Out This Week 10/26

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Seattle's own Beat Connection make their Anti- Records debut with an album KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes as, a "first-rate set of sleek electro-pop inflected with New Wave, R&B, funk and other styles, with consistently strong songs featuring bright synths, jangly guitars, shimmering melodies and propulsive rhythms accompanying Tom Eddy’s breezy, soulful vocals." (Read an in-depth KEXP review on the album here.)

Harpist Joanna Newsom returns with her fourth full-length, which Yates describes as "her most focused and accessible effort, with 11 smartly crafted, relatively concise songs of expansive, intricately arranged chamber folk-pop incorporating elements of classical, psych-rock, traditional folk ballads, ragtime and more. Her elastic, warbling soprano is a bit more restrained than on previous albums, helping to bring greater emphasis to her evocative, densely packed lyrics reflecting on love, loss, mortality and the passage of time." California punk trio Fuzz (featuring Ty Segall on vocals and drums, Moonhearts’ Charlie Moothart on guitar and Meatbodies’ Chad Ubovich on bass) share "another ferocious set of primal stoner-rock a la Black Sabbath and Blue Cheer with grungy guitar riffs, muscular rhythms, sneering vocals and dystopian lyrics."Brooklyn trio Haybaby debut with "a strong set of dynamic, ‘90s-steeped rock reminiscent at times of the Breeders, combining a stark, tension-filled sound with Leslie Hong’s emotive vocals." The sophomore release from Portland duo Pure Bathing Culture "features a more direct, stripped-down sound than their more ethereal debut. Produced by John Congleton, the album sheds the dreamier influences of their debut in favor of ‘80s-steeped pop combining gently ringing guitars and playful keyboards with more robust rhythms and clearer, more upfront vocals from Sarah Versprille." And Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan teams up with UK production team The Soulsavers (you may remember their previous collaboration with Mark Lanegan).

  • Beat Connection – “So Good”
  • from Product 3 on Anti
  • Chic Gamine – “Light A Match”
  • from Light a Match on self-released
  • Citizens! – “Waiting for Your Lover”
  • from European Soul on Kitsuné
  • Columbia Nights – “Glide (feat. Vaughan Octavia)”
  • from In All Things on Record Breakin'
  • The Cox Family – “Good Imitation Of The Blues”
  • from Gone Like the Cotton on Rounder
  • Dave Gahan & the Soulsavers – “All of This and Nothing”
  • from Angels & Ghosts on Columbia / Sony Music
  • D.O.A. – “Pipeline Fever”
  • from Hard Rain Falling on Sudden Death
  • Frida – “I Know There's Something Going On (Lindstrøm remix) dub version”
  • from Something's Going On reissue on Polar Music
  • Fuzz – “Pollinate”
  • from II on In the Red Records
  • Half Moon Run – “Hands In The Garden”
  • from Sun Leads Me On on Glassnote Entertainment Group
  • Harmonia – “Athmosphere (Edward's Desert Version)”
  • from Complete Works compilation on Grönland
  • Haybaby – “Doored”
  • from Sleepy Kids on Tiny Engines
  • Hierophants – “Nervous Tic”
  • from Parallax Error on Goner Records
  • Joanna Newsom – “Sapokanikan”
  • from Divers on Drag City
  • Jonathan Bree – “Once It Was Nice”
  • from A Little Night Music on Lil' Chief
  • Killing Joke – “I Am The Virus”
  • from Pylon on Spinefarm Records
  • Long Beard – “Porch”
  • from Sleepwalker on Team Love Records
  • Marianas Trench – “One Love”
  • from Astoria on Interscope
  • Mastodon – “Asleep In The Deep”
  • from Asleep in the Deep on Reprise
  • Mono / The Ocean – “The Quiet Observer”
  • from Transcendental on Pelagic
  • Normil Hawaiians – “Sianne Don't Work In A Factory”
  • from Return of the Ranters on Upset the Rhythm
  • Pure Bathing Culture – “Pray For Rain”
  • from Pray for Rain on Partisan / PTKF
  • Roman Flügel – “Teenage Engineering”
  • from Monday Brain on Hypercolour
  • Seaway – “Best Mistake”
  • from Colour Blind on Pure Noise
  • Seinabo Sey – “Pretend”
  • from Pretend on Universal
  • Skatebård – “Donko Donko”
  • from CDIII on Balsa Wood
  • Tommy Castro & the Painkillers – “Method To My Madness”
  • from Method to My Madness on Alligator
  • Tracey Thorn
  • from SOLO: Songs and Collaborations 1982-2015 compilation on Caroline
  • VHÖL – “Red Chaos”
  • from Deeper Than Sky on Profound Lore

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 11/2

After a discography of 11 full-length albums, Seattle's own Car Seat Headrest makes their label debut on Matador Records. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "The album reworks 11 songs from his extensive Bandcamp catalog with help from a new backing band (this also marks the first time he’s recor…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/19

Deerhunter lead the pack of this week's new releases with the seventh full-length, Fading Frontier. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "one of their most direct and melodic releases. It’s also one of their best, featuring beautifully crafted songs of atmospheric psych-pop combining a warm, oft…

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site