In Stores Now 6/26

In Stores Now

Two strong reissues came out this past Friday, one being the expanded 20th anniversary edition of Radiohead's 1997 album OK Computer, featuring three previously unreleased tracks. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "while not classic Radiohead, they're all fine examples of the band's brooding prog-rock." The other stand-out reissue this week comes from Prince. On Purple Rain — Deluxe Expanded Edition, you get a bonus disc of 11 previously-unheard tracks, as well as single-edits, b-sides, and a never-before-seen DVD of Prince and The Revolution Live! in 1985.

Stand-out releases of new music this week include the sophomore full-length from London/NYC-via-Atlanta band Algiers. Yates calls it, "another powerful, edgy blend of gospel-tinged post-punk and industrial, with loud, buzzing synths, shards of angular guitars, forceful rhythms and handclaps accompanying Franklin James Fisher's soulful vocals and politically charged lyrics decrying injustice and racism." Another strong second LP comes from Long Beach, CA rapper Vince Staples, "another powerful set of hard-hitting hip hop, but this time featuring a more electronic-influenced sound that blends banging hip hop with Detroit techno, house and 2-step. With production from Zack Sekoff along with Flume, SOPHIE, Jimmy Edgar and GTA, the album's cavernous sound combines dark, bass-heavy beats with his limber, conversational delivery and concise, sharply crafted lyrics reflecting on race, class, hip hop culture and the toxic effects of fame."

Prolific Australian band King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard deliver "a dark, mind-bending concept album about the end of humankind, the death of the planet and ultimately, the murder of the universe. The story is told in three lengthy song suites combining face-melting psych-rock, metallic stoner-rock and motorik prog with dystopian lyrics reflective of these dark times." And Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy shares a solo LP featuring eleven of his own songs written for Wilco, and side projects Loose Fur, or Golden Smog. The solo acoustic album was recorded at Tweedy’s own Chicago recording studio The Loft.

  • (Various Artists) Chrissy Zebby Tembo - "Born Black"
  • from Welcome to Zamrock, Vol. 2: How Zambia's Liberation Led to a Rock Revolution 1972-1977 on Now-Again
  • Algiers - "Cleveland"
  • from The Underside of Power on Matador
  • Allen Ginsberg - "The Echoing Green"
  • from The Complete Songs of Innocence and Experience on Omnivore
  • Banditos - "Fine Fine Day"
  • from Visionland on Bloodshot
  • Bone Thugs - "Waves (Audio) ft. Layzie Bone, Wish Bone, Flesh-n-Bone"
  • from New Waves on Ent. One Music
  • The Chain Gang of 1974 - "Looking For Love"
  • from Felt on self-released
  • CHIMNEY - "Copicat"
  • from CHIMNEY on Dine Alone
  • The Deslondes - "One Of These Lonesome Mornings"
  • from Hurry Home on New West Records
  • DJ Khaled - "To the Max ft. Drake"
  • from Grateful on Epic Records
  • Dying Fetus - "Die With Integrity"
  • from Wrong One To Fuck With on Relapse Records
  • Eliot Lipp - "Reflection"
  • from Skywave on Young Heavy Souls
  • EX EYE - "Opposition Perihelion; The Coil"
  • from EX EYE on Relapse Records
  • Glenn Morrow's Cry For Help - "Bleecker and Third"
  • from Glenn Morrow's Cry For Help on Rhyme & Reason Records
  • Guttermouth - "Saturday Truck Fever"
  • from The Whole Enchilada on Rude Records
  • Imagine Dragons - "Whatever It Takes"
  • from Evolve on Interscope / Polydor
  • Jaymes Young - "Feel Something"
  • from Feel Something on Atlantic
  • Jeff Tweedy - "Dawned On Me"
  • from Together at Last on Anti- / dBpm
  • Jessica Hernandez & the Deltas - "Bombay"
  • from Telephone on Instant Records
  • Joe Bonamassa - "The Valley Runs Low"
  • from Live At Carnegie Hall: An Acoustic Evening on J&R Adventures
  • King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard - "Altered Beast II"
  • from Murder of the Universe on ATO
  • Kirin J. Callinan - "Down 2 Hang (feat. James Chance)"
  • from Bravado on Terrible
  • Monks - "I'm Watching You"
  • from Hamburg Recordings 1967 on Third Man Records
  • Municipal Waste - "Slime And Punishment"
  • from Slime And Punishment on Nuclear Blast Records
  • New Swears - "Brand New Spot"
  • from And the Magic of Horses on Dine Alone
  • Prince and the Revolution - "Electric Intercourse (Studio Version)"
  • from Purple Rain [Deluxe Expanded Edition] on Rhino / Warner Bros.
  • Radiohead - "I Promise"
  • from OK Computer: OKNOTOK 1997 2017 [2 CD] on XL
  • Rozwell Kid - "UHF on DVD"
  • from Precious Art on SideOneDummy
  • Stokley - "Level"
  • from Introducing Stokley on Concord Music Group
  • 311 - "Too Much To Think"
  • from MOSAIC on BMG
  • Tunabunny - "Magic January"
  • from PCP Presents Alice in Wonderland Jr on HHBTM
  • Vince Staples - "Crabs In A Bucket"
  • from Big Fish Theory on Def Jam / Virgin EMI
  • Willie Nile - "Rainy Day Women #12 & 35"
  • from Positively Bob: Willie Nile Sings Bob Dylan on Virtual Label Group
  • Yonder Mountain String Band - "Bad Taste"
  • from Love. Ain't Love on Frog Pad Records/ Thirty Tigers

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 6/19

It's been six years since we last heard from Seattle-bred band Fleet Foxes, and the group return with their third LP this week. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the album's "expansive folk-pop is their most adventurous work to date, featuring a rich, ornate sound on sprawling, shape-shifting song…

Read More