In Stores Now 10/9

In Stores Now

Over the past few weeks, DJ Kevin Cole has been premiering tracks from the new 2-disc set The Replacements For Sale: Live At Maxwell’s 1986, which is now in stores. The collection features remastered versions of a show taped with a 24-track mobile studio, with new liner notes by Bob Mehr, author of Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements, as well as never-before-seen photos from the Maxwell’s show by photographer Caryn Rose.

Canadian band Wolf Parade returns with their fourth album (and first in seven years. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "a smartly crafted blend of New Waveish post-punk, Bowiesque glam, spacy prog-pop and more, combining a densely textured sound with anxiety-fueled, often-politically charged lyrics for these troubled times." British band My Sad Captains also deliver their fourth LP, featuring "a revamped lineup and a more varied sound ranging from hypnotic motorik jams and chugging Velvet Underground-style pop to ambient dream-pop."

On their sophomore full-length, New Zealand band Yumi Zouma bring a "well-crafted set of buoyant indie-pop with shimmering synths, glistening guitars, lush strings, gently propulsive rhythms, soft vocals and sugary melodies." Mister Heavenly -- a collaboration of Ryan Kattner (aka Honus Honus of Man Man), Nick Thorburn of Islands and Joe Plummer (Cold War Kids, Modest Mouse) -- release a "playful, eclectic set ranging from propulsive, motorik post-punk and noise-addled garage-rock to bouncy psych-pop and reggaefied yacht-rock." And on their third album, Toledo, OH band Citizen bring "a well-crafted set of emotive, '90s-steeped rock combining a thick, muscular sound with anthemic song hooks."

  • Angel Deradoorian - "Mountainside"
  • from Eternal Recurrence on Anticon
  • August Burns Red - "King of Sorrow"
  • from Phantom Anthem on Fearless Records
  • Ben Boye / Mark Kozelek / Jim White - "Topo Gigio"
  • from Mark Kozelek with Ben Boye and Jim White on Caldo Verde Records
  • Benjamin Clementine - "Farewell Sonata"
  • from I Tell a Fly on Behind / Virgin EMI
  • The Black Dahlia Murder - "Matriarch"
  • from Nightbringers on Metal Blade
  • Blue Hawaii - "Versus Game"
  • from Tenderness on Arbutus Records
  • Bottin - "Perfect Mind"
  • from I Have What I Gave on 2MR
  • Bunny - "Dracula's Blues"
  • from Bunny on Tin Angel
  • Canon Blue - "Beholden"
  • from Lasso Yo on Temporary Residence
  • Carla Bruni - "Miss You"
  • from French Touch on Decca / Verve
  • The Church - "Another Century"
  • from Man Woman Life Death Infinity on Unorthodox
  • Citizen - "In the Middle of It All"
  • from As You Please on Run for Cover Records
  • Cults - "Offering"
  • from Offering on Sinderlyn
  • The Darkness - "All The Pretty Girls"
  • from Pinewood Smile on Cooking Vinyl
  • Dhani Harrison - "All About Waiting"
  • from IN///PARALLEL on BMG / Hot Records
  • Ducktails - "Map to the Stars"
  • from Jersey Devil on New Images
  • Gill Landry - "Denver Girls"
  • from Love Rides a Dark Horse on ATO
  • Gwen Stefani - "You Make It Feel Like Christmas (feat. Blake Shelton)"
  • from You Make It Feel Like Christmas on Interscope / Polydor
  • JD McPherson - "Lucky Penny"
  • from Undivided Heart & Soul on New West
  • Jerrod Niemann - "God Made A Woman"
  • from This Ride on Curb
  • Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith / Stargaze - "An Intention"
  • from The Kid on Western Vinyl Records
  • Kele Okereke - "Streets Been Talkin'"
  • from Fatherland on BMG
  • Kelela - "LMK"
  • from Take Me Apart on Warp
  • Liam Gallagher - "For What It's Worth"
  • from As You Were on Warner Music/Cinram Logistics
  • Marilyn Manson - "We Know Where You Fucking Live"
  • from Heaven Upside Down on Loma Vista
  • Mister Heavenly - "Makin' Excuses"
  • from Boxing the Moonlight on Polyvinyl
  • My Sad Captains - "Don't Listen To Your Heart"
  • from Sun Bridge on Bella Union
  • Nick Nicely - "Solar Wind"
  • from Sleep Safari on Tapete Records
  • NRBQ
  • from Happy Talk EP on Omnivore
  • The Replacements
  • from For Sale: Live at Maxwell's 1986 on Rhino / Sire
  • Shigeto - "Detroit Part II"
  • from The New Monday on Ghostly International
  • Simon Joyner - "Earthquake"
  • from Step Into the Earthquake on Shrimper/BB*ISLAND
  • Sound of Ceres - "Gemini Scenic"
  • from The Twin on Joyful Noise
  • Twin Bandit - "Everything Under the Sun"
  • from Full Circle on Nettwerk
  • Whitney Rose - "Better To My Baby"
  • from Rule 62 on Six Shooter Records
  • Wolf Parade - "You're Dreaming"
  • from Cry Cry Cry on Sub Pop
  • The World - "Namaste"
  • from First World Record on Upset the Rhythm
  • Yumi Zouma - "December"
  • from Willowbank on Cascine

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/16

On her fifth full-length, Dallas-bred, New York-based artist St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) "successfully combines bigger production with some of her most personal songs to date," notes KEXP Music Director Don Yates. "The album's diverse sound ranges from frenetic New Wave and slinky funk-pop to l...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/2

Paris-based French-Cuban sister duo Ibeyi share their sophomore LP. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the latest from Naomi and Lisa-Kainde Diaz "another stunning, beautifully crafted blend of electro-pop, soul, hip-hop and traditional Cuban percussion, combining a spacious, beat-driven sound w...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site