Thursday Music News

Daily Roundups
Janice Headley
photo by Dave Lichterman (view set)

  • Power duo Broken Bells, the project of Grammy-Award-winning producer Danger Mouse and James Mercer of The Shins, returns with a surprise single. Stream the non-album track "It's That Talk Again" below, released in promotion of the band's forthcoming concert film, Broken Bells: Live At The Orpheum, coming out this Saturday. [Pitchfork]

  • Speaking of "power duos," EL VY, a project of Matt Berninger of The National and Ramona Falls’ Brent Knopf, share another new track from their forthcoming debut, performed live for Studio Brussels. Watch them take on a stripped-down version of the single "No Time to Crank the Sun" below. The track appears on the upcoming full-length Return to the Moon, out October 30th on 4AD. KEXP presents EL VY at Neumos on Wednesday, November 4th with Hibou. [Consequence of Sound]

  • More new music shared via live performance: The Dead Weather share the single "Be Still," as performed from Jack White's Third Man Records' studio in Nashville. Always the DIY'er, White also directed the video and edited it alongside Brad Holland. The studio version of the track will appear on the band's third album, Dodge & Burn, out September 25th via Third Man Records, natch. [Pitchfork]

  • '90s UK alt-band Suede are on a roll: the quartet re-emerged in 2013 with the fantastic full-length Bloodsports, and now they've got another album to share, Night Thoughts, out January 22, 2016 via their own Suede Ltd. label. Check out a video for the first single, "Outsiders," directed by Roger Sargent, who is creating an entire film inspired by the album. A DVD version of the film will be included in a special edition of the Night Thoughts LP. [Under the Radar]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Friday Music News

With their documentary The Reflektor Tapes now in theaters, Canadian sextet Arcade Fire are re-releasing the 2013 album in question as a special deluxe version with six previously-unreleased tracks, five new and one remix. On October 16th, the six songs will be released on cassette tape, but 'til …

Read More
Daily Roundups

Wednesday Music News

After you've watched their in-studio session on the KEXP Blog, check out another new video from down-under-thunder seven-piece King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard. Watch a clip below for the track "Trapdoor" from their forthcoming full-length Paper Maché Dream Balloon, out November 13th on ATO Re…

Read More