Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jacob Webb

  • Only 14 months after the release of their sixth album, Valtari, Sigur Ros have announced details about their seventh. Entitled Kveikur (which roughly translate to "priming" in English), the nine track effort will arrive on June 18th via XL Recordings. Now a trio after the departure of multi-instrumentalist Kjartan Sveinsson, the band will tour extensively through the end of the year, including a headlining slot at this year's Sasquatch Festival and a performance on Late Nate with Jimmy Fallon tonight, where they will play a new song. Listen to the first track to be released from Kveikur, the surprisingly aggressive and direct "Brennisteinn", below, and check out the ghostly artwork and tracklisting for Kveikur at Sigur Ros' website.

  • After spending a few years on solo projects and scaring Minneapolis concertgoers, Deerhunter has reconvened to announce their new album, Monomania, out May 7th through 4AD. Their sixth album was recorded with producer Nicolas Vernhes and new bassist Josh McKay (replacing Josh Fauver) in Brooklyn. The band haven't shared any music from the album yet, but they do have an appearance in June at their curated All Tomorrow's Parties Fest, where they'll play Cryptograms, Microcastle, and Halcyon Digest in full. Check out the tracklist and artwork for Monomania over at Consequence of Sound.

  • Although there's no news of an official Shabazz Palaces release anytime soon, a just-surfaced Tendai Maraire solo track with Palaceer Lazarro might hold fans over a little longer. "A Toast to Frame and Ro", a track from Maraire's solo mixtape Pungwe, features both Shabazz members, although not under that moniker. Listen to it below and stream the full Pungwe mixtape here.

  • Since he's done with the (admittedly nostalgia and money-fueled) At The Drive-In reunion and Mars Volta co-pilot Cedric Bixler-Zavala isn't too happy with him, Omar Rodgriguez-Lopez has dedicated his energies to his newest project, Bosnian Rainbows, which will release their self-titled debut album on June 25th via Sargent House. The band, which also includes Le Butcherettes' Teri Suarez, Mars Volta cohort Deantoni Parks, and keyboardist Nicci Kasper, have been on tour all year, and will remain so for a while. Check out the album's artwork and tracklisting at Consequence of Sound and listen to their first single, "Torn Maps", below.

  • Post-punk stalwarts Echo And The Bunnymen have been steadily releasing studio albums of new material since their 1996 reunion, and this morning, singer Ian McCullouch announced that they've got another album ready to go. Their twelfth overall and sixth since reuniting - which means that they've recorded more albums post-breakup than they did during their original run - The Garden of Meedin' will drop later this year. McCullough described the new material in an interview with The Quietus, calling it "like the early stuff with loads of spiky guitars and space" and "reminiscent of the past... but it feels new to me".

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

In honor of the late Jason Molina, Graveface Records has announced the release of a tribute album (due out on April 23). Weary Engine Blues has an impressive roster of singer/songwriters -including John Vanderslice, Will Oldham (Bonnie 'Prince' Billy), Phil Elverum (The Microphones), Mark Kozelek, …

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

While the official website remains mum about Lollapalooza 2013 lineup confirmations, rumors and confirmations as to who will play the Chicago music festival are popping up every day. But now the artists have started confirming appearances themselves, and it looks like the headliners this year will…

Read More