Out This Week 8/6

In Stores Now
Jim Beckmann

As the days grow shorter, the list of exciting new albums seems to grow longer. Though none of the big year-end blockbusters are out yet, there's a lot to choose from on the new release shelves at your favorite record store, including the latest from Moderat. This second LP by the collaboration of Berlin duo Modeselektor (Gernot Bronsert and Sebastian Szary) and Berlin artist Apparat (aka Sascha Ring) is sure to appease fans eager for a follow up. Our Music Director, Don Yates, calls the aptly titled II "a masterfully moody set of expansive bass music with atmospheric synths, rumbling bass, skittering rhythms, melancholy vocals and haunting melodies." Perth, Australia band Pond, featuring current and former members of Tame Impala, is releasing their fifth album today. Hobo Rocket, the followup to their excellent 2012 album, Beard, Wives, Denim, "is a more adventurous and often-aggressive take on the band’s heavy psych-pop, with expansive, shape-shifting songs that bounce from hazy atmospheric pop to primal hard rock." New York Minks return with their second album, showcasing "a strong outing of ‘80s-influenced dream-pop with fuzzy synths, jangly guitars and lots of sparkling pop hooks"; and Dirtmusic, carries on after the departure of Chris Brokaw, now as a duo with founders Chris Eckman (also of The Walkabouts) and Australian multi-instrumentalist Hugo Race (an early member of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds). Their third, recorded in Bamako, Mali with Malian musicians and vocalists, "is a seamless, wholly successful blend of various Malian styles and brooding, atmospheric rock, with lyrics touching upon the conflict with radical Islamists in northern Mali."

Other excellent new releases that you'll want to check out come from LA trio Superhumanoids, whose debut is "a top-notch set of romantic, dreamy, woozy synth-pop with R&B flourishes that balances starry-eyed boy/girl vocals with New Wave influences, lush textures, and soaring hooks"; 90's LA band Medicine, who return after 18 years' hiatus with a strong set of "shoegazer dream-pop with elusive, shape-shifting songs featuring fuzzy guitars and soft vocals"; Chicago group Running, whose new album is "a vicious slab of grimy noise-punk with a dense wall of scuzzy guitars, often-motorik rhythms and snarling vocals"; and a collaboration by Austinites Explosions In The Sky & David Wingo (of Ola Podrida) for a moody, cinematic soundtrack to the movie Prince Avalanche.

Look for all of these in stores today, plus new releases from The Civil Wars, The Polyphonic Spree, Dinosaur Bones, Future Wife, Lumerians, and many others. Here are a few songs to sample before you head out to your favorite record shop:

  • Barbarossa - Turbine

  • from Bloodlines on Memphis Industries
  • Jake Bellows - All Right Now (MP3)
  • from New Ocean on Saddle Creek
  • Charles Bradley - trailer
  • from Charles Bradley: Soul of America DVD on Daptone
  • The Civil Wars - The One That Got Away
  • from The Civil Wars on Sensibility Music/Columbia Records
  • The Delta Mirror - Goodbye Horses (Q Lazzarus cover) (MP3)
  • from Better Unsung on Lightwave Records
  • Dinosaur Bones - Sleepsick (MP3)
  • from Shaky Dream on Dine Alone Records
  • Dirtmusic - Fitzcarraldo
  • from Troubles on Glitterbeat Records
  • Explosions In The Sky & David Wingo - Join Me On My Avalanche
  • from Prince Avalanche: An Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on Temporary Residence Ltd.
  • Future Wife - I'm Gonna Die
  • from We're Gonna Die (self-released)
  • Sarah Lee Guthrie and Johnny Irion - Chairman Meow
  • from Wassaic Way on Route 8 Records
  • Kitten Forever - Famous Friends
  • from Pressure on Guilt Ridden Pop
  • Lumerians - Dogon Genesis
  • from The High Frontier on Partisan Records
  • Medicine - It's Not Enough
  • from To the Happy Few on Captured Tracks
  • Minks - Everything's Fine (MP3)
  • from Tides End on Captured Tracks
  • Moderat - Bad Kingdom
  • from II on Monkeytown/Mute
  • The Polyphonic Spree - You Don't Know Me
  • from Yes It's True on Kirtland Records
  • Pond - Xanman
  • from Hobo Rocket on Modular
  • Pop. 1280 - Human Probe
  • from Imps of Perversion on Sacred Bones Records
  • Running - Controversial PR
  • from Vaguely Ethnic on Castle Face Records
  • Amanda Shires - Devastate
  • from Down Fell The Doves on Lightning Rod Records
  • Summer Cannibals - Take Me
  • from No Makeup on New Moss Records
  • Superhumanoids - Bad Weather
  • from Exhibitionists on Innovative Leisure
  • Walking Papers - Leave Me In The Dark
  • from Walking Papers on Loud & Proud Records
  • Jesse Woods - Elijah
  • from Get Your Burdens Lifted on Guns In the Sun

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 8/13

Our live guests today, The Moondoggies, have one of this week's top new releases with their excellent third LP, Adios I'm a Ghost. The Seattle band has long been a KEXP favorite, and their fans certainly won't stop loving them after hearing their latest, which our Music Director, Don Yates, calls...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 7/30

Another light summer week of new releases, but there's a handful hitting shelves today that you'll definitely want to check out. Portland singer-songwriter Alela Diane tops the list with her fourth album of heartbreaking (and broken) folk-pop, highlighting her rich voice and often personal lyrics...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site