In Stores Now 8/21

In Stores Now

Brooklyn-bred band Grizzly Bear return with their fifth LP, a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls "an adventurous set of densely layered and intricately arranged prog-pop, featuring a punchier, more beat-driven sound to more forcefully drive home the band's dark, imagistic lyrics of decay and alienation." Long-running Madison, WI-based group Rainer Maria return with their first new album in eleven years, "a strong set of moody, cathartic rock with churning guitars and muscular rhythms accompanying Caithlin De Marrais's dynamic vocals and emotive lyrics." And UK electronic act UNKLE (aka James Lavelle) return after seven years with a follow-up to 2010’s Where Did the Night Fall. The new album features a plethora of guests including Primal Scream’s Andrew Innes, Queen of the Stone Age’s Troy Van Leeuwan, Dhani Harrison, Mark Lanegan, ESKA, Keaton Henson, and the Duke Spirit’s Liela Moss.

Caspar Babypants, who was last Friday's in-studio guest on The Morning Show on KEXP, shares his 13th full-length of updated traditional kids songs and originals. DJ Shadow shares the EP The Mountain Has Fallen, an accompaniment to his most recent LP, The Mountain Will Fall. (See? He told you so.) And Interpol release the 10th anniversary edition of their major label debut, Our Love to Admire, available as a two-LP vinyl set, a double LP with bonus DVD, or a CD/DVD set. The DVD features a 2007 12-song performance at the London Astoria. The band is currently working on a new album for Matador Records, sure to appear in this column upon its release in 2018.

  • The Accidentals - "Arizona Stars"
  • from Odyssey on Masterworks
  • Caspar Babypants - "Free Couch"
  • from Jump For Joy! on Aurora Elephant
  • Cloakroom - "Seedless Star"
  • from Time Well on Relapse Records
  • Dent May - "Across The Multiverse (feat. Frankie Cosmos)"
  • from Across the Multiverse on Carpark Records
  • DJ Shadow - "Systematic feat. Nas"
  • from The Mountain Has Fallen on Mass Appeal
  • Everything Everything - "Good Shot, Good Soldier"
  • from A Fever Dream on Big Picnic Records
  • Grizzly Bear - "Wasted Acres"
  • from Painted Ruins on Grizzly Bear Music / RCA
  • Interpol - "The Heinrich Maneuver"
  • from Our Love To Admire: 10 Year Anniversary Edition [2LP/DVD] on Capitol
  • Jerry Douglas - "Hey Joe"
  • from What If on Rounder
  • Judy Dyble / Andy Lewis - "He Said I Said"
  • from Summer Dancing on Acid Jazz / PIAS
  • from HELL YEAH on Ear Music
  • Matthew Bourne - "Isotach"
  • from Isotach on The Leaf Label
  • The Mosquitos - "This Town"
  • from Mexican Dust on Six Degrees
  • Neck Deep - "Motion Sickness"
  • from The Peace and the Panic on Hopeless Records
  • Rainer Maria - "Lower Worlds"
  • from S/T on Polyvinyl
  • Shelby Lynne / Allison Moorer - "Not Dark Yet"
  • from Not Dark Yet on Silver Cross
  • Steven Wilson - "Nowhere Now"
  • from To the Bone on Caroline
  • Thy Art Is Murder - "Dear Desolation"
  • from Dear Desolation [Limited Edition LP] on Nuclear Blast
  • UNKLE - "Cowboys Or Indians"
  • from The Road, Pt. 1 on Cooking Vinyl / Songs for the Def

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/28

Philadelphia band The War on Drugs return with the fourth album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "an excellent set of expansive, '80s-steeped rock. Beautifully produced, the band's music has never sounded better than it does here with a bliss-inducing combination of expansive guitar leads...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/14

Philly-based band The Districts return with their third LP, what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "their strongest set to date, with a fuller, more dynamic and densely textured sound combining thick, swirling guitars, muscular rhythms and often-dark lyrics of isolation and dysfunctional relat...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site