Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Britta Plyler
photo by Brittney Bollay

  • The National debuted several new songs at their first concert of 2013 last night in Berlin. Each of these three new tracks will be featured on their new album Trouble Will Find Me that will be out May 21. Thanks to a brilliant YouTube user, we are able to live vicariously through the fans in Germany and enjoy the brand new tracks "Heavenfaced", "Fireproof", and "Graceless". Watch all three below! [CoS]

  • The third single from White Fence's new album Cyclops Reap (out April 9 from Castle Face) is my favorite song we've been graced with far. The previously released "Fragility" and "Pink Gorilla" are amazing, but "To The Boy" feels like a groovy throwback that would restore the older generation's faith in the future of music. Listen to it HERE. [Stereogum]

  • Tyler, the Creator stopped by The Late Show with David Letterman last night to promote his freshly released album Wolf. Earl Sweatshirt and Domo Genesis joined Tyler's memorable performance of the track "Rusty". Tyler will be performing in Seattle at Neumos on April 10. Unfortunately, those tickets are sold out, but several tickets for his May 8 show in Spokane are still available on STUBHUB. [CoS]

  • Detroit rapper Danny Brown never ceases to amaze with the speed of his flow and ridiculousness of his lyrics. This new song was produced by Trampy and it's named "#ExpressYourself" in honor of the twitter trend created by rapper Diplo. According to Danny's twitter he decided to record the song "Just for fun. Give the ladies something to turn up." Well, I'm a terrible dancer so I'll leave it to the other ladies to twerk along with this track. [Stereogum]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

The National has finally officially released "Demons" - a track from their upcoming album Trouble Will Find Me. Where the album artwork suggests a kind of duality of the self - a girls head looks at itself in a mirror - the song is similarly moody and heavy like much of their previous material. "...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Dan Deacon will release "Konono Ripoff No. 1" as an exclusive run of 500 hand-numbered 7" for Record Store Day on the 20th. Deacon has played the song live in recent months but this will be the first time it's been released. The song is performed by two different pairs of drummers -- the A-side...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site