Out This Week 2/25

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

It's been six years, but a new album from Beck is finally here. KEXP's Music Director, Don Yates, describes his twelfth studio album, Morning Phase, as "a gorgeous set of downtempo, psych-tinged folk-pop that’s a sequel of sorts to his 2002 album Sea Change, with somber, slow-moving songs featuring acoustic guitars, lush strings and piano along with occasional bells, pedal steel, harmonica and more accompanying his hazy vocals and warm harmonies, though the lyrics lean more towards finding serenity rather than the heartbreak and desolation of Sea Change."

St. Vincent returns this week with a self-titled full-length that "is her most focused and strongest work to date, a visceral yet sophisticated set of adventurous avant-pop combining elements of orchestral pop, funk, R&B, punk and more on consistently strong songs ranging from rhythm-driven electro-rock to gorgeous atmospheric ballads."

Other highlights include the new album from Vertical Scratchers, the Merge Records debut from LA-based duo of John Schmersal (ex-Enon/Brainiac) and Christian Beaulieu (ex-Triclops!/Anywhere). Remember the "Buffalo Stance"? Well, Neneh Cherry is back this week with her first solo album in 16 years, produced by Four Tet, and featuring guest vocals from Robyn. Jónsi makes a guest appearance on the latest from Death Vessel. Throw Me The Statue's Scott Reitherman debuts his new project, Pillar Point, and Thee Oh Sees frontman John Dwyer launches his electronic solo debut, Damaged Bug.

Some standout reissues this week include Morrissey's Your Arsenal (which includes a bonus disc featuring a 1991 concert at California's Shoreline Amphitheatre), Bob Mould's Workbook (repackaged as a 2-CD set with a 1989 concert), and Superchunk's Indoor Living (which -- surprise! -- comes with a download of a full 1997 concert).

Beck - Waking Light from Morning Phase on Capitol

Bleeding Rainbow - So You Know from Interrupt on Kanine

Bob Mould - See A Little Light from Workbook (reissue) on Omnivore

Brandt Brauer Frick - Hugo from DJ-Kicks on !K7

Casper & the Cookies - Dingbats from Dingbats on Wild Kindness Records

D. Charles Speer and the Helix - Wallwalker from Doubled Exposure on Thrill Jockey

Damaged Bug - Eggs At Night from Hubba Bubba on Castle Face

Davidge - Gallant Foxes from Slo Light on The End

Death Vessel - Mercury Dime from Island Intervals on Sub Pop

Eternal Lips - Songs In The Key Of Dream from Eternal Lips EP on New Mirage Records

Greg Ashley - Awkward Affections from Another Generation of Slaves on Trouble in Mind

Hamell on Trial - Together (feat. Kimya Dawson) from Happiest Man in the World on New West

Lo-Fang - Look Away from Blue Film on 4AD

Major Lazer - Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) from Apocalypse Soon EP on Secretly Canadian/Mad Decent

Mark Guiliana/Brad Mehldau - Hungry Ghost from Mehliana: Taming the Dragon on Nonesuch

Milagres - The Letterbomb from Violent Light on Kill Rock Stars

Morrissey - Glamorous Glue from Your Arsenal reissue on Parlophone

Mozes & the Firstborn - I Got Skills from Mozes & the Firstborn on Burger Records

Natural Child - Out in the Country from Dancin' With Wolves on Burger Records

Neneh Cherry - Everything from Blank Project on Smalltown Supersound

New Madrid - Manners from Sunswimmer on Normaltown

The Notwist - Kong from Close to the Glass on Sub Pop

patten - Agen from Estoile Naiant on Warp

Pillar Point - Diamond Mine from Pillar Point on Polyvinyl

Run River North - Fight to Keep from Run River North on Nettwerk

Schoolboy Q - Collard Greens feat. Kendrick Lamar from Oxymoron on Top Dawg

She Sir - Bitter Bazaar from Go Guitars on Shelflife

Silversun Pickups - Kissing Families from The Singles Collection on Dangerbird

The Souljazz Orchestra - Celestial Blues from Inner Fire on Strut

St. Vincent - Digital Witness from St. Vincent on Loma Vista

Superchunk - Watery Hands from Indoor Living reissue on Merge

Tacocat - Bridge To Hawaii from NVM on Hardly Art

Thalia Zedek - Fell So Hard from Six on Thrill Jockey

Vertical Scratchers - These Plains from Daughter of Everything on Merge

We Were Promised Jetpacks - Peace Sign from E Rey: Live in Philadelphia on FatCat

Wild Beasts - Wanderlust from Present Tense on Domino

Withered Hand - Horseshoe from New Gods on Slumberland

Yellow Ostrich - Any Wonder from Cosmos on Barsuk

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 3/4

One of the most exciting releases this week comes from Brooklyn-via-Jersey band Real Estate. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes their third album, Atlas, as "another masterful set of dreamy, surf-inflected indie-pop, featuring a more pristine sound this time around for their warm blend of ja…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 2/18

New York duo Phantogram release their sophomore album, Voices, today, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates claims is a, "sleek set of moody electro-pop with a dark, atmospheric sound featuring buzzing synths, spiky guitars, hip hop-influenced beats, breathy vocals and catchy pop hooks." Another high…

Read More