Out This Week 9/24

In Stores Now
Jim Beckmann

Is today really the day you can get a free Nirvana tattoo? Why, yes it is. From noon to 6PM today at Seattle's Silver Platters (and a couple of other places in the U.S.), you can get the squiggly Nirvana smiley face tattooed permanently on your body for free... well, for free if you pick up the 20th Anniversary Edition of Nirvana's In Utero or the Live and Loud DVD, both out today. More deliberately challenging than its mega-successful predecessor, In Utero, Nirvana's third and final studio album, potentially had a greater impact on the bands who would follow, showing them that commercial success didn't mean they needed to lose their edge. This remastered version is available today in a variety of formats, including the "Super Deluxe" 3CD/1DVD set and a 3 LP vinyl version.

Also in stores are some other excellent new albums you'll want to pick up after your tattoo dries... including the anticipated debut from Scottish trio CHVRCHES, which our Music Director, Don Yates, calls "a knockout set of dance-friendly electro-pop with a dynamic, brightly colored sound featuring shimmering neon synths and propulsive rhythms accompanying Lauren Mayberry’s radiant pixie vocals, while sugary melodies and euphoric pop hooks are contrasted by dark, often-cutting lyrics of a relationship falling apart." Brooklyn's Frankie Rose's new album is also in our heavy rotation. Her third LP is "a bit less ethereal and more dynamic than last year’s excellent Interstellar, with a variety of stellar songs ranging from New Wave dream-pop and propulsive post-punk to surf-influenced rock and some gorgeous ballads." And after a long, 17-year wait, Hope Sandoval and David Roback return with the latest by Mazzy Star, which unsurprisingly is "an impressive return to form that beautifully captures the band’s bluesy, slow-burning psych-pop, featuring a spare, atmospheric sound with acoustic and electric slide guitars along with occasional organ, harmonica, strings, flute and other instrumentation accompanying Sandoval’s dreamy, dusky vocals."

Other albums out this week that you'll want to check out come from Seattle band The Night Beats, whose second album is "a first-rate set of raw, psych-tinged garage-rock featuring a primal rock sound with stinging electric guitars, R&B-influenced rhythms, reverbed vocals and catchy song hooks"; U.K.'s Ghostpoet, whose latest LP is "an impressive set of brooding, expansive hip hop inflected with dubstep, jazz, R&B, Afro-Beat and other styles, combining skittering beats and eerie electronic textures with Ghostpoet’s lethargic delivery and dark, elliptical lyrics"; Malian musician Rokia Traore, whose John Parish produced fifth album features "a more muscular and electric sound, with fiery electric guitars, ngoni, punchy drums (courtesy of British drummer Seb Rochford), hypnotic interlocking rhythms and call-and-response backing vocals accompanying Traore’s supple vocals"; and Pee Wee-referencing Brooklyn trio Au Revoir Simone, whose fourth studio album "injects their dream-pop with a more polished, energetic and dance-oriented sound featuring layered synths, occasional guitars, dreamy lead vocals, melancholy lyrics and airy three-part harmonies."

There's a lot more new in stores today, including the third album from Danish producer Anders Trentemøller, which features "a dark, expansive and more song-oriented set of moody electro-pop featuring a strong lineup of guest vocalists including Low, Jana Hunter of Lower Dens, Kazu Makino of Blonde Redhead and Sune Rose Wagner of the Raveonettes"; Springfield, MO band Ha Ha Tonka, whose latest Bloodshot release is "a more lush, polished and somewhat more diverse take on the band’s roots-infused indie-rock, combining ringing guitars and mandolin with mostly energetic rhythms, Brian Roberts’ assured, slightly raspy vocals and the band’s impressive four-part harmonies"; Seattle-via-Ellensburg singer-songwriter Star Anna, whose latest is "an impressive set of dark, intense folk-rock, combining a mostly raw, stripped-down sound with her throaty, soulful vocals and lyrics of betrayal and heartbreak"; British trio TRAAMS, who debut with "a promising album of raw yet melodic post-punk featuring grimy guitars, motorik rhythms and yelping vocals"; and San Francisco’s Kelley Stoltz, who returns with "another well-crafted set of psych-tinged garage-pop."

Look for new albums also from Berlin-based producer Kyson, new German electro-pop band Claire, rabble-rousing Providence band Deer Tick, Odd Future Records solo artist The Internet, Danish born and Brooklyn based artist Oh Land, the tantric-loving 80's icon Sting, the John Dwyer (Thee Oh Sees) endorsed SF band The Herms, and much more. Check out samples from just some of the many new albums on record shelves today:

  • Au Revoir Simone - Crazy

  • from Move In Spectrums on Instant Records
  • The Chambermaids - Electric Sky

  • from Whatever Happened Tomorrow on Old Blackberry Way / Guilt Ridden Pop
  • CHVRCHES - The Mother We Share
  • from The Bones Of What You Believe on Glassnote
  • Claire - Games
  • from Broken Promise Land on Astralwerks
  • Deer Tick - The Dream's In The Ditch
  • from Negativity on Partisan Records
  • Frankie Rose - Sorrow
  • from Herein Wild on Fat Possum
  • Ghostpoet - Cold Win
  • from Some Say I So I Say Light on Play It Again Sam/[PIAS] America
  • Golden Animals - All Your Life
  • from Hear Eye Go on The Reverberation Appreciation Society
  • Ha Ha Tonka - Rewrite Our Lives (MP3)
  • from Lessons on Bloodshot Records
  • Heaven's Gate - Drone
  • from Transmuting on Inflated Records
  • The Herms - Volleyball
  • from Drop Out Vol. 1 on Castle Face Records
  • Huerco S. - Prinzif
  • from Colonial Patterns on Software Recording Co.
  • Icona Pop - All Night
  • from This Is... Icona Pop on Big Beat Records
  • The Internet - Partners In Crime Part Two
  • from Feel Good on Odd Future Records
  • Into It. Over It. - Spinning Thread
  • from Intersections on Triple Crown Records
  • Sarah Jarosz - Fuel The Fire (MP3)
  • from Build Me Up from Bones on Sugar Hill Records
  • Kings Of Leon - Supersoaker
  • from Mechanical Bull on RCA Records
  • Kyson - How Long
  • from The Water's Way on Friends of Friends
  • Mazzy Star - California
  • from Seasons Of Your Day on Rhymes Of An Hour Records
  • The Night Beats - The Seven Poison Wonders
  • from Sonic Bloom on The Reverberation Appreciation Society
  • Nirvana - Heart-Shaped Box
  • from In Utero (remastered 20th Anniversary Edition) on Geffen
  • Oh Land - My Boxer
  • from Wishbone on Federal Prism
  • Promised Land Sound - Fadin' Fast
  • from Promised Land Sound (self-released)
  • Star Anna - For Anyone (MP3)
  • from Go To Hell on Spark & Shine Records
  • Kelley Stoltz - Double Exposure
  • from Double Exposure on Third Man Records
  • TRAAMS - Flowers
  • from Grin on Fat Cat Records
  • Rokia Traore - Beautiful Africa
  • from Beautiful Africa on Nonesuch
  • Trentemøller - Never Stop Running (feat. Jonny Pierce of The Drums)
  • from Lost on In My Room
  • U.S. Girls - Overtime
  • from Free Advice Column on Bad Actors, Inc.

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/1

A while back, a producer, a DJ and an MC, each with solid careers of their own, formed a sort of hip hop supergroup to face against rising corporate interests in their fields. Like Gorillaz, Deltron 3030 was high-concept, semi-fictional, character driven project that blew the minds of music fans ...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 9/17

No doubt you've noticed that we're in midst of our 2013 Fall Fundraising Drive. We are asking you to support listener powered radio so that we can continue to bring you the features and programming that you love. One of the services we offer regularly is our weekly roundup of new releases, where ...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site