Out This Week 12/2

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

December kicks off with another slew of great reissues, including a deluxe version of Yo La Tengo's 1994 release Painful. As frontman Ira Kaplan delightfully quips, "Anyone who ever said they liked our older records more than Painful, I just told them they’re wrong." The deluxe version, titled Extra Painful, features previously unreleased demos and live tracks, and if you get the double-vinyl version, you get a whole bunch more, including a Shaker 7″, a reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, and the first YLT Gazette in 14 years.

In other reissues, Pixies release Doolittle 25, a 3-disc celebration of their landmark 1989 album featuring early demos, b-sides, and Peel Session tracks. Jason Molina's Songs: Ohia reissues the 2002 album Didn't It Rain, which also features unreleased demos and a cinema-style poster of the artwork. And M. Ward revisits his 2005 album Transistor Radio, adding four previously unreleased recordings to the reissue.

Speaking of Mr. Ward, his side project She & Him release their covers album, Classics, today. And on the other end of the spectrum, The Wu-Tang Clan share their sixth full-length album (and their first in seven years).

  • AC/DC – “Rock or Bust”
  • from Rock or Bust on Alberts/Sony Music Australia
  • Bonobo – “Pelican”
  • from Flashlight EP on Ninja Tune
  • Leonard Cohen
  • from Live in Dublin 3xCD+DVD on Columbia/Legacy
  • M Ward – “Here Comes The Sun Again (Four-Track Demo)”
  • from Transistor Radio reissue on Merge Records
  • Mogwai – “Teenage Exorcists”
  • from Music Industry 3. Fitness Industry 1. EP on Rock Action Records
  • Neneh Cherry – “Spit Three Times (Silvio & Itchy Back Of The Moon Remix)”
  • from Blank Project deluxe edition on Smalltown Supersound
  • Owen – “Some Kinda Angel (Mojave 3)”
  • from Other People’s Songs on Polyvinyl
  • Pixies – “Debaser”
  • from Doolittle 25 reissue on 4AD
  • She & Him – “Stay Awhile”
  • from Classics on Columbia
  • Songs: Ohia – “Blue Chicago Moon (Demo)”
  • from Didn't It Rain reissue on Secretly Canadian
  • Wreckless Eric – “The Guitar Shaped Swimming Pool”
  • from Wreckless Eric Presents The Hitsville House Band reissue on Fire
  • Wu-Tang Clan – “A Better Tomorrow”
  • from A Better Tomorrow on Warner Bros.
  • Yo La Tengo – “From A Motel Six”
  • from Painful [Extra Painful] reissue on Matador

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 12/9

As we get closer to the end of the year, the new release list gets shorter and shorter, which should make it easier for you to vote for your Top Albums of 2014! (No need to wait and see what else will come out this year!) Get your votes in before Tuesday, December 16th at 6:00 PM, and then, tune in…

Read More
Local Music In Stores Now

Out This Week 11/25

No, we haven't time-warped to twenty years ago: on this holiday week, the reissues and anniversary editions dominate the new release list. One of the highlights is the reissue of Flake Music's 1997 debut (and sole release) When You Land Here, It’s Time to Return. Flake Music was an early incarnatio…

Read More