Sub Pop Stories 6: The Future

As Sub Pop Records turns 30 years old it’s time to look forward as much as back. In this feature hosted by OC Notes with the help of CEO Megan Jasper, founders Bruce Pavitt and Jonathan Poneman, and musician, producer, and A&R rep’ Ishmael Butler, we hear how the label has evolved into one focused on delivering music and art from numerous and diverse perspectives.

“Well.. the future’s connected to the present, which is also connected to the past, so Sub Pop’s always looking to be a purveyor of what we consider good music. Finding those people, those bands, those artists, those ideas, in the future, is gonna be the same as they’re tryin to do now, what we trying to do now is keep an open mind, take chances, minimize the risk of those chances, by focusing in on good practices that will ensure that you can keep your business going, cause its based on good art.  So, hopefully that’s what we’ll do.”
 — Ishmael Butler 

Airing on The Afternoon Show Thurs 8/9 at 3:00 PM PT:

Sub Pop Stories: The Future includes excerpts of music from:

Beach House - "Lemon Glow"
Iron & Wine - "Last Night"
Moaning - "Don't Go"
Digable Planets - "The Rebirth of Slick"
Shabazz Palaces - "Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac)"
Porter Ray - "East Seattle"
HIM - "Wings of a Butterfly"
Regina Spektor - "Fidelity"
Jay-Z - "Hard Knock Life"
Yuno - "No Going Back"
Kyle Craft - "Heartbreak Junkie"
King Tuff - "Psycho Star"


Ishmael Butler // photo by Morgen Schuler

John Richards, Megan Jasper, Ishmael Butler, Chris Jacobs, Tony Kiewel, Bruce Pavitt, Jonathan Poneman, Tendai Maraire // photo by Matthew B. Thompson

Tendai Maraire, OC Notes, and Ishmael Butler // photo by Matthew B. Thompson

Ishmael Butler of Shabazz Palaces live in the KEXP gathering space // photo by Matthew B. Thompson

"Sub Pop Stories 6: The Future" is part of the From the Vault documentary series, made possible thanks to a generous gift from Paul Allen, and in cooperation with MoPop. Production, writing and editing thanks to Julian Martlew, with help from Owen Murphy and Isaac Kaplan-Woolner. Hosted by OC Notes with Megan Jasper.