Thursday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jim Beckmann

  • It was there and now it's gone. First, a sample of the forthcoming single "Full of Fire" by Swedish band The Knife was available on Amazon before being removed. Then, the song was teased out in 30-second clips by London's Juno Records before removing it entirely. Though you may find wisps of the song floating around the Internet, you'll just have to wait until next week when the full nine-minute single is available -- and then until April 9th, when the album, Shaking the Habitual comes out on Rabid/Brille/Mute. [Spin]

  • Young Copenhagen art-punks Iceage have just released the video from the second single on their second (and forthcoming) album. "Ecstasy" seems anything but, as Elias Bender Rønnenfelt wails about unbearable pressure over a squall of feedback and pummeling drums. Add the visuals of brawls, dogfights and alienated youth... and you've got powerful experience. "Ecstasy" and their first single, "Coalition," will be available on You're Nothing on February 19th (on Matador Records).

  • Atlas Sound/Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox will appear and perform at the screening of the new documentary, Youth Museum, at MoMA PS1 in NYC on February 3rd. Directed by Grant Singer and commissioned by Riot of Perfume magazine the doc focuses on Cox's everyday life. A "very special" guest is also slated to appear. [FADER]

  • It used to be more of a mystery how and why bands broke up, but social media these days dumps you right in the thick of it. Through his Twitter account, Cedric Bixler-Zavala of experimental prog rock band The Mars Volta has announced their demise, stating "I guess a break from mars volta means starting another band and ignoring all the support the fans gave us. I tried my hardest guys" and fully laying blame on partner Omar Rodríguez-López: "For the record I tried my hardest to get a full scale North American tour going for Noctourniquet but Omar did not want to." [Stereogum]

  • Our Icelandic friends Of Monsters and Men just released their second video from their blockbuster debut, My Head Is an Animal. We Were Monkeys, who also made the fantastical video for "Little Talks", animates a stunning escape within a post-apocalyptic world in "King And Lionheart." Watch it here:

  • Depeche Mode have just announced the details of their new and 13th studio album: Delta Machine will be in stores on March 26th via Columbia Records. A video for their first single, "Heaven," will be out February 1st. Iconic rock photographer Anton Corbijn provides photos for the 28 page hardcover book included with the deluxe edition.

  • British band Foals immerse you into the concert experience (complete with ecstasy, apparently) with their new video for "My Number" from their anticipated new album Holy Fire, due February 11th.

  • Taking advantage of growing vinyl sales, Sub Pop will reissue the full catalog of Portland rockers The Thermals. On March 5th, you'll be able to spin full sized platters of More Parts Per Million, Fuckin' A, and The Body, The Blood, and The Machine on regular and limited edition colored vinyl. The band also plans to release an album of new material later this year.

  • EELS are now sharing another new song from their forthcoming Wonderful, Glorious, out February 5 on E Works/Vagrant Records. "I'm Your Brave Little Soldier" is a bonus track from the deluxe 26-track, 2-disc edition of the album.

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Coachella 2013 Lineup Announced

Here's wishing the best seismic health to Southern California this April, as pretty much every current band you'd ever want to see will be in or around Indio, CA, for the weekends of April 12-14 and April 19-21. Why? Because of Coachella 2013. The newly announced lineup is a who's who of indie and …

Read More
Daily Roundups

Wednesday Music News

Vampire Weekend have officially announced their third LP will be released in early May on XL. A new live song has surfaced online called Arms, which you can stream below. There's no confirmation, but it's likey that "Arms" and the new song "Unbelievers" they played live on Kimmel, will be on the …

Read More