Tuesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Matthew B. Thompson (view set)
  • Beck released the effervescent pop album Colors this past fall and today he's shared a cute video for the track "Fix Me." Directed by Brook Linder, the clip focuses on the true story of a little girl in Japan named Mame who lives with three poodles that dress up in a variety of costumes. The four of them have all become popular on Instagram (and for good reason). "There's something really special happening in the mountains of Yamagata, and we were lucky enough to enter Mame's world for two afternoons in November," Linder said of the video. "That home is heaven on Earth. One of the dogs, Qoo, and I had a special connection – I think he's my great-grandfather reincarnated… or something. He looked into my soul." Colors is out now on Capitol Records. [ Rolling Stone ]
  • Today is quite a big day for tour announcements, notably including a co-headlining North American tour of indie rock vets Built to Spill and Afghan Whigs. The unique pairing will embark on a 24 date tour, includes a stop in Seattle on the last night of their tour, Tuesday, May 15, where they'll play Showbox at the Market. Afghan Whigs released In Spades last year and Built To Spill's last release was 2015's Untethered Moon. [ Brooklyn Vegan ]
  • It looks like Mark Oliver Everett, aka "E", is reviving his project Eels for a new release this spring. Everett shared a cryptic teaser featuring visuals of previous moments in his career, with an announcement that something (likely an album) called The Deconstruction will be arriving on April 6. Eels last release was 2014's The Cautionary Tales of Mark Olver Everett. [ Stereogum ]
  • MGMT are releasing a new album next month called Little Dark Age. Today they've shared more details regarding the release and have also announced a forthcoming tour. We now know the release date of the album will be Feb. 9 via Columbia and they've also shared the album's cover art and tracklist. MGMT have previously shared the album's title track as well as the songs "When You Die" and "Hand It Over" off of Little Dark Age.The cover art is below. The band will be making a stop in Seattle on Saturday, May 12 to play Showbox SoDo. [ Consequence of Sound ]
  • UK band Editors have announced a new album entitled Violence and shared its first single, "Magazine." The song initially debuted on Jo Whiley's BBC Radio Two show on Monday night and today the song's video has been premiered via NME. In a press release, the band has said of the song: "Magazine is a pointed finger aimed at those in power...some corrupt politician or businessman...a character, and a tongue in cheek poke at the empty posturing and playing to the masses of the power hungry." The band has also announced tour dates and will play Neumos on Tuesday, May 8. Violence is due out March 9 via Play It Again Sam. [ NME ]
  • Guitar wizard Jack White also announced a tour today. White is releasing the album Boarding House Reach this spring and has recently revealed two songs from it. The massive world tour kicks off in White's hometown of Detroit on April 19 and ends in Las Vegas on August 23. His Seattle show is near the end, on Monday, Aug. 13, at WaMu Theatre. Boarding House Reach is out March 23 via Third Man Records and follows up 2014's Lazaretto. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Yet another tour announcement comes from the former Talking Heads frontman David Byrne, who has a forthcoming album called American Utopia. The tour is being described as "the most ambitious show I've done since the shows that were filmed for [Talking Heads tour] Stop Making Sense." Featuring a 12-piece band, choreographed dancers, and songs from Talking Heads' previous discography as well as Byrne's solo material, the show sounds like one not to miss! Byrne will play the Paramount on Thursday, May 24. American Utopia is out March 9 via Todomundo/Nonesuch and is Byrne's first solo album since 2004's Grown Backwards. He's previously shared the lead single "Everybody's Coming To My House" which was co-written by Brian Eno. [ Under the Radar ]
David Byrne American Utopia Tour Art-thumb-633x840-703892

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Wednesday Music News

The Decemberists have announced a new album to be released this March entitled I'll Be Your Girl. The album is said to be a departure from their signature indie folk and takes on a synth pop, glam sound courtesy of super-producer John Congleton, who the band is working with for the first time. In a…

Read More
Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Prolific Garage-rock force Ty Segall gave an interview with Stereogum that offered some interesting new tidbits of information about the musician. For one, he no longer lives in San Francisco. Secondly, he's not a huge fan of smoking weed. But most interestingly, he's very interested in making a hi…

Read More