Out This Week 6/3

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

What a great way to kick off June! Just look at this list of new releases. A clear highlight for KEXP has been the latest from indie rock veteran Bob Mould. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the latest from the former Husker Du/Sugar frontman as, "in the same vein as 2012’s excellent Silver Age, combining loud distorted guitars, punchy rhythms and anthemic pop hooks, though perhaps with even greater emotional impact, as Mould reflects on his father’s passing along with his own identity and legacy."

Another highlight of the week comes from Brooklyn-via-Denton, TX band Parquet Courts, which Yates describes as "a masterful set of sardonic post-punk that’s at times more aggressive and at others more expansive than their 2013 breakthrough album Light Up Gold, with sharply written songs revolving around themes of confinement and freedom that range from frenetic, jagged punk to hypnotic, slow-rolling jams." The second album from young Chicago band The Orwells is "a sharper, more confident and polished take on the band’s scruffy, hook-filled garage-pop."

The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser shares his debut solo album, Black Hours, "an impressive set of emotive, smartly crafted music ranging from jangly, classic-steeped rock to brooding, late-night orchestral ballads. Leithauser’s husky Dylanesque croon and often-dark lyrics." The second album from indiepoppers Gold-Bears is "a sharper, more aggressive sound that improves upon the band’s promising debut with more abrasive guitars and stronger, more indelible melodies for the band’s densely produced noise-pop juxtaposing euphoric pop hooks with regret-filled lyrics."

Echo & the Bunnymen are back in fine form with the release, Meteorites, combining the ageless vocals of Ian McCulloch with the distinctive guitar stylings of Will Sergeant. Speaking of the '80s, former Bauhaus frontman Peter Murphy also returns this week with a dark new album, co-written by Killing Joke's Martin Glover.

This week in reissues, Morrissey celebrates the 20th anniversary of Vauxhall & I with a 2-disc "definitive" release. Local boys Soundgarden have also re-released their break-through album Superunknown on its 20th birthday. (Anyone feeling old yet?) And the rare album from Linda Martell (the first African-American woman to play the Grand Ole Opry, spotlighted by KEXP earlier this year) has been reissued by Real Gone Music.

(Various Artists) Jerry Bouthier - "MiniMix"from Kitsuné America, Vol. 3 on Kitsuné

Dave Alvin / Phil Alvin - "All By Myself"from Common Ground: Dave Alvin & Phil Alvin Play and Sing the Songs of Big Bill Broonzy on Yep Roc

Camper Van Beethoven - "It Was Like That When We Got Here"from El Camino Real on 429 Records

Centro-Matic - "Academy Of Lunkers"from Take Pride in Your Long Odds on Navigational Transmissions / Thirty Tigers

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - "Coming Down"from Only Run on Xtra Mile Recordings

Cypress Grove / Lydia Lunch - "A Fistful Of Desert Blues"from A Fistful of Desert Blues on Rustblade

Diamond Version - "Were You There (with Neil Tennant)"from CI on Mute

The Donkeys - "Scissor Me Cigs"from Ride the Black Wave on Easy Sound

Echo & the Bunnymen - "Market Town"from Meteorites on 429 Records

Lee Fields - "Magnolia"from Emma Jean on Truth & Soul

Sage Francis - "Vonnegut Busy"from Copper Gone on Speech Development

Fucked Up - "Sun Glass"from Glass Boys on Matador Records

Gold-Bears - "For You"from Dalliance on Slumberland

Joe Henry - "Lead Me On"from Invisible Hour on Work Song

King Buzzo - "Instrument Of God"from This Machine Kills Artists on Ipecac

Hamilton Leithauser - "Alexandra"from Black Hours on Ribbon Music

Linda Martell - "Color Me Country"from Color Me Country on Real Gone Music

Matisyahu - "Reservoir"from Akeda on Elm City Music

Taylor McFerrin - "Already There (feat. Robert Glasper and Thundercat)"from Early Riser on Brainfeeder

Morrissey - "The More You Ignore Me The Closer I Get"from Vauxhall & I [20th Anniversary Edition Definitive] on Atlantic / Elektra / Rhino / Sire / Warner Music

Bob Mould - "Hey Mr. Grey"from Beauty & Ruin on Merge Records

Peter Murphy - "Hang Up"from Lion on Nettwerk

Meshell Ndegeocello - "Conviction"from Comet, Come to Me on Naïve

The Orwells - "Let It Burn"from Disgraceland on Atlantic / Canvasback

Parquet Courts - "Sunbathing Animal"from Sunbathing Animal on Mom + Pop Music / What's Your Rupture?

Priests - "Right Wing"from Bodies and Control and Money and Power on Don Giovanni

Soundgarden - "Superunknown"from Superunknown reissue on A&M / UME

Devon Williams - "Flowers"from Gilding the Lily on Slumberland

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 6/10

It's a release as big as his mouth -- the latest from trouble-making troubadour Jack White is titled Lazaretto. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album as, "a typically masterful set of rootsy rock ranging from high-stepping blues-rock and brooding, spaghetti western-influenced rock to pl…

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 5/27

Recover from the holiday weekend with some new music, like the latest from KEXP favorite Sharon Van Etten. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes her fourth release as, "a masterful set of brooding folk-pop... the album features a sparsely produced, mostly slow-burning sound with solemn piano and …

Read More