Out This Week 7/22

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Highlights for this sleepy summer week include the debut from Toronto-based band Alvvays (pronounced "always," if you were wonderin'). KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the release as "a promising set of hazy, surf-inflected dream-pop. Produced by Chad VanGaalen, the album features a reverb-drenched sound with fuzzy guitars, energetic rhythms, wistful melodies, melancholy lyrics and Molly Rankin’s soaring vocals."

Los Angeles artist Tim Presley, aka White Fence, is back with his sixth full-length, but his first to be recorded in an actual studio with a live drummer. Produced by Ty Segall, Yates notes the new one "the album is a more focused, polished and melodic take on Presley’s jangly, ‘60s-steeped blend of garage-rock, psych-pop and folk-rock." Ontario duo PS I Love You bring "a more dynamic, diverse and slightly more polished approach to their visceral blend of energetic post-punk and anthemic garage-rock." Dan "The Automator" Nakamura and actress Mary Elizabeth Winstead team up as the duo Got a Girl, whose debut of retro, lounge-y pop has one of the best album titles of the year: I Love You But I Must Drive Off This Cliff Now.If you missed out on The Black Angels' Clear Lake Forest EP on Record Store Day, you'll be glad to know the Austin psych-troupe are re-releasing the mini-album on 12” clear vinyl, CD, and digitally today. Australian dance-masters Cut Copy are also reissuing last year's album, Free Your Mind, in a deluxe edition including five new songs taken from that album’s recording sessions. And Drag City Records reissues Matthew Young's 1981 experimental electronic debut, Recurring Dreams.

  • (Various Artists) Jessy Lanza - You and Me
  • from Hyperdub 10.2 on Hyperdub
  • Alvvays - "Archie, Marry Me"
  • from Alvvays on Polyvinyl / Royal Mountain
  • Anberlin - "Stranger Ways"
  • from Lowborn on Tooth & Nail
  • Anti-Flag - "Turncoat"
  • from A Document of Dissent: 1993-2013 on Fat Wreck Chords
  • Liam Betson - "Pocket Knife"
  • from The Cover of Hunter on Double Double Whammy
  • The Black Angels - "Diamond Eyes"
  • from Clear Lake Forest EP on Polyvinyl / Royal Mountain
  • Common - "Kingdom" feat. Vince Staples
  • from Nobody's Smiling on Def Jam
  • Cut Copy - "Lights Shine On"
  • from Free Your Mind [Bonus Tracks] deluxe edition on Loma Vista Recordings
  • Entrails - "Blood Red"
  • from Resurrected from the Grave: Demo Collection on Metal Blade
  • Aaron Freeman - "(For A While) I Couldn't Play My Guitar Like A Man"
  • from Freeman on Partisan / PTKF
  • Got a Girl - "Did We Live Too Fast"
  • from I Love You But I Must Drive Off This Cliff Now on Bulk Recordings
  • Neil Hamburger - "Endless Roll"
  • from First of Dismay on Drag City
  • Joyce Manor - "Catalina Fight Song"
  • from Never Hungover Again on Epitaph
  • Kaskade - "I Remember" (w/ Deadmau5)
  • from I Remember Greatest Hits compilation on Ultra
  • King of Asgard - "The Runes Of Hel"
  • from Karg on Metal Blade
  • King Creosote - "For One Night Only"
  • from From Scotland with Love on Domino
  • Kodomo - "Orange Ocean"
  • from Patterns & Light on Kodomo
  • La Hell Gang - "Sweet Dear"
  • from Thru Me Again on Mexican Summer
  • La Roux - "Let Me Down Gently"
  • from Trouble in Paradise on Cherrytree Records / Interscope / Polydor
  • Martyrdöd - "Elddop"
  • from Elddop on Southern Lord Records
  • Monomyth - "Something Else"
  • from Saturnalia Regalia! on Mint
  • The Muffs - "Up And Down Around"
  • from Whoop Dee Doo on Cherry Red
  • Nona - "Give"
  • from Through the Head on 6131
  • Overkill - "Armorist"
  • from White Devil Armory on eOne / Nuclear Blast
  • Lee "Scratch" Perry - "Mr. Upsetter"
  • from Master Piece on Born Free / Megawave Records / Wienerworld
  • PS I Love You - "For Those Who Stay"
  • from For Those Who Stay on Paper Bag Records
  • RX Bandits - "Meow! Meow! Space Tiger"
  • from Gemini, Her Majesty on Mashdown Babylon
  • White Fence - "Like That"
  • from For the Recently Found Innocent on Drag City
  • Matthew Young - "First Blood"
  • from Recurring Dreams reissue on Drag City

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 7/29

It's been six long years, but the latest solo album from Rilo Kiley frontwoman Jenny Lewis is out today. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album, The Voyager, as "a strong return to form steeped in classic West Coast ‘70s and ‘80s pop-rock with smartly crafted songs juxtaposing breezy mel…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 7/15

The UK dominates this week of new releases with standout albums from two British duos. The mysterious twosome known as Jungle release their self-titled debut with XL Recordings, which KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes as "an excellent set of retro-futuristic electro-funk with shimmering key…

Read More