Out This Week 10/21

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

This week's highlights include Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, the latest volume in the Red Hot series to benefit AIDS awareness. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes the 2-CD collection release as "an impressive 2-CD tribute to influential composer/musician Arthur Russell, whose eclectic works ranged from classical and experimental to disco, folk and rock. An impressive lineup of artists contribute, including Hot Chip, Sufjan Stevens, Robyn, Jose Gonzalez, Phosphorescent, Blood Orange, Cults, Devendra Banhart and many more."

Former Sonic Youth frontman Thurston Moore returns with his fourth solo release, backed by James Sedwards of Nought (guitar), Deb Googe of My Bloody Valentine (bass) and Steve Shelley of Sonic Youth (drums). Toronto-based band Elliott BROOD share their "most polished release to date of anthemic folk-rock, combining crunchy electric guitars and a variety of more rootsy instrumentation with catchy song hooks and epic sing-along choruses." Former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan Band shares his latest release, a set of "brooding electro-rock combining atmospheric synths and guitars and ominous beats with his deep, husky vocals and often-dark lyrics." And, on their fourth album, Staten Island's Budos Band continues "to head in a heavier and darker musical direction, with ten strong instrumentals combining muscular Afro-beat and funk-rock rhythms with fuzzy psych-rock guitars, sinister keyboards and chunky horn riffs."

  • (Various Artists) Sufjan Stevens - "A Little Lost"
  • from Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell on Yep Roc
  • Aquarian - "Soma"
  • from Aquarian EP on UNO NYC
  • Baxter Dury - "Pleasure"
  • from It's a Pleasure on Le Label / PIAS
  • Bear's Den - "Above The Clouds Of Pompeii"
  • from Islands on Communion
  • Billy Idol - "Postcards from the Past"
  • from Kings & Queens of the Underground on BFI
  • The Body / Sandworm - "Desert Warfare"
  • from Body/Sandworm [Split LP] on Thrill Jockey
  • The Budos Band - "The Sticks"
  • from Burnt Offering on Daptone
  • Cave - "The Ride"
  • from Release: Singles 2007-2013 on Drag City
  • Cold War Kids - "All This Could Be Yours"
  • from Hold My Home on Downtown
  • Cooly G - "Wait 'Til Night"
  • from Wait 'Til Night on Hyperdub
  • The Coral - "The Curse of Love"
  • from The Curse of Love on Skeleton Key Records
  • Dope Body - "Hired Gun"
  • from Lifer on Drag City
  • Dorian Concept - "Draft Culture"
  • from Joined Ends on Ninja Tune
  • Elisa Ambrogio - "Superstitious"
  • from The Immoralist on Drag City
  • Elliott Brood - "Jigsaw Heart"
  • from Work and Love on Paper Bag Records
  • Huxley - "I Want You"
  • from Blurred on !K7 / AUS
  • Jessie Ware - "Tough Love"
  • from Tough Love on Interscope
  • Jukebox the Ghost - "Somebody"
  • from Jukebox the Ghost on Yep Roc
  • The Luxembourg Signal - "We Go On"
  • from The Luxembourg Signal on Shelflife
  • Mark Lanegan Band - "Harvest Home"
  • from Phantom Radio on Flooded Soil / Vagrant
  • Modern Vices - "Cheap Style"
  • from Modern Vices on Autumn Tone Records
  • Neil Diamond - "Nothing But A Heartache"
  • from Melody Road on Capitol
  • Nude Beach - "See My Way"
  • from '77 on Don Giovanni
  • Oozing Wound - "Drug Reference"
  • from Earth Suck on Thrill Jockey
  • The Pop Group - "She Is Beyond Good And Evil"
  • from Cabinet of Curiosities on Freaks R Us
  • The Pop Group - "Thief Of Fire"
  • from We Are Time on Freaks R Us / Kartel
  • Primus - "Pure Imagination"
  • from Primus & the Chocolate Factory with the Fungi Ensemble on ATO
  • Scott Walker + Sunn O))) - "Soused"
  • from Soused on 4AD
  • Sleater-Kinney - "Bury Our Friends"
  • from Start Together box set on Sub Pop (this track on bonus 7")
  • Sterling Roswell - "Give Peace Another Chance"
  • from The Call of the Cosmos on Fire Records
  • Tennis System - "Call It Home"
  • from Technicolour Blind on Papercup Music
  • Thurston Moore - "Speak To The Wild"
  • from The Best Day on Matador
  • Weyes Blood - "Some Winters"
  • from The Innocents on Mexican Summer
  • Wrekmeister Harmonies - "You've Always Meant So Much to Me"
  • from Then It All Came Down/You've Always Meant So Much to Me on Thrill Jockey

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/28

It's scary how many great albums are coming out on this Halloween week! Highlights include the fourth album from Scottish band The Twilight Sad. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the band, "brings back the loud, shoegazerish guitars that were mostly absent from their last release (2012’s No One ...

Read More
Local Music In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/14

It's another jam-packed week of new releases! Highlights include the latest from London-based artist Adam Bainbridge (aka Kindness). KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the relase "finds him toning down the disco influences of his promising debut album in favor of an often-gorgeous set of ‘80s R&...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site