Record Store Day 2013 Shopping Preview

Record Store Day
Jacob Webb

It didn't take long for the third Saturday in April to become the highlight of every music lover's spring, and this year's Record Store Day lineup is sure to be another memorable year for vinyl's national holiday. On April 20th, music fans everywhere will wake up early and flock to their favorite local record store to fill their shopping bags with wax, ranging from 7" containing new music to rare reissues of albums that have been out of print for decades. This year boasts yet another jaw-dropping lineup of exclusive releases, and we've gathered some of the many highlights below in case you're already figuring out which record to dash for first on Saturday morning. There's a lot to choose from, though -- too much to cover here -- so view the full list over at the Record Store Day website.

  • Ólafur Arnalds - For Now I Am Winter: 12" on 180 Gram vinyl, single disc, 4 page booklet plus digital download card.

  • At The Drive-In - Relationship of Command: Colored 12" vinyl reissue of the El Paso quintet's swan song on colored vinyl with two bonus tracks, is also the first widely-available pressing of the album on vinyl.

  • The Black Keys / Stooges - Side by Side: No Fun: 7" single on black and clear splatter colored vinyl in clear plastic jacket, featuring two exclusive tracks.

  • David Bowie - Two 7" Singles: 7" of "The Stars (Are Out Tonight)" and a 7" picture disc of "Drive-In Saturday b/w Drive-In Saturday Night (Russell Harty Plus Pop Version)".

  • Gary Clark Jr. - HWUL Raw Cuts, Vol. 2 : 12" single of "When My Train Comes In" live and album version, regular weight vinyl in three colors: clear, white and gold.

  • Daniel Johnston - Fun: The cult hero's major label debut is issued on vinyl for the first time since its 1994 release.

  • Foals - Holy Fire: Limited US pressing of the English quintet's newest album with an additional 7" gold single.

  • The Flaming Lips - Zaireeka: Wayne Coyne and co.'s notoriously difficult to listen to 1997 album placed on four colored 12"s housed in unique packaging.

  • The Glove - Blue Sunshine: 12" blue vinyl pressing of the Robert Smith/Steven Severin supergroup's only album. (Also for Robert Smith fans: A red vinyl pressing of The Cure's Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me also arrives the same day.)

  • The Hold Steady - Criminal Fingers: 7" vinyl containing two unreleased tracks.

  • Husker Du - Amusement & Writer's Camp: Double 7" of the band's previously unreleased earliest recording sessions in 1980.

  • Stephen Malkmus and Friends - Can's Ege Bamyasi: 12" vinyl of Stephen Malkmus and German quartet Von Spar performing Can’s landmark album Ege Bamyasi.

  • MGMT - Alien Days: Cassette single (with download code) of the first single from the duo's forthcoming third album.

  • Moby & Mark Lanegan - The Lonely Night: 7" single featuring a new track written and performed by the unexpected collaborators.

  • Public Enemy: Planet Earth - The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Greatest Rap Hits: 12" picture disc of Public Enemy's greatest hits, digitally re-recorded and mastered for vinyl.

  • Pulp - After You: 12" single featuring the Britpop legends' James Murphy-produced single backed with remixes from Soulwax and the band themselves.

  • Shearwater and Sharon Van Etten - Stop Draggin' My Heart Around: 7" single featuring a cover of Tom Petty and Stevie Nicks' 1981 duet b/w the new song "A Wake For The Minotaur".

  • Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun: Limited 12" vinyl pressing of the Icelandic band's breakthrough sophomore masterpiece, available in the U.S. for the first time.

  • Elliot Smith - Alternate Versions from Either/Or: 7" single with four unreleased takes from Either/Or, including "Alameda", "Ballad of Big Nothing", "Angeles", and "Punch and Judy".

  • Soundgarden - King Animal Demos: 10" vinyl featuring six demos from the recording sessions for the Seattle band's most recent LP.

  • Sub Pop 1000 - New compilation featuring unreleased material from Peaking Lights, Iron Lung, and more.

  • Tame Impala - Tame Impala EP: 12" red vinyl pressing of Kevin Parker's debut EP, featuring two tracks that weren't on the initial release.

  • Titus Andronicus - Record Store Day: Cleverly-titled 12" featuring the Local Business track "Still Life with Hot Deuce and Silver Platter" backed by two unreleased tracks "(I've Got A) Date Tonight" and "The Dog".

  • Various Artists - No Alternative 20th Anniversary Edition: Vinyl pressing of the landmark '90s compilation, including tracks from the Beastie Boys, Nirvana, Pavement and more.

  • The White Stripes - Elephant: Ornate 10th anniversary pressing of Jack and Meg's magnum opus. LP1 is on red/black split color vinyl and LP2 is on white vinyl, all housed in a gatefold sleeve.

  • The xx - Jamie xx Edits: 12" vinyl in die cut sleeve featuring Jamie's remixes of "Sunset" and "Reconsider", a bonus track on last year's Coexist.

  • The Zombies - The Zombies: 12" of The Zombies' first US album, featuring original art and available for the first time on 180g vinyl.

Related News & Reviews

Record Store Day The Afternoon Show w/ Kevin Cole

Record Store Day with Kevin Cole

This Saturday, April 20th, is Record Store Day, which has become like a national holiday for me and my fellow music lovers and record collecting geeks. It’s an annual event to celebrate independent record stores — and tons of artists contribute cool, one-of-a-kind, limited edition releases that are…

Read More