Out This Week 9/28

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

It's getting hard to keep up with all the great fall releases. If you thought last week was jam-packed, just check out what's in store this week!

Kurt Vile's highly-anticipated sixth solo album is out. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "another first-rate outing of expansive, folk-tinged psych-rock, with a consistently strong set of mostly dark, open-ended songs combining Vile’s expressive guitar work along with some occasional banjo, piano and other instrumentation with his laconic drawl and smart, self-aware lyrics that leaven deep melancholy with flashes of wry humor." Scottish trio Chvrches share "another powerful, impeccably crafted set of anthemic electro-pop with bright, shimmering synths and propulsive rhythms accompanying Lauren Mayberry’s crystalline vocals and emotive lyrics."

Big Grams, a collaboration of Outkast's Big Boi and Phantogram, release their self-titled debut EP, featuring guest appearances from Run The Jewels and Skrillex. Swedish band Dungen share "an impressive set of expansive psych-rock, with a warm, beautifully detailed sound combining a variety of instrumentation including fuzzy guitars, piano, organ, horns, woodwinds, vibes, harp and more with delicate vocals and twisty melodies." Electropop veterans New Order return with a new album (read an in-depth review on the KEXP Blog here), and supergroup The Dead Weather unleash their third full-length, "another visceral set of bluesy hard-rock with searing guitar riffs, muscular rhythms and wailing vocals."

  • (Various) – “Something Going On”
  • from Artifact: The Dawn of Creation Records 83-85 on Cherry Red
  • Big Grams – “Lights On”
  • from Big Grams on Epic
  • Bikini Kill – “Ocean Song”
  • from Revolution Girl Style Now on Bikini Kill Records
  • Black Breath – “Slaves Beyond Death”
  • from Slaves Beyond Death on Southern Lord Records
  • Chvrches – “Leave A Trace”
  • from Every Open Eye on Glassnote Entertainment Group
  • The Dead Weather – “I Feel Love (Every Million Miles)”
  • from Dodge and Burn on Third Man Records
  • The Dears – “I Used To Pray For The Heavens To Fall”
  • from Times Infinity, Vol. 1 on Dangerbird Records
  • Disclosure – “Jaded”
  • from Caracal on PMR/Island
  • Doe Paoro – “Growth/Decay”
  • from After on Anti-
  • Don Henley – “Take A Picture Of This”
  • from Cass County on Capitol / Virgin EMI
  • Dungen – “Åkt Dit”
  • from Allas Sak on Mexican Summer/Smalltown Supersound
  • Expert Alterations – “The Past And You”
  • from You Can't Always Be Liked on Kanine Records
  • Fetty Wap – “My Way”
  • from Fetty Wap on Atlantic / Warner
  • Futurebirds – “Hotel Parties”
  • from Hotel Parties on Easy Sound Recording Company
  • Girl Band – “Pears for Lunch”
  • from Holding Hands with Jamie on Rough Trade
  • Graveyard – “The Apple And The Tree”
  • from Innocence & Decadence on Nuclear Blast
  • Herb Alpert – “Night Ride”
  • from Come Fly with Me on Herb Alpert Presents / WEA
  • Infected Mushroom – “Yamakas In Space”
  • from Converting Vegetarians, Vol. 2 on Dim Mak
  • Introverted Dancefloor – “Happiness Is Such A Mess”
  • from Introverted Dancefloor on Carpark Records
  • JR JR – “Gone”
  • from JR JR on Warner Bros.
  • Kaskade – “We Don't Stop”
  • from Automatic on Warner Bros.
  • Kurt Vile – “Pretty Pimpin”
  • from B'lieve I'm Goin Down... on Matador
  • Laetitia Sadier – “Dry Fruit”
  • from Dry Fruit on Drag City
  • Los Lobos – “Made To Break Your Heart”
  • from Gates of Gold on Savoy Jazz
  • Maia Vidal – “Islands Of You And Me”
  • from You're the Waves on Crammed Discs
  • Michael Chapman – “Jack”
  • from Fish on Tompkins Square
  • New Order – “Restless”
  • from Music Complete on Mute
  • Patty Griffin – “Rider Of Days”
  • from Servant of Love on PGM Recordings
  • Peaches – “Close Up ft. Kim Gordon”
  • from Rub on I U She/INgrooves
  • Pwr Bttm – “Ugly Cherries”
  • from Ugly Cherries on Father / Daughter
  • Ricked Wicky – “Poor Substitute”
  • from Swimmer to a Liquid Armchair on Father / Daughter
  • Saintseneca – “Sleeper Hold”
  • from Bad Ideas on Anti / Epitaph
  • Silversun Pickups – “Nightlight”
  • from Better Nature on New Machine
  • Suburban Lawns – “Janitor”
  • from Suburban Lawns reissue on Futurismo
  • Tobias Jesso Jr. – “True Love”
  • from "True Love" b/w "Without You (Alternate Version)" 7" on True Panther
  • The Underachievers – “Allusions”
  • from Evermore: The Art of Duality on Universal
  • U.S. Girls – “Woman's Work”
  • from Half Free on 4AD
  • Wand – “Stolen Footsteps”
  • from 1000 Days on Drag City
  • Widespread Panic – “Street Dogs For Breakfast”
  • from Street Dogs on Vanguard
  • Youth Lagoon – “Highway Patrol Stun Gun”
  • from Savage Hills Ballroom on Fat Possum

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 10/5

Lots of great local releases this week, including the sophomore full-length from Seattle supergroup Childbirth, featuring members of Chastity Belt, TacocaT and Pony Time. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a strong set of snarky garage-punk with primal, grungy guitar lines and pounding rhyt...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 9/21

It's hard to pick just a few highlights this week, as there's tons of great new albums in shops now. Seattle-based project Hibou (led by Peter Michel) releases their debut self-titled full-length on beloved local label Barsuk Records. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the long-awaited album, "a...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site