In Stores Now 4/4

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Local band Tacocat lead the pack in a very busy week of new releases. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says "this Seattle band's third album is an excellent set of punkish power-pop with crunchy, occasionally surfy guitars, energetic rhythms, sugary melodies and often-biting, wickedly humorous lyrics skewering sexism and other societal ills while celebrating friends and good times."

KEXP listeners are no doubt familiar with Operators, the side project of Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs, Divine Fits). It's hard to believe they're just now releasing their full-length debut, "a potent set of dance-friendly post-punk with icy synths, buzzing guitars, occasional sax, propulsive rhythms and anthemic song hooks."

Chicago artist Andrew Bird "brings a bit more polish along with an occasional rock edge to his latest album of well-crafted chamber-pop. The album also features his most personal set of songs to date, centering around fatherhood and relationship issues." Moderat, aka Berlin electronic duo Modeselektor and fellow Berlin electronic artist Apparat (aka Sascha Ring), combine powers for their third full-length featuring, "dark, brooding electro-pop combining hypnotic grooves and skittering breakbeats with Apparat's melancholy vocals."

Brooklyn-based band Yeasayer return with their fourth LP, "a fine set of eclectic prog-pop ranging from groove-driven psych-pop to atmospheric space-pop and even some bits of medieval folk." Vancouver B.C. rockers Black Mountain also share their fourth album, "an impressive blend of hard rock, psych, prog, folk, space-rock and more, ranging from epic stoner-rock dirges and fiery, psych-tinged hard-rock to synth-driven space-rock and some spacious, atmospheric ballads."

  • (Various Artists) Ouakha Dial Kheir Women's Chorus – “Tahala”
  • from Music of Morocco: Recorded by Paul Bowles on Dust-to-Digital
  • (Various Artists) Nick Catchdubs – “Typo”
  • from Night Shift on Fool's Gold
  • Andrew Bird – “Left Handed Kisses (ft. Fiona Apple) ”
  • from Are You Serious on Loma Vista Recordings / Universal
  • Antwon – “Luv”
  • from Double Ecstasy EP on Anticon
  • Aries – “Nieve de Noche”
  • from Adieu or Die on La Castanya Records / K Records
  • Ash Koosha – “Ooh Uhh”
  • from I AKA I on Ninja Tune
  • Audacity – “Dirty Boy”
  • from Hyper Vessels on Suicide Squeeze
  • Autolux – “Brainwasher”
  • from Pussy's Dead on Columbia / Sony Music
  • Babyfather – “God Hour feat. Micachu”
  • from BBF Hosted by DJ Escrow on Hyperdub
  • Babymetal – “シンコペーション”
  • from Metal Resistance on Ear Music
  • Bibio – “Town & Country”
  • from A Mineral Love on Warp
  • Black Mountain – “Florian Saucer Attack”
  • from IV on Jagjaguwar
  • Bleached – “Sour Candy”
  • from Welcome the Worms on Dead Oceans
  • Bombino – “Akhar Zaman (This Moment)”
  • from Azel on Partisan
  • Boulevards – “Move And Shout”
  • from Groove! on Captured Tracks
  • Charles Bradley – “Changes”
  • from Changes on Daptone
  • Cheap Trick – “When I Wake Up Tomorrow”
  • from Bang, Zoom, Crazy... Hello on Big Machine Records
  • Chelsea Wolfe – “Hypnos”
  • from Hypnos/Flame 7" on Sargent House
  • Com Truise – “Diffraction”
  • from Silicon Tare EP on Ghostly
  • Dana Falconberry / Medicine Bow – “Dolomite”
  • from From the Forest Came the Fire on Modern Outsider
  • Darq E Freaker – “Hallucinate”
  • from ADHD EP on Big Dada
  • Dinner – “Gone”
  • from Psychic Lovers on Captured Tracks
  • dvsn – “Hallucinations”
  • from Sept. 5th on OVO Sound/Warner Bros.
  • Explosions in the Sky – “Disintegration Anxiety”
  • from The Wilderness on Temporary Residence
  • The Field – “The Follower”
  • from The Follower on Kompakt
  • Frankie Cosmos – “Young”
  • from Next Thing on Bayonet Records
  • The Greyhounds – “Devil's Eyes”
  • from Change of Pace on Ardent Music
  • The High Violets – “Heroes And Halos”
  • from Heroes & Halos on Saint Marie
  • Hiromi – “Spark”
  • from Spark on Telarc
  • Jan St. Werner – “Slipped Through Heaven”
  • from Felder on Thrill Jockey
  • Japanese Breakfast – “In Heaven”
  • from Psychopomp on Yellow K
  • John Congleton / The Nighty Nite – “Until It Goes”
  • from Until the Horror Goes on Fat Possum
  • Kaada/Patton – “Imodium”
  • from Bacteria Cult on Ipecac
  • Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – “Arthropoda”
  • from Ears on Western Vinyl Records
  • The Last Shadow Puppets – “Aviation”
  • from Everything You've Come to Expect on Domino
  • Leon Vynehall – “Kiburu's”
  • from Rojus (Designed to Dance) on Running Back
  • Mike and the Melvins – “Chicken N Dump”
  • from Three Men and a Baby on Sub Pop
  • Moderat – “Reminder”
  • from III on Mute/Monkeytown
  • Mogwai – “U-235”
  • from Atomic on Temporary Residence
  • Nisennenmondai – “#3”
  • from #N/A on On U Sounds
  • Operators – “Cold Light”
  • from Blue Wave on Last Gang
  • Pet Shop Boys – “Inner Sanctum (Blade Extended Mix)”
  • from Super on x2
  • Robbie Fulks – “Aunt Peg's New Old Man”
  • from Upland Stories on Bloodshot
  • Sasha – “View2”
  • from Scene Delete on Late Night Tales
  • Shonen Knife – “Jump Into The New World”
  • from Adventure on Damnably
  • Sia – “Where I Belong”
  • from Colour the Small One reissue on Astralwerks
  • Starwalker – “Blue Hawaii”
  • from Starwalker on Bang / Prototyp / Starwalker Music
  • Sufjan Stevens – “Chicago (Demo)”
  • from Illinois: Special 10th Anniversary Blue Marvel Edition on Asthmatic Kitty
  • The Summer Set – “Figure Me Out”
  • from Stories for Monday on Fearless Records
  • Tacocat – “I Hate The Weekend”
  • from Lost Time on Hardly Art
  • Tancred – “Control Me”
  • from Out of the Garden on Polyvinyl
  • Teddy Thompson/Kelly Jones – “Never Knew You Loved Me Too”
  • from Little Windows on Cooking Vinyl
  • Terrace Martin – “Valdez Off Crenshaw”
  • from Velvet Portraits on Sounds of Crenshaw/Ropeadope
  • Tombs – “The World Is Made Of Fire”
  • from All Empires Fall on Relapse
  • Weezer – “California Kids”
  • from Weezer on Crush
  • Yeasayer – “I Am Chemistry”
  • from Amen & Goodbye on Mute

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 4/11

Record Store Day is this coming Saturday, April 16th, but you should head to your favorite independent record stores early to scoop up some of these great new releases, like the latest from Parquet Courts. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says "this Brooklyn band's latest album is another smartly craf…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 3/28

We're so excited to have Bob Mould joining us next month for KEXP's New Home Grand Opening on Saturday, April 16th! KEXP Music Director Don Yates observes that on Mould's latest solo album, "the former Husker Du/Sugar frontman continues his latter-day resurgence with another impressive set of anthe…

Read More