Friday Music News

Music News, Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
Lykke Li // Photo by Brittany Feenstra

Swedish songstress Lykke Li has taken a break from her recent work with supergroup LIV to share a cover of Jim Croce's `1972 hit "Time in a Bottle." Her most recent releases were the songs "Heaven" and "Hurt to Live" with LIV, which is comprised of Jeff Bhasker, Andrew Wyatt and Pontus Winnberg of Miike Snow, and Björn Yttling of Peter Bjorn and John. Her last album was 2014's I Never Learn. [ Pitchfork ]


Mercury Award-winning musician Natasha Khan of Bat For Lashes has created the theme song for the new BBC/Netflix series Requiem. The haunting song is called "Aigra" and was made with the help of award-winning film composer Dominik Scherrer. Requiem airs on BBC 1 tonight and will eventually be released internationally on Netflix. Khan released the most recent Bat For Lashes album, The Bride, in 2016. [ Consequence of Sound ]


Thom Yorke has partnered with Rag & Bone to soundtrack the fashion line's new short film "Why Can't We Get Along." The film stars Kate Mara and Ansel Elgort, who are swarmed by an army of dancers from the American Ballet Theater, moving all around them. Choreographer Benjamin Millipied co-directed the film with Aaron Duffy and Bob Partington. Yorke has previously soundtracked a number of Rag & Bone runway shows. His last solo album was 2014's Tomorrow's Modern Boxes. [ Rolling Stone ]


Albert Hammond Jr. just announced the release of his fourth solo album titled Francis Trouble due for release March 9 from Red Bull Records. The Strokes guitarist shared the album's first single "Muted Beatings," debuting the song in a live performance on Conan. Francis Trouble was inspired by the stillbirth of Hammond Jr.'s twin brother Francis. His last solo album was 2015's Momentary Masters. Hammond Jr. will stop by Seattle on his upcoming tour, playing the Crocodile on Tuesday, April 10. [ SPIN ]


Yesterday, we heard Dan Auerbach's contribution to Amazon Music's Valentine Day-themed playlist "Love Me, Love Me Not" and today another song has been unveiled, this one from Bay Area musician Jay Som (aka Melina Duterte). Called "Hot Bread," Duterte says the song was inspired by a one night stand with a former lover. Duterte released Everybody Works last year via Polyvinyl and last week shared the Pirouette 7-inch containing to songs from the Everybody Works sessions that didn't make the album. Catch Jay Som at Neumos on Thursday, February 15 with Japanese Breakfast and Hand Habits. [ Under the Radar ]

Related News & Reviews

Music News Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Arcade Fire teams up with Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Blood Orange drops two new songs, plus tracks from of Montreal and Titus Andronicus all in today's music news round-up.

Read More
Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Jay Som - 1 Billion Dogs

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the day podcast subscription. This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJ’s think you should hear. Today’s song, featured on The Mor…

Read More
Album Reviews

Album Review: Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool

How long have we been anticipating A Moon Shaped Pool now? Truly, anticipation has lost much of its meaning in 2016. In our digital world of surprise albums and unquestioned instant gratification, the months we spend waiting for heroes to return to the forefront can feel like years. And yet, here w…

Read More
Live Reviews

Live Review: Lykke Li with Mapei at Moore Theatre 9/17/14

Perspective is a powerful tool to have in your pocket as an individual. It can make even the worst situation a blessing in disguise, as learned strength can produce a rose from the thorn patch, and doors unlocked and opened where others closed. This perspective is even more valuable when you manage…

Read More