In Stores Now 3/6

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

They say great art can come from sadness, and that seems to be true for the new album from Grandaddy. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "the fifth album (and first in 11 years) from this reunited Modesto, CA-bred band led by Jason Lytle is an impressive return to form featuring consistently strong songs of psych-tinged space-pop with fuzzy, chugging guitars, sparkling synths, wistful vocals, airy harmonies, melancholy melodies and lyrics revolving around the breakup of Lytle’s marriage."

West coast project WHY? also re-emerge; the "sixth album (and first in five years) from Yoni Wolf & co. is a solid set of quirky art-pop incorporating elements of folk, psych-pop, hip hop and other styles." The latest from Seattle band Minus the Bear "ranges from moody dance-pop and nervy math-rock to majestic prog." (And you can hear the new songs LIVE on KEXP Tuesday, March 7th, broadcasting worldwide from the KEXP Gathering Space!) And another local artist, electronic producer Lusine (aka Jeff McIlwain) returns with his fourth album "a fine set of buoyant electronic grooves with a few songs featuring guest vocalists."

Other highlights this week include the third LP from L.A.'s Chicano Batman, "a vibrant blend of soul, funk, psych-rock and Brazilian tropicalia, combining a variety of sunny grooves with sometimes politically charged lyrics." And the sophomore release from Ibibio Sound Machine "led by London-born, Nigerian vocalist Eno Williams is a spirited, rhythm-driven blend of West African funk, highlife, disco and post-punk."

  • Béla Fleck
  • from Juno Concerto on Rounder
  • Bombadil - "Not Those Kind of People"
  • from Fences on Ramseur Records
  • Chicano Batman - "Freedom Is Free"
  • from Freedom Is Free on ATO
  • Colin Hay - "A Thousand Million Reasons"
  • from Fierce Mercy on Compass
  • Danko Jones - "My Little RnR"
  • from Wild Cat on AFM Records
  • Dia Frampton - "Crave"
  • from Bruises on Nettwerk
  • Emmure - "Flag Of The Beast"
  • from Look at Yourself on Nuclear Blast / Relativity Entertainment / Sharptone
  • Gabriella Cohen - "Downtown"
  • from Full Closure and No Details on Captured Tracks
  • Grandaddy - "Way We Won't"
  • from Last Place on 30th Century Records / Columbia / Sony Music
  • Holly Macve - "Heartbreak Blues"
  • from Golden Eagle on Bella Union
  • Ibibio Sound Machine - "Give Me a Reason"
  • from Uyai on Merge
  • Johnossi - "War / Rain"
  • from Blood Jungle on Caroline
  • Kneebody - "Uprising"
  • from Anti-Hero on Motéma Music
  • Lusine - "Slow Motion"
  • from Sensorimotor on Ghostly International
  • Methyl Ethel - "L'Heure des Sorcières"
  • from Everything Is Forgotten on 4AD
  • Minus the Bear - "Last Kiss"
  • from Voids on Suicide Squeeze
  • Sondre Lerche - "Soft Feelings"
  • from Pleasure on PLZ
  • Talaboman - "Safe Changes"
  • from The Night Land on R&S
  • Tim Kasher - "An Answer For Everything"
  • from No Resolution on 15 Passenger
  • Why? - "This Ole King"
  • from Moh Lhean on Joyful Noise

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 3/20

Get ready for some two-fers on The Midday Show on KEXP: the new Spoon album is finally here! KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, the "Austin band's ninth album finds them tweaking their sound with more prominent dance beats, electronic textures and adventurous sonic touches, while still providing …

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/27

It may be the shortest month, but February has had no shortage of great new releases. Highlights this week include the latest from Dirty Projectors. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "the eighth album from the now LA-based solo project of band leader David Longstreth is a powerful set of avant e…

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site