Out This Week 5/26

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Everyone's recovering from the long Memorial Day weekend, including the music industry, but there are still some excellent new releases awake today. One of the highlights is the third full-length from Portland band Unknown Mortal Orchestra. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "an adventurous, impressive blend of prog-rock, psych-pop, funk and R&B, with a variety of densely textured songs featuring spacy synths, atmospheric guitars, jagged rhythms, magnetic song hooks and oblique lyrics about a complicated relationship." Another local artist, Shana Cleveland & the Sandcastles, leads this week's batch with their debut full-length. Yates notes, "this Seattle project spearheaded by La Luz frontwoman Shana Cleveland is an often-mesmerizing set of psych-tinged folk-pop with an acoustic-oriented sound featuring gentle finger-picked guitar, occasional cello, piano and clarinet, hypnotic, shuffling rhythms and delicate vocals."

Other highlights this week include Saved and Sanctified: Songs of the Jade Label, the latest resurrected collection from the Numero Group, featuring raw DIY gospel from the West Side of Chicago. West coast artist Little Wings (aka singer/songwriter Kyle Field) team up with the Woodsist label for their eleventh full-length Explains. Captured Tracks releases a 2-LP set from Martin Newell, formerly of Cleaners from Venus. And longtime KEXP fave Joseph Arthur releases Days of Surrender, available on a USB drive with limited edition art prints from the Days of Surrender Series, or you can get the very (very) limited-edition edition with comes with Joseph's touring van (for the price of $14,999). Joseph Arthur will be LIVE on KEXP on Tuesday, June 2nd at 9:30 AM PT, and playing the Triple Door later that night.

  • [Various Artists] Rev. Solomon King and the Glory Bound Singers – “Didn't It Rain”
  • from Saved and Sanctified: Songs of the Jade Label on Numero Group
  • Aviador Dro – “Nuclear Sí (1981 - Versión Alternativa)”
  • from Otros Mundos, Otras Estrellas (1979-1982) on Elefant / Lost
  • The Bad Plus Joshua Redman – “Dirty Blonde”
  • from The Bad Plus Joshua Redman on Nonesuch
  • The Chocolate Watchband – “I'm Not Like Everybody Else”
  • from I'm Not Like Everybody Else reissue on Cleopatra / Purple Pyramid
  • Eilen Jewell – “Hallelujah Band”
  • from Sundown Over Ghost Town on Signature Sounds Recording Company
  • Exploding Star Orchestra / Rob Mazurek – “The Arc of Slavery #72”
  • from Galactic Parables, Vol. 1 on Cuneiform Records
  • Joseph Arthur – “If I Could I'd Get Out”
  • from Days of Surrender on Lonely Astronaut Records
  • Little Wings – “Where”
  • from Explains on Woodsist
  • Los Hijos de la Montaña
  • from Los Hijos de la Montaña on Cosmica Records
  • Martin Newell – “Liverpool Judy”
  • from Teatime Assortment on Captured Tracks
  • Maysa – “Back 2 Love”
  • from Back 2 Love on Shanachie
  • Metropole Orkest / Snarky Puppy – “Gretel”
  • from Sylva on Impulse
  • Modestep – “Machines”
  • from London Road on INgrooves
  • Nneka – “Book of Job”
  • from My Fairy Tales on Bushqueen Music
  • Rachel Grimes – “The Herald”
  • from The Clearing on Temporary Residence
  • Shana Cleveland & the Sandcastles – “Holy Rollers”
  • from Oh Man, Cover the Ground on Suicide Squeeze
  • Shopping – “In Other Words”
  • from Consumer Complaints on Fat Cat
  • So Stressed – “Merv King & The Phantoms”
  • from The Unlawful Trade of Greco-Roman Art on Honor Press
  • Summer Camp – “Bad Love”
  • from Bad Love on Moshi Moshi
  • Terence Blanchard – “Breathless”
  • from Breathless on Blue Note
  • Two Sheds – “You Get To Me”
  • from Assembling on Crossbill
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “Multi-Love”
  • from Multi-Love on Jagjaguwar
  • The Vaccines – “Dream Lover”
  • from English Graffiti on Columbia
  • Valet – “Nature”
  • from Nature on Kranky

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 6/2

Highlights this week include the latest from London/NYC-via-Atlanta trio Algiers. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes their debut as "an electrifying blend of edgy post-punk with soul and gospel, featuring a dark, haunting sound with ominous guitar squalls, icy synths, hypnotic drum-machine rhy…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 5/19

It's an especially exciting week for new releases. Beloved Portland duo The Helio Sequence release their sixth self-titled album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as "another impeccably crafted set of atmospheric pop-rock with shimmering guitars, ethereal synths, hazy vocals, soaring harm…

Read More