In Stores Now 11/14

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Last Friday gave us a new LP from veteran hip-hop band A Tribe Called Quest, their first in 18 years, and their last, with the passing of founding member Phife Dawg due to complications with diabetes. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says, "It's a strong return to form of often-politically charged hip hop that updates the group's warm, jazz-tinged sound with adventurous production and harder hitting beats. Special guests include Kendrick Lamar, Andre 3000, Anderson .Paak, Jack White, Talib Kweli, Busta Rhymes and Elton John."

Other highlights this week include the latest from Brooklyn duo Sleigh Bells, "their most expansive and pop-oriented set yet, combining crunchy hard-rock guitars, bright synths, pounding rhythms and anthemic song hooks with Alexis Krauss's most confident and emotionally powerful vocals to date." (Check out a full review on the KEXP Blog here.) Speedy Ortiz frontwoman Sadie Dupuis debuts her solo project Sad13, "a more electronic-oriented approach to the '90s-steeped grunge-pop that she makes with Speedy Ortiz, combining bright synths and occasional fuzzy guitars with melodic pop hooks and sharply crafted lyrics reflecting on sexism, equality, consent and community."

UK band Wolf People share their third album, "another potent, '70s-inspired blend of prog-rock, folk, psych and stoner-rock with shape-shifting arrangements featuring distorted psych guitars, muscular rhythms, stately vocals and environmentally minded lyrics." Beloved local artist David Bazan presents Dark Sacred Night, a collection of fourteen years' worth of Christmas singles dating back to his period recording and performing as Pedro The Lion. And though we've found some conflicting information on the exact release date, you should know Kristin Hersh has returned with a new solo album, "a 2CD set that also comes with an accompanying book (as did her previous solo album Crooked and Throwing Muses 2013 album Purgatory/Paradise). It's an intensely personal set with a mostly spare sound featuring acoustic and electric guitars along with occasional cello, piano and horns accompanying her throaty vocals and poetic, emotionally hard-hitting lyrics of love and loss."

  • A Tribe Called Quest - "We The People...."
  • from We Got It from Here... Thank You 4 Your Service on Epic/SME
  • (Various Artists) ADS - "Waiting For the War"
  • from Killed by Deathrock, Vol. 2 on Sacred Bones
  • Allen Clapp - "Friend Collector"
  • from Six Seasons on Minty Fresh
  • Cory Hanson - "Ordinary People"
  • from The Unborn Capitalist From Limbo on Drag City
  • Daniel Bachman - "The Flower Tree"
  • from Daniel Bachman on Three Lobed
  • David Bazan - "Long Way Around the Sea" (Low cover)
  • from Dark Sacred Night on Suicide Squeeze
  • David Bowie - "Life On Mars (2016 Mix)"
  • from Legacy [Deluxe] on GC / Rhino / Warner Music
  • E - "Candidate"
  • from E on Thrill Jockey
  • Emeli Sandé - "Garden"
  • from Long Live the Angels on Capitol
  • The Hold Steady - "Killer Parties"
  • from Almost Killed Me reissue on Frenchkiss Records
  • The Hold Steady - "Your Little Hoodrat Friend"
  • from Separation Sunday reissue on Frenchkiss Records
  • Kristin Hersh - "Soma Gone Slapstick"
  • from Wyatt at the Coyote Palace on Omnibus Press / Overlook
  • Leslie Odom, Jr. - "Winter Song"
  • from Simply Christmas on S-Curve Records
  • Luke Temple - "The Birds of Late December"
  • from A Hand Through the Cellar Door on Secretly Canadian
  • Major Stars - "Alert"
  • from Motion Set on Drag City
  • Michael Cretu / Enigma - "The Fall Of A Rebel Angel"
  • from The Fall of a Rebel Angel on Republic
  • Okkyung Lee & Christian Marclay - "Amalgam"
  • from Amalgam on Northern Spy
  • Oren Ambarchi - "Hubris, Pt. 1"
  • from Hubris on Editions Mego
  • Papa M - "Walking On Coronado"
  • from Highway Songs on Drag City
  • Pavo Pavo - "Wiserway"
  • from Young Narrator in the Breakers on Bella Union
  • Pink Floyd - "Nothing Part 14"
  • from The Early Years 1967-72 Cre/ation on Pink Floyd / Sony Music
  • Radian - "Scary Objects"
  • from On Dark Silent Off on Thrill Jockey
  • Recondite - "Capable"
  • from Corvus on Ghostly International
  • Robbie Robertson
  • from Testimony on Capitol
  • Robbie Williams
  • from Heavy Entertainment Show on Columbia
  • Romare - "Who Loves You?"
  • from Love Songs, Pt. 2 on Ninja Tune
  • Ronnie Dunn - "Damn Drunk ft. Kix Brooks"
  • from Tattooed Heart on Nash Icon
  • Sad13 - "Devil In U"
  • from Slugger on Carpark
  • The Silence - "Look Up the Vault (A Pure Myth of Angelic Winter Water)"
  • from Nine Suns, One Morning on Drag City
  • Simple Minds - "Don't You [Forget About Me]"
  • from Simple Minds Acoustic on Caroline International
  • Sleigh Bells - "I Can Only Stare"
  • from Jessica Rabbit on Omnian / Torn Clean
  • Sting - "I Can't Stop Thinking About You"
  • from 57th & 9th on Interscope / Polydor
  • Ulrich Schnauss - "Love Grows Out Of Thin Air"
  • from No Further Ahead Than Today on PIAS / Scripted Realities
  • Vanishing Life - "Realist"
  • from Surveillance on Dine Alone
  • Virginia Wing - "Future Body"
  • from Forward Constant Motion on Fire Records
  • Wolf People - "Ninth Night"
  • from Ruins on Jagjaguwar

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/21

It's reissue season, and this week brings us deluxe versions of Soundgarden's Badmotorfinger, Tori Amos' Boys for Pele, Ween's live album, and R.E.M.'s now-classic Out of Time, whose deluxe edition features new liner notes, 19 never-before-heard demos, an unreleased 1991 live show, plus eight mus...

Read More
Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Terry Malts - Seen Everything

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the day podcast subscription.  This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJ’s think you should hear.  Today’s song, featured on the...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/7

It's surely no coincidence that a couple of these new releases came out on the eve of the 2016 Presidential Election. Veteran Chicago rapper Common shares his 11th full-length, an album KEXP's Music Director Don Yates calls, "a powerful set of politically charged hip hop with gritty, cinematic, s...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site