive guitar solos, occasional pedal steel, gentle vocals and wistful melodies."

Columbus, OH-based band Saintseneca return with their third album, "another excellent set of smartly crafted folk-pop with a dynamic, densely produced sound combining a colorful variety of instrumentation with buoyant melodies, exuberant harmonies and heady metaphysical lyrics." Detroit band Protomartyr return with "another stellar set of bleak post-punk with angular guitars, taut, driving rhythms, gloomy vocals and acerbic lyrics." Philadelphia artist Alex Giannascoli (aka Alex G) delivers his seventh full-length of "‘90s-influenced folk-pop combining a casual, lo-fi sound with his fragile, sometimes pitch-shifted vocals and melancholy melodies." UK artist Chad Valley (aka Hugo Manuel, also of the band Jonquil) serves "a solid set of R&B-tinged electro-pop combining a spacious sound with Manuel’s often-vocodered vocals and melancholy lyrics." And longtime KEXP faves The Decemberists return with a 5-song EP comprised of outtakes from this year's release What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World, ranging "from rootsy folk-pop to punchy garage-rock."

  • Alex G – “Bug”
  • from Beach Music on Domino
  • Apprentice Destroyer – “Chrome Temple”
  • from Glass Ceiling Universe on Castle Face
  • Burnt Ones / Space Lady – “Infinity Suite”
  • from The Space Lady & Burnt Ones on Castle Face
  • Chad Valley – “True”
  • from Entirely New Blue on Cascine
  • City and Colour – “Wasted Love”
  • from If I Should Go Before You on Dine Alone
  • Co La – “Suffering (Tuesday)”
  • from No No on Software
  • Corb Lund – “Weight Of The Gun”
  • from Things That Can't Be Undone on New West
  • Daniel Martin Moore – “Proud As We Are”
  • from Golden Age on Sofa Burn Records
  • The Decemberists – “Why Would I Now?”
  • from Florasongs EP on Capitol
  • Dilly Dally – “Desire”
  • from Sore on Partisan
  • Donnie Fritts – “Tuscaloosa 1962”
  • from Oh My Goodness on Single Lock Records
  • The Game – “Mula ft. Kanye West”
  • from The Documentary 2 on Blood Money/Fifth Amendment/Entertainment One
  • Israel Nash – “Strangers”
  • from Israel Nash’s Silver Season on Loose Music/Thirty Tigers
  • Joe Budden – “Slaughtermouse”
  • from All Love Lost on eOne
  • Johnny Marr - "How Soon Is Now? (Live)"
  • from Adrenalin Baby live album on Warner Bros.
  • Jon McLaughlin – “I Want You Anyway”
  • from Like Us on Razor & Tie
  • Kacy Hill – “Experience”
  • from Bloo EP on Def Jam/GOOD
  • Kelela – “A Message”
  • from Hallucinogen EP on Def Jam/GOOD
  • Kisses – “Control”
  • from Rest in Paradise on Hit City USA
  • Knife Pleats – “One Step Too Far”
  • from Hat Bark Beach on Jigsaw Records
  • Korey Dane – “Let It Be Just For Fun”
  • from Youngblood on Innovative Leisure
  • Mogwai – “Helicon 1”
  • from Central Belters on Rock Action
  • Moiré – “STFN”
  • from Gel on R&S
  • Mount Moriah – “Calvander”
  • from "Calvander" 7" on Merge
  • New Order – “Restless (Agoria Remix)”
  • from Restless remixes on Mute
  • Nicole Dollanganger – “Angels Of Porn (II)”
  • from Natural Born Losers on Eerie Organization
  • Of Montreal – “Wraith Pinned To The Mist And Other Games”
  • from Snare Lustrous Doomings on Polyvinyl
  • Protomartyr – “Why Does It Shake?”
  • from The Agent Intellect on Hardly Art
  • Ryan Hemsworth / Lucas – “From Grace”
  • from Taking Flight EP on Secret Songs
  • Saintseneca – “Sleeper Hold”
  • from Such Things on Anti-
  • The Spook School – “Burn Masculinity”
  • from Try to Be Hopeful on Fortuna Pop
  • Weyes Blood – “Cardamom”
  • from Cardamom Times on Mexican Summer
  • Yip Deceiver – “Party Line”
  • from YPD on New West
  • The Zombies – “I Want You Back Again”
  • from Still Got That Hunger on The End
  • Zomby
  • from Let's Jam EP1 and Let's Jam EP2 on XL

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/19

Deerhunter lead the pack of this week's new releases with the seventh full-length, Fading Frontier. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "one of their most direct and melodic releases. It’s also one of their best, featuring beautifully crafted songs of atmospheric psych-pop combining a warm, oft…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/5

Lots of great local releases this week, including the sophomore full-length from Seattle supergroup Childbirth, featuring members of Chastity Belt, TacocaT and Pony Time. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a strong set of snarky garage-punk with primal, grungy guitar lines and pounding rhythm…

Read More