Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Britta Plyler
photo by Jim Bennett

  • On September 9, Local Natives will drop their third album, Sunlit Youth. Today, they've shared a dreamy lyric video for their new album track called "Coins." It's a bright and lively look at relationship struggles. There's no wonder why the band describes it as "one of their favorite songs to play live." Catch them at The Moore Theatre on September 20. [Stereogum]

  • After six years of music-making, Car Seat Headrest finally made their tv debut last night on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. Will Toledo and company went all out during their performance of the Teens of Denial opener "Fill in the Blank." I bet their booking agent's phone is ringing off the hook today. [CoS]

  • Nicolas Jaar has posted what looks like a photo of an album cover on all of his social media channels. This seems to suggest that a new release could be on the horizon for the New York producer. The image says "ya dijimos que no pero el sí está en todo," which - according to google translate (I know) - means "we already said no but the yes is in everything." That's deep. Let's hope we get some official confirmation soon. [Pitchfork]

  • Last night, Canadian indie outfit Wolf Parade stopped by Conan to promote their latest EP called EP4, their first release in six years. Watch their funky performance of "Mr. Startup" with the help of the house band's horn section, below. [SPIN]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Sleigh Bells have shared a video for their Jessica Rabbit (out November 11) track "It's Just Us Now." I'm not exactly sure what's going on exactly, but it feels very intense. Sleigh Bells will be performing at Neumos on November 19. [Pitchfork]

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

It had been a five years absence before Canadian electro-pop twosome Junior Boys released their latest, Big Black Coat, earlier this year. Now, just over five months later, they share a new EP which you can stream in its entirety below. Kiss Me All Night features four tracks -- three new, and one …

Read More