In Stores Now 8/29

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

While KEXP celebrated their landmark 1989 debut last Friday, De La Soul released their eighth album (and first in 12 years). KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a lengthy, somewhat inconsistent set with a diverse sound ranging from funky hip hop and smooth R&B to hypnotic electro-pop and metallic rap-rock." On his sophomore full-length, Oxford, MS artist Dead Gaze (aka R. Cole Furlow) brings "a fine set of well-crafted psych-pop ranging from energetic power-pop and soaring jangle-pop to dreamy space-pop." The eighth release from California-bred singer/songwriter Cass McCombs "features a generally darker and more rock-oriented sound for a diverse set ranging from gorgeous psych-tinged folk-rock to moody pop-rock and dirgy garage-rock."

New York-based electronic artist Joe Williams releases his debut LP under the name Motion Graphics. Alex Ruder, KEXP's Assistant to the Music Director, calls it "a captivating set of futuristic electronic-pop that blends his warm vocals with twisting, synth-heavy, richly-detailed soundscapes heavily inspired by contemporary technology. Carrying shades of Hot Chip, Oneohtrix Point Never, Discovery, and PC Music’s divisive brand of future-pop, Motion Graphics signals another provocative addition to Domino [Records]’s stacked roster." Yates says the sophomore release from Southern California artist Morgan Delt "is a fine set of hazy, experimental psych-pop with druggy textures, gauzy vocals and dreamy melodies." After a string of self-released cassettes, Bloomington, IN band Hoops release their official debut EP, "a promising 5-song set of autumnal jangle-pop with shimmering guitars, gentle rhythms, hazy vocals and dreamy melodies."

  • Anthony David - "Beautiful Problem"
  • from The Powerful Now on Shanachie Records
  • Banks & Steelz - "Giant"
  • from Anything But Words on Warner Bros.
  • The Beach Boys
  • from Becoming The Beach Boys: The Complete Hite & Dorinda Morgan Sessions on Omnivore
  • Britney Spears - "Hard To Forget Ya"
  • from Glory on RCA
  • Butch Walker - "Stay Gold"
  • from Stay Gold on Dangerbird Records
  • Cass McCombs - "Run Sister Run"
  • from Mangy Love on Anti-
  • Cassius - "Action ft. Cat Power, Mike D"
  • from Ibifornia on Interscope
  • Dead Gaze
  • from Easy Travels on Ernest Jenning
  • De La Soul
  • from And the Anonymous Nobody on Anti-
  • Derrick Hodge - "The Second"
  • from The Second on Blue Note
  • Florida Georgia Line - "May We All"
  • from Dig Your Roots on BMX
  • Glass Animals - "Life Itself"
  • from How to Be a Human Being on Harvest
  • Gringo Star - "Get Closer"
  • from The Sides and in Between on Nevado Records
  • Hoops - "Give It Time"
  • from Hoops on Fat Possum
  • J Dilla - "The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds)"
  • from Shining on The Vinyl Factory
  • Jon Hopkins - "Halcyon"
  • from Opalescent reissue on Just Music
  • Katy Goodman / Greta Morgan - "Ever Fallen in Love (The Buzzcocks)"
  • from Take It, It's Yours on Polyvinyl
  • Kornél Kovács - "Pop"
  • from The Bells on Studio Barnhus
  • L.A. Salami - "The City Nowadays"
  • from Dancing with Bad Grammar on PIAS
  • Magic Trick - "Scorpio"
  • from Other Man's Blues on Empty Cellar
  • Mexican Institute of Sound / Toy Selectah - "Uy Uy Uy (feat. Carlos Ann & KOOL A.D.)"
  • from Compass reissue on Six Degrees
  • Mild High Club - "Skiptracing"
  • from Skiptracing on Stones Throw
  • The Monkees
  • from The Monkees 50 on Rhino
  • Morgan Delt - "Escape Capsule"
  • from Phase Zero on Sub Pop
  • Motion Graphics - "Lense"
  • from Motion Graphics on Domino
  • The Parrots - "Let's Do It Again"
  • from Los Niños Sin Miedo on Heavenly / PIAS
  • Robbie Fulks / The Mekons
  • from Jura on Bloodshot
  • Sex Pistols
  • from Live 1976 on Universal
  • The Veils - "Do Your Bones Glow at Night?"
  • from Total Depravity on Nettwerk
  • The Verve - "A Northern Soul"
  • from A Northern Soul reissue on Universal
  • Vinyl Williams - "Riddles Of The Sphinx"
  • from Brunei on Company Records
  • Vomitface - "Senior Pictures"
  • from Hooray For Me on Help Yourself

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/5

It's Labor Day weekend, and the new releases are working hard. Highlights include the latest from Asheville, NC-based artist Angel Olsen. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the release "continues to head in a more electric, rock-oriented direction on her excellent third album, combining elements o…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/22

Windy City singer/songwriter Ryley Walker shares his third album this week, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "his strongest and most sophisticated set to date, combining fluid guitar lines, intricate rhythms and elliptical lyrics on expansive songs that masterfully blend elements of folk-…

Read More