Out This Week 11/18

Local Music, In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Seattle's own The Young Evils return with a new EP this week. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes it as "a strong set of dark, ‘80s-influenced pop-rock with buzzing guitars, energetic rhythms and noirish male/female harmonies."

Another highlight is the compilation While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records. The "venerable Chicago label celebrates its 20th anniversary with this 2-CD compilation featuring a stellar lineup of non-Bloodshot artists ranging from Superchunk, Ted Leo and Diarrhea Planet to Blitzen Trapper, Chuck Prophet and Two Gallants covering songs from the label’s deep catalog."

Longtime KEXP faves TV on the Radio return with their fifth album Seeds; sadly, their first since the 2011 death of their bassist, Gerard Smith. Los Angeles artist Ariel Pink releases his first album without his band "The Haunted Graffiti." Prolific garage rocker Ty Segall shares a new collection of random songs he recorded between 2011 and 2013 (including covers of the Velvet Underground, GG Allin, and the Groundhogs). And Diarrhea Planet share another new EP of quadruple-guitar goodness, Aliens in the Outfield.

  • (Various Artists) Bat for Lashes – “Plan The Escape” (Son Lux Cover)
  • from The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 OST on Universal
  • (Various Artists) Blitzen Trapper - "To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)" [Ryan Adams cover]
  • from While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records on Bloodshot
  • Andy Stott - "Violence"
  • from Faith in Strangers on Modern Love
  • Angel Olsen - "May As Well"
  • from Burn Your Fire for No Witness Deluxe Edition on Jagjaguwar
  • Ariel Pink - "Black Ballerina"
  • from Pom Pom on 4AD Records
  • Art Department - "Cruel Intentions"
  • from Natural Selection on No. 19 Music
  • Bo Ningen / Savages - "Words To The Blind"
  • from Words to the Blind on Pop Noire / Stolen
  • Bryan Ferry - "Loop De Li"
  • from Avonmore on BMG
  • Buzzcocks - "It's Not You"
  • from The Way on 1234 Records
  • David Bowie - "Sue (Or In a Season of Crime)"
  • from Nothing Has Changed on Columbia / Legacy
  • Depeche Mode
  • from Live in Berlin 2XCD on Mute
  • Diarrhea Planet - "Heat Wave"
  • from Aliens in the Outfield on Infinity Cat Recordings
  • Exit Verse - "Seeds"
  • from Exit Verse on Damnably Records/Ernest Jenning
  • Fishboy - "Electrical Elephant"
  • from An Elephant on self-released
  • Fryars - "On Your Own"
  • from Power on Fiction
  • Fugazi - "Waiting Room"
  • from First Demo on Dischord Records
  • The Ghost Inside - "Dear Youth (Day 52)"
  • from Dear Youth on Epitaph
  • Girlpool - "Jane"
  • from Girlpool on Wichita
  • Graze - "SWARZ"
  • from Soft Gamma Repeater on New Kanada
  • Loscil - "Ahull"
  • from Sea Island on Kranky
  • Machinedrum
  • from Vapor City Archives on Ninja Tune
  • Manchester Orchestra - "Top Notch" (Hope version)
  • from Hope on Loma Vista Recordings
  • The Memories - "Dad's Not Home"
  • from Hot Afternoon on Burger Records
  • Monster Magnet - "No Paradise For Me"
  • from Milking the Stars: A Re-Imagining of Last Patrol on Napalm Records
  • Old 97's - "Stoned"
  • from Hitchhike to Rhome [20th Anniversary Edition] [Bonus Tracks] on Omnivore
  • Peter Brewis / Paul Smith - "Trevone"
  • from Frozen by Sight on Memphis Industries
  • Rhyton - "Topkapi"
  • from Kykeon on Thrill Jockey
  • Robert Wyatt - "Shipbuilding"
  • from Different Every Time on Domino
  • The Saints - "King Of The Sun"
  • from King of the Sun/King of the Midnight Sun on Fire Records
  • Thompson - "Right"
  • from Family on Fantasy Records
  • TV on the Radio - "Quartz"
  • from Seeds on Harvest
  • Ty Segall - "Children Of Paul"
  • from $ingle$ 2 on Drag City
  • Wilco - "I Shall Be (Released With Fleet Foxes Live)"
  • from Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014 on Nonesuch
  • Wilco - "I Must Be High"
  • from What's Your 20? Essential Tracks 1994-2014 on Nonesuch
  • The Young Evils
  • from False Starts EP on self-released

Related News & Reviews

Local Music In Stores Now

Out This Week 11/25

No, we haven't time-warped to twenty years ago: on this holiday week, the reissues and anniversary editions dominate the new release list. One of the highlights is the reissue of Flake Music's 1997 debut (and sole release) When You Land Here, It’s Time to Return. Flake Music was an early incarnatio…

Read More
Local Music Album Reviews

Album Review: NAVVI - // EP

Seattle electronic duo NAVVI have enjoyed a steady climb towards full scene integration over the past year, and with the band's first EP out this week to plenty of web hype, it looks like nothing is set to slow it moving forward. Brad Boettger and Kristin Henry introduced NAVVI to the world in Octo…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 11/11

One of the bands with the best names around – King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – have released their fifth album this week. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the latest from this Australian group "an often-fiery blend of propulsive garage-punk and trippy psych-rock, combining fuzzy guitars, o…

Read More