Out This Week 5/19

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

It's an especially exciting week for new releases. Beloved Portland duo The Helio Sequence release their sixth self-titled album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as "another impeccably crafted set of atmospheric pop-rock with shimmering guitars, ethereal synths, hazy vocals, soaring harmonies and sparkling song hooks."

Keep an eye out for 20-year-old Las Vegas artist Shamir. Yates describes his debut as "a masterful blend of R&B, funk, house, disco, hip hop, post-punk and electro-pop, featuring a variety of bright, sharply crafted songs with often-sparse accompaniment that puts a spotlight on his elastic, androgynous vocals and intimate lyrics." Hot Chip return with "another smartly crafted set of hook-filled electro-pop inflected with funk, R&B, disco, house, post-punk, prog and other styles. The first Hot Chip album to be recorded live in the studio, Why Make Sense? sports a natural sound combining bright analog synths, sleek guitars and propulsive rhythms with Alexis Taylor’s vulnerable crooning and heartfelt lyrics." Beth Jeans Houghton debuts her new project Du Blonde: "While her previous album released under her own name was orchestral avant-pop, the debut full-length from her new project is a more primal blend of brooding, bluesy rock a la PJ Harvey with wistful glam-pop and stately piano-driven ballads. Produced by Jim Sclavunos of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, the album features a muscular rock sound to hammer home Houghton’s often-cutting lyrics attacking misogyny."

Thee Oh Sees release yet another new one, "another first-rate, adventurous blend of raw garage-rock, mind-bending psych-rock and a bit of acoustic folk-rock." The latest from Ceremony (which we debuted last week here) "finds them continuing to move away from their hardcore punk roots and straight towards brooding, Joy Division-style post-punk with astringent guitars, rubbery bass lines, gloomy baritone vocals and dark lyrics of a busted relationship." Scroll down and check out the rest of this week's awesome offerings:

  • André Bratten – “Yours Sincerely, André Bratten”
  • from Math Ilium Ion EP on Smalltown Supersound
  • Brandon Flowers – “Can't Deny My Love”
  • from The Desired Effect on Virgin EMI
  • Ceremony – “Your Life In France”
  • from The L-Shaped Man on Matador
  • Circuit des Yeux – “Fantasize the Scene”
  • from In Plain Speech on Thrill Jockey
  • Daniel Bachman – “Won't You Cross Over To That Other Shore”
  • from River on Three Lobed Recordings
  • Dommengang – “Hats Off To Magic”
  • from Everybody's Boogie on Thrill Jockey
  • Du Blonde – “Mind Is On My Mind (featuring Samuel T. Herring)”
  • from Welcome Back to Milk on Mute
  • Dustin Lovelis – “Idiot”
  • from Dimensions on Porch Party
  • Faith No More – “Superhero Battaglia”
  • from Sol Invictus on Ipecac
  • Fink – “Hard Believer”
  • from Horizontalism on R'COUP'D
  • Froth – “Postcard Radio”
  • from Bleak on Burger Records
  • Georgia Anne Muldrow – “Ankles”
  • from Thoughtiverse Unmarred on Mello Music Group
  • Graham Parker & the Rumour – “I've Done Bad Things”
  • from Mystery Glue on Universal
  • The Grahams – “Biscuits”
  • from Glory Bound on 12 South Records
  • The Helio Sequence – “Upward Mobility”
  • from The Helio Sequence on Sub Pop
  • Holly Herndon – “Interference”
  • from Platform on 4AD
  • Holly Miranda – “All I Want Is To Be Your Girl”
  • from Holly Miranda on Dangerbird Records
  • Hot Chip – “Need You Now”
  • from Why Make Sense? on Domino
  • Joanna Gruesome – “Last Year”
  • from Peanut Butter on Slumberland
  • Johanna Warren – “Less Traveled”
  • from Numun on Team Love Records
  • Madisen Ward and the Mama Bear – “Silent Movies”
  • from Skeleton Crew on Glassnote Entertainment Group
  • The Milk Carton Kids – “Monterey”
  • from Monterey on Anti
  • Paul Weller – “Saturn's Pattern”
  • from Saturn's Pattern on Atlantic / Elektra
  • Pinact – “Up Or Down”
  • from Stand Still and Rot on Kanine Records
  • Regal Degal – “Delicious”
  • from Not Now on Terrible
  • Saun & Starr – “Look Closer" (feat. The Dap-Kings)
  • from Look Closer on Daptone
  • Secrets of the Sky – “Three Swords”
  • from Pathway on Metal Blade
  • Shamir – “Call It Off”
  • from Ratchet on XL
  • Talk in Tongues – “While Everyone Was Waiting”
  • from Alone with a Friend on Fairfax Recordings
  • Tanlines – “Invisible Ways”
  • from Highlights on True Panther Sounds
  • Thee Oh Sees – “Web”
  • from Mutilator Defeated at Last on Castle Face
  • Total Babes – “Heydays”
  • from Heydays on Wichita
  • Vaadat Charigim – “Ein Li Makom”
  • from Sinking as a Stone on Burger Records
  • Weedeater – “Processional”
  • from Goliathan on Season of Mist

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 5/26

Everyone's recovering from the long Memorial Day weekend, including the music industry, but there are still some excellent new releases awake today. One of the highlights is the third full-length from Portland band Unknown Mortal Orchestra. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "an adventurous, im…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 5/12

It's another jam-packed week of great releases! San Diego duo Crocodiles return with their fifth album, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "was recorded in Mexico City with production by Martin Thulin (lead singer of Mexican band Los Fancy-Free), and he brings some occasional Latin rhythms …

Read More