Tuesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Tori Dickson (view set)
  • Recent Sub Pop signees Bully are releasing their sophomore album Losing this fall. It will follow their well-received 2015 debut Feels Like. "Feel the Same" is the first single from the new album and it's got a more grungey vibe than the Nashville quartet's previous work. [ Spin ]
  • The supergroup Filthy Friends is made up of Sleater-Kinney's Corin Tucker, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Bill Rieflin, and Kurt Bloch and the group is about to release their debut album, Invitation. Originally created amongst the friends as a David Bowie cover band in 2012, the band has now grown into something more substantial. Today they've shared a video for their first-ever original song, "Despierta," which was released last year as part of the anti-Trump 30 Days, 30 Songs series and is now the lead single for the new album. Invitation is out August 25 via Kill Rock Stars. Filthy Friends will play 2017's Bumbershoot, going on September 1 -3. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Hamilton Leithauser, former frontman of the Walkmen, has shared a number of cover songs lately and today he presented us with his take on the Talking Heads' "Road To Nowhere." Leithauser said of the release, “When I was doing this song, I realized there really isn’t any other band in the world that I’ve tried to rip off more than the Talking Heads in my career — and [have] had basically zero success. There’s been more four-tracks in my life that have been called ‘Talking Heads Ripoff 1’, ‘Talking Heads Ripoff 2’, or ‘Talking Heads Guitar’, ‘Talking Heads Drums’, and it’s never worked out." The cover will be included on Amazon's upcoming Open Road playlist which will be available to stream via Amazon Music on August 4. Leithauser will play the Neptune Theatre on Wednesday, November 15. [ Consequence of Sound ]
  • New Zealand's Yumi Zouma went where few would dare by releasing a full-length cover album of Oasis' iconic 1995 release (What's The Story) Morning Glory? earlier this year. Their upcoming sophomore album Willowbank is far more original (and less risky). The lead single "December" was just released and floats by in a beautiful blurry dream. [ Stereogum ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Wednesday Music News

Toronto noise-rock trio Metz have announced their next full-length Strange Peace, which will be out September 22 via Sub Pop. They've also shared a new song off the album, "Drained Lake," an industrial stomper of a song. It follows the recently released "Cellophane." KEXP is bringing Metz to Neum...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Former Olympia resident and K Records signee, Mirah has announced a new EP called Sundial. It follows her 2014 full-length Changing Light and will be released October 4 via Absolute Magnitude. For Sundial she collaborated with musician and composer Jherek Bischoff to write unique arrangements for...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site