Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Shelly Corbett (view set)

  • Jessi Zazu of Those Darlins has passed away at the age of 28. As we reported back in December 2016, Zazu was diagnosed with cervical cancer just one week after finishing her final tour with Those Darlins. In a statement on the band's Facebook page, her bandmate Linwood Regensburg reports: "She maintained a sense of humor and a commanding presence up until and through her final moments. She was in the company of those who cared deeply about her and who she cared deeply about." [ Pitchfork ]

  • Toronto's Alvvays are paying homage to their homeland in their official video for "Dreams Tonight," off of their fantastic sophomore album, Antisocialites, released last week. The video, directed by Matt Johnson, takes archival footage from the 1967 World's Fair in Montreal (also known as Expo 67) and digitally places the band within it, warping the fabric of time. See Alvvays in real-time on Saturday, October 28 at the Showbox. [ Stereogum ]

  • Tegan and Sara are celebrating the 10th anniversary of their beloved album The Con by releasing a cover album and today they've released the list who will be contributing and to which song. It's a stacked list, with Ryan Adams, CHVRCHES, Shamir, Mykki Blanco, Cyndi Lauper, and Grimes on the album. The Con X: Covers will be out digitally on October 20 via Warner Bros and on vinyl on December 22. Proceeds from the compilation will be donated to the Tegan and Sara Foundation, which focuses on supporting economic justice, health, and representation of LGBTQ girls and women. Tegan and Sara are embarking on The Con X tour this fall, where they will perform special arrangements of its songs. They hit Seattle on Friday, October 27 to play the Moore Theatre. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Dan Bejar's decades-long project Destroyer is releasing a new album next month called ken. We've previously heard the lead single "Sky's Grey" and, now, the second, "Tinseltown Swimming in Blood" has been revealed. The new wave-sounding track is accompanied by a video directed by Karen Zolo, who was inspired by french director Chris Marker's 1962 short film La Jetée to do a remake. “I’d just had a conversation about artist Chris Marker with a friend when I was approached to make a music video for the upcoming Destroyer album...It’s not just an homage to the great cine-poet, it’s also about the medium of film, about still photography. It would have been a billion times easier and less stressful to shoot it digitally, but it was worth it.” said Zolo. ken will be released October 20 via Merge Records. [ Paste ]
  • San Diego surf rock outfit Wavves have contributed a new song to Adult Swim's year-long singles series. Called "The Lung," the song harkens back to early Wavves output with its lo-fi quality and punchy sound. "The Lung" follows up their sixth album, You're Welcome, released earlier in the summer.  [ SPIN ]

  • Legendary new wave band Depeche Mode released their 14th studio album, Spirit, earlier this year. Today they shared the spacey new video for "Cover Me," directed by frequent collaborator Anton Corbijn. Frontman Dave Gahan, who stars in the clip, said this about the video: "A big surprise for me was how 'Cover Me' ended up being. I always heard this idea of the song being in two halves. The song is here and then you kind of get in the spaceship and go somewhere else." The band are also releasing a Cover Me remix EP on October 6 via Columbia. See Depeche Mode play the Key Arena on Saturday, October 21. [ Under the Radar ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Grant Hart, drummer , songwriter, and co-lead singer for the influential rock band Hüsker Dü, has died. He was 56 years old. The cause of death has not been announced, but he had reportedly been fighting cancer. Bob Mould confirmed the news via Facebook. The Minneapolis band was formed in 1979 by H…

Read More
Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Radiohead recently released a 20th-anniversary reissue of OK Computer called OKNOTOK. A lot of excitement surrounded the inclusion of three previously unreleased tracks, one of those being a fan-favorite that the band had played a number of times live but had never released a studio version of, cal…

Read More