Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Dillon Sturtevant
photo from
  • We begin today's news with a mind-fuck of a mash-up that needs to be shared. You may have already come across this thing while surfing the web the last few days -- but some twisted mad scientist has put the vocals from Nine Inch Nails' "Head Like a Hole" over the bubble-gum pop instrumental for Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me, Maybe". The result? I wish I could tell you. I don't whether I want to dance or throw up. It's horrible. But it works so well...? I just don't know how it makes me feel... Listen for yourself below.

  • Bay area fuzz-punk outfit Thee Oh Sees have treated us to a second track from their impending release Floating Coffin, out April 16 on Castle Face Records. "Toe Cutter - Thumb Buster" is a hypnotic, fuzzed out bit of psych-rock. After the more subdued "Minotaur", this one seems to indicate that there's plenty of the good old crunchy aggression on the new album that we expect from the band. [Stereogum]

Thee Oh Sees - "Toe Cutter - Thumb Buster" (MP3)

  • Another fuzzy, crunchy new song today comes from Surfer Blood, called "Demon Dance." This is the second single from the Florida (now relocated to California) band's upcoming Gil Norton-produced Pythons out June 11 on Warner Bros. It's pure pop goodness, complete with entirely fitting howls to Lucifer, check it out for yourself. [CoS]

  • Earlier this year we learned that The Mars Volta was no more -- mostly thanks to a bitter announcement from singer Cedric Bixler-Zavala, who touched on the subject of guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez's new band Bosnian Rainbows, lamenting, "What am I suppose to do be some progressive house wife that’s cool with watching their partner go fuck other bands?". Well, the "other band" has just announced that their debut will be released June 25 on Sargent House Records with a obtuse, grainy black and white video. No more details as of yet, but check out the video below. [SPIN]

  • Indie veteran John Vanderslice, for unclear reasons, has taken it upon himself to rerecord David Bowie's entire 1974 Diamond Dogs album. He is hoping to fund this venture, as well as his own original album Dagger Beach, with the help of a Kickstarter campaign. Fans needn't worry, Vanderslice has already exceeded his goal with plenty of fundraising time left. Take a listen to Vanderslice's more subdued, lethargic version of "Big Brother" here. [Stereogum]
  • Swedish electropop band Chvrches have released a polished music video for their previously released single "Recover". With high production values the video plays like a scene from an expensive sci-fi film. For a song about a couples' relationship troubles, it's interesting that the video doesn't include any human interaction. Somehow the contrast between the futuristic visuals and the pleadingly romantic vocals is surprisingly relevant. The trio's EP of the same name will be available in the US on March 26. [Pitchfork]

  • Guitarist William Tyler is releasing his sophomore album Impossible Truth (his first on new label Merge Records) this month. This collection is entirely instrumental and really highlights Tyler's acoustic guitar prowess. His music has a sense of melancholy to it that is most noticeable in his choice of song titles. The single "Cadillac Desert" is just one of many transcendent tracks to appreciate.[SPIN]

  • Last night, Frightened Rabbit performed their song "The Woodpile" on Conan. This is the band's second single from their fourth album Pedestrian Verse. They took the audience on a journey of self discovery that many can relate to. Watch below. [SPIN]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

If you're a fan of Twin Peaks, Tim & Eric, and Beach House you are in for a treat this morning. Yep, that's Ray Wise riding a majestic stallion in the photo above. It's a screenshot from the new Eric Wareheim-directed video for Beach House's "Wishes". Wise lip syncs the song at a futuristi...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

What was already a heavy bleeding track by METZ, "Wasted" has been given a suitable and totally screwy video. As the guitars scream through the three minute long track, people in a photo studio are waiting to have their pictures snapped while digital distortion begins to play with their faces. Ey...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site