Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Amber Knecht (view set)

  • UK trio The xx continue to pound the pavement in support of their most recent release, I See You, including a Thursday night stop to Jimmy Kimmel Live. Watch the band perform the track "Dangerous" and the web-exclusive "Say Something Loving" below. [ Under the Radar]

  • Swedish electropop band Little Dragon released their fifth studio album, Season High, earlier this year and today a new song that didn't make it onto the album has been shared. "Peace of Mind" comes with a feature from the '90s R&B singer Faith Evans and visuals of the band and Evans in the studio. Little Dragon singer Yukimi Nagano says of the feature, "It was kind of like a dream come true. I still can't really get that it happened, and when I listen to the song I feel really honored to be on the same track as her." Soul music mastermind Raphael Saadiq produced the track. [ Pitchfork ]

  • Legendary alt-rock band The Breeders teased new music this morning via a quick snippet of a new song that repeats the phrase: "Good morning!" Fans have expected new music to arrive after the band announced a fall American tour. Courtney Barnett also posted photos last year of herself in the studio with the band. The Breeders' last release was 2009's Fate to Fatal EP. Catch them when they play the Showbox on Thursday, November 9. [ SPIN ]

  • Next month, Jessie Ware will release her third album Glasshouse via PMR/Friends Keep Secrets/Interscope recorded with pop producer Benny Blanco. Today she shared a Spanish version of one of the album's early singles, "Selfish Love" that's been re-titled "Egoísta," which means "selfish" in Spanish. Ware has previously said that Glasshouse "became an album for my husband and my baby. It's an apology, a confession, a love note, a declaration. It shows all my fears and all of my emotion." Ware's last release was 2014's Tough Love. [ Under the Radar ]
  • Altanta rappers Young Thug and Lil Yachty have teamed up for a new track called "On Me." The song will be featured on a forthcoming mixtape from Atlanta label Quality Control called Control The Streets Volume One, which will also feature tracks from Migos, Offset, and Young Nudy. This year Young Thug released Beautiful Thugger Girls and Yachty dropped Teenage Emotions. [ The FADER ]
  • Former Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan is releasing a solo album under his birth name William Patrick Corgan. The album is called Ogilala and today we've received its second single "The Spaniard" along with a very cinematic video. The clip incorporates vignettes from Corgan's upcoming silent film Pillbox, co-directed by Linda Strawberry. Ogilala will be out October 13 and was co-produced by Rick Rubin. Pillbox will have a limited release the week before the album drops. [ Rolling Stone ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Last week, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs announced that they would be reissuing their classic debut album, 2003's Fever To Tell. The reissue comes with two never before released songs from that time, "Phone Jam" and "Shake It," as well as a documentary called There Is No Modern Romance. The trailer for the d…

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Brooklyn rap duo Run The Jewels have a new song featured in EA Sport's new FIFA 18 video game called "Mean Demeanor." The game comes out tomorrow and today a commercial has been released that features the "El Tornado Mix" of the song. The full soundtrack for FIFA 18 includes The War On Drugs, The N…

Read More