Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Matthew B. Thompson (view set)
  • Last year, The Shins released their fifth album called Heartworms. Next week, they're releasing a flipped version of the album entitled The Worm's Heart, featuring reworked versions of all the songs on the album. The basic premise is that all the songs keep the same lyrics and melodies but the slow songs get turned into upbeat ones and the faster ones get slowed down. Today the band has shared the flipped version of the (former) title track "Heartworms." The Worm’s Heart is available for pre-order now, along with immediate downloads of three songs off the album: “Name For You (Flipped),” “Cherry Hearts (Flipped)” and “Dead Alive (Flipped)" with a full release on Jan. 19. [ Paste ]
  • Earlier this week, Jack White announced his forthcoming album Boarding House Reach and shared the first single, "Connected By Love" and its B-side "Respect Commander." Today White has unveiled all the details behind the new album. It will be released March 23 via Third Man Records (of course) and "Connected By Love" will be the album's opening track. According to a press release, White assembled a mostly-new backing band to record the album and used only the type of gear he had available at age 15: “a quarter-inch four-track tape recorder, a simple mixer, and the most basic of instrumentation.” The album also features vocals from New Orleans singer-songwriter Esther Rose, Beverly Ann and Regina McCrary of Nashville gospel group the McCrary Sisters, and a spoken-word feature by Australian blues musician C.W. Stoneking. The standard edition of the album features 13 tracks, and the special Third Man Records Vault addition includes a two-song 7-inch featuring demos of “Connected By Love” and another album track, “Why Walk A Dog?” The album art is below. [ SPIN ]
  • Swedish sister act First Aid Kit have been steadily churning out new material in promotion for their upcoming album Ruins. Today, they've shared a video called "Ruins (Live From the Rebel Hearts Club)" that features the duo on the '70s-style soundstage performing the album's title track. The clip follows the previously shared (and very well-done) videos for "It's a Shame" and "Fireworks." Ruins is out Jan. 19 via Columbia. First Aid Kit will be in Seattle on Sunday, January 28 to play the Moore Theatre. [ Under the Radar ]
  • It's a good day for Swedish music! The Radio Dept. shared a new single today called "Your True Name." It's the first single on their newly-launched imprint Just So!. The beautifully fuzzy song recalls the early material, harkening back to the Lesser Matters era. According to the band, the song is about "faith in a way, not divine but utopian, believing in something that will probably never be. And it’s about falling short, sometimes with your goal just barely out of reach." The single follows up on the band's 2017 EP, Teach Me To Forget. [ Noisey ]
  • Sylvan Esso are following up their 2017 sophomore album What Now with a string of singles. Last month they covered the Mister Rogers' Neighborhood song "There Are Many Ways To Say I Love You" and today it's the dance-pop track, strangely titled "PARAD(w/m)E." The band premiered the song during a performance on Jimmy Kimmel Live, alongside Amber Coffman (formerly of Dirty Projectors) and Jenn Wasner (of Wye Oak). The band is nominated for a Grammy in the Best Dance/Electronic Album category for What Now. Catch Sylvan Esso this summer when they play Marymoor Park on Saturday, July 14. [ Stereogum ]
  • Los Angeles R&B duo Rhye are releasing a new album called Blood next month. Today they've shared the signaturely sensuous "Song for You." In a statement from frontman Mike Milosh: "'Song for You' was written for her. Listen to it in a way where it becomes your own. It holds a lot of emotion and occupies a special place both in my heart and as the heart of this new album." They've previously shared the singles "Taste," "Please," and "Count to Five." Blood is out Feb. 2 via Loma Vista. [ Exclaim! ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

R.I.P. Dolores O'Riordan of The Cranberries

Irish songwriter Dolores O'Riordan, most famously of The Cranberries, has passed away at the age of 46. A statement from her publicist says that O'Riordan was in London for a recording session, but not further details are available at this time. O'Riordan was born and raised in Limerick, Ireland,...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

tUnE-yArDs are returning next week with a new album, I can feel you creep into my private life, and today we've received the third single from the album, "Heart Attack." The fun, upbeat track shows the new, more accessible direction the band is taking. This will be the first album where the band,...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site