Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Niffer Calderwood (view set)
  • Today, Bandcamp is donating all of its proceeds from music sales to the Transgender Law Center and Car Seat Headrest is one of the artists using that as an opportunity to share new music via the platform. Check out the track "War Is Coming (If You Want It) [March Mix]" which will receive an official release later this month. Car Seat Headrest's last release was 2016's Teens Of Denial. [ Under the Radar ]
  • Portland ambient artist Grouper also contributed new content today to Bandcamp, with the song "Children." It's quiet and haunting, like the majority of the Grouper catalog. Liz Harris is following Bandcamp's lead by donating all the money that the song makes today to Silvia Rivera Law Center, Transgender Law Center, and Trans Assistance Project. “Children” follows Grouper’s “Paradise Valley” 7”, released at the end of last year. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Deerhoof are releasing one of their five new projects planned for this year, Mountain Moves, next month. So far they've shared the tracks "I Will Spite Survive" featuring Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak and "Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You" featuring Awkwafina and today they've shared the third single to have a cool feature, "Come Down Here And Say That" featuring Laetitia Sadier. The song's title refers to a moment when Bob Dylan yelled that at a crowd during his 1965-1966 tour. Mountain Moves is out September 8 via Joyful Noise. Deerhoof will play Seattle on Saturday, September 16 at the Crocodile. [ Spin ]
  • The War On Drugs shared a new song from the forthcoming album A Deeper Understanding today. "Pain" follows "Thinking Of A Place," "Holding On," and "Strangest Thing" and is an atmospheric, reverb-drenched beauty that makes the new album all that more anticipated. Their last album, 2014's Lost in the Dream was almost unanimously acclaimed so they have a lot to live up to. The War On Drugs will perform two nights at the Moore Theatre on Monday, October 9 and Tuesday, October 10. [ Stereogum ]
  • Arcade Fire stopped by the Late Show with Stephen Colbert last night to play a couple of songs off their latest album Everything Now. Instead of playing it straight, they turned the evening into a sort of art piece with a fake sponsored ad from "Everything Now Corporation," a ridiculous list of fake demands from the band tweeted out by the Late Show, and Colbert holding a can of Chemistry energy drink while introducing them. They then jumped into a rousing rendition of the songs "Everything Now" and "Creature Comfort." See Arcade Fire in the flesh at the Key Arena on Sunday, October 15 and keep up with all the best TV performances of the week with our blog series TV Eye. [ Rolling Stone ]
  • What a bunch of tools...

    — The Late Show (@colbertlateshow) August 2, 2017

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Frankie Rose has a new album being released this Friday, August 11 called Cage Tropical. Today she shared the third single from the album, along with a hazy video, "Dyson Sphere." The video was directed by Daniel Patrick Carbone. Rose teamed up with producer Jorge Elbrecht (Tamaryn, Gang Gang Dance…

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Zola Jesus is releasing her 6th album Okovi in September via Sacred Bones. She previously shared the lead single "Exhumed" and today the correlating video for the song has been released. Directed by Jacqueline Castel, the creepy black and white footage bears a resemblance to The Ring, with a simila…

Read More