Monday Music News

Daily Roundups
Janice Headley

  • Wrapping up a week-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of The Beatles' performance on the Ed Sullivan Show, Arctic Monkeys took the stage at Madison Square Garden Saturday night and performed their take on "All My Loving," one of the three songs the Liverpool lads performed that historical night. Watch below: [Consequence of Sound]

  • Not to be outdone by Prince on Fox's The New Girl, it's just been announced that Wilco's Jeff Tweedy is taking a trip to Pawnee, Indiana, for a guest appearance on the NBC comedy Parks and Recreation. He'll portray the former frontman of the band Land Ho! (exclamation point included), who is being asked to reunite for a Unity Concert in Pawnee. The episode is due to air in the Spring. [Spin]

  • Here's something else to set the DVR to record: Woodinville's beloved recording hideaway Bear Creek will be spotlighted on Animal Planet’s Treehouse Masters TV show on Friday, February 21st. The team behind the show added a treehouse recording studio to their already-impressive place. [The Stranger's Line Out]

  • Masked UK artist SBTRKT has unveiled a new track on DJ Mary Anne Hobbs' show on BBC Radio 6. Stream the airing below. In a note she read on air, he explained, "These tracks will form a collection of vinyl 12"s before my next album and its singles, maybe a digital release, too. They'll be out in a couple of months." [Pitchfork]

  • Late last year, NY band The Walkmen announced they were going on "extreme hiatus." Today, the band's multi-instrumentalist Walter Martin announced the upcoming release of his debut solo album, We're All Young Together, out May 13 via Family Jukebox. The album features guest appearances from his Walkmen bandmates Hamilton Leithauser and Matt Barrick, The National's Matt Berninger, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah's Alec Ounsworth, and Yeah Yeah Yeah's Nick Zinner and Karen O, who you can hear on the first track below. [Under the Radar]

  • Speaking of The National, if you weren't able to catch their performance at the Sydney Opera House this past Saturday (I know, things come up, it happens), you can now stream their 26-song set below. [Consequence of Sound]

  • Philadelphia psych-rockers Bleeding Rainbow have shared the new track "Tell Me" from their forthcoming sophomore release Interrupt, out 2/25 on Kanine. Stream the track below: [Stereogum]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Conor Oberst, of Bright Eyes fame, has announced that he will release a fresh solo album Upside Down Mountain, on May 20. This is the first new material from Oberts since his work with Bright Eyes back in 2011. Check out the album's first single, a bright and captivating ditty, "Hundreds of Ways...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Friday Music News

Texas indie band Shearwater have been dabbling in the world of covers for a while now. They released an all covers collection called Fellow Travelers late last year, and it seems their letting this trend continue. The band's newest cover is Nina Simone's melancholy "Black is the Color." [Stereogum]

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site