Out This Week 6/16

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

This week's highlights include the latest from Hudson Mohawke. The Scottish producer, a.k.a. Ross Birchard, shares his sophomore full-length, and KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the release "finds him bringing a bit more restraint to his maximalist blend of various electronic styles with R&B and hip hop, with songs ranging from anthemic hip hop and rave instrumentals to widescreen, R&B-inflected electro-pop and moody orchestral music." LA-based artist Pat Grossi, a.k.a. Active Child, releases "an impressive set of R&B-tinged electro-pop with a spacious sound featuring atmospheric synths, stately piano, delicate harp and spare beats accompanying his souful choir-boy vocals and love-centered lyrics."

Mates of State, the married couple duo of Kori Gardner and Jason Hammel, release "a well-crafted 5-song set of sparkling pop-rock with bright synths, chirpy harmonies and sparkling pop hooks." Canadian punk band Fucked Up present the latest in their Chinese Zodiac-themed EP series, Year of the Hare, including the 21-minute (!!!) title track. Saint Etienne frontwoman Sarah Cracknell premieres her first new solo album in 15 years. Giorgio Moroder has her beat: last Friday, he released his first solo album since 1985. His 17th full-length features guest appearances from Kylie Minogue, Kelis, Sia, Charli XCX, Mikky Ekko, Foxes, Matthew Koma, and (making her first-ever appearance on the KEXP Blog?) Britney Spears.

  • Active Child – “1999”
  • from Mercy on Vagrant
  • Amos Lee – “Windows Are Rolled Down”
  • from Live at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony on ATO
  • Azure Blue – “Beneath The Hill I Smell The Sea”
  • from Beneath the Hill I Smell the Sea on Fika Recordings
  • Calvin Love – “I Wanna Know”
  • from Super Future on Arts & Crafts
  • Christopher Paul Stelling – “Hard Work”
  • from Labor Against Waste on Anti
  • Dog Party – “Peanut Butter Dream”
  • from Vol. 4 on Asian Man Records
  • Evan Caminiti – “Overtaken”
  • from Meridian on Thrill Jockey
  • Fucked Up – “California Cold”
  • from Year of the Hare on Deathwish Inc.
  • Giorgio Moroder – “Déjà Vu ft. Sia”
  • from Déjà-Vu on RCA
  • Heartless Bastards – “Black Cloud”
  • from Restless Ones on Partisan
  • Hudson Mohawke – “Very First Breath ft Irfane”
  • from Lantern on Warp
  • Jaakko Eino Kalevi – “Hush Down”
  • from Jaakko Eino Kalevi on Weird World
  • James Taylor – “Montana”
  • from Before This World on Concord / Decca
  • Ken Camden – “Curiosity”
  • from Dream Memory on Kranky
  • KEN mode – “Blessed”
  • from Success on Season of Mist
  • Mates of State – “Staring Contest”
  • from You're Going to Make It on Barsuk
  • Migos – “John Wick”
  • from YRN Tha Album on Quality Control
  • Part Time – “The Cost Of Living”
  • from Virgo's Maze on Burger Records
  • Ryn Weaver – “The Fool”
  • from The Fool on Mad Love/Interscope
  • Sarah Cracknell – “On The Swings”
  • from Red Kite on Cherry Red
  • The Silver Lake Chorus – “Heavy Star Movin' (written by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd)”
  • from The Silver Lake Chorus on Six Degrees
  • The SteelDrivers – “River Runs Red”
  • from The Muscle Shoals Recordings on Rounder
  • The Wooden Sky – “Maybe It's No Secret”
  • from Let's Be Ready on Nevado Records
  • Yukon Blonde – “Saturday Night”
  • from On Blonde on Dine Alone

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 6/23

Kick off the summer solstice with these great releases! UK band Wolf Alice release their debut full-length, which KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes as "an expansive blend of ethereal dream-pop, shoegazer psych-rock, bristling grunge-pop and much more, with a dynamic, wide-ranging sound on...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 6/9

It's finally here: the long-awaited sophomore release from KEXP's Iceland discovery Of Monsters & Men! The album was co-produced by the band and Los Angeles-based producer Rich Costey who's worked with artists such as Sigur Rós, Death Cab for Cutie, and The Shins, just to name a very few. (An...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site