Iceland Airwaves 2017, Day 1

Iceland Airwaves
11/01/2017
Katy McCourt-Basham
Photo by Jim Bennett

It's a clear, crisp afternoon in beautiful Reykjavík, Iceland and locals and visitors alike are gearing up for what is sure to be another great year at Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. Here at Kex Hostel, the KEXP road crew is putting the finishing touches on our preparations for this year's off-venue spectacular. We're starting things out with a wonderful day of live music as we welcome four Icelandic acts to the Kex stage. Opening the 2017 broadcast is indie-pop duo Between Mountains, followed by KEXP mainstay Sóley. Next, a guaranteed dance party with electronic band GusGus, and we'll be closing the day with Hatari, one of Reykjavík's favorite new live acts. It's going to be a treat, so be sure to join us live on air or watch our live video feed to feel like you're right here with us!

06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Between Mountains08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Sóley11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – GusGus01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Hatari

Related News & Reviews

Iceland Airwaves Song of the Day The Afternoon Show w/ Kevin Cole

Song of the Day: ГШ (Glintshake) – Убожество

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the Day podcast subscription. This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJs think you should hear. This week, we are featuring song...


Read More
Iceland Airwaves

Iceland Airwaves is Here Again!

It’s Tuesday afternoon here in charming Reykjavik, Iceland, and the city is gearing up for one of its biggest events of the year: Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. People are talking about new bands, comparing notes and schedules, and are preparing for five full days jam-packed with live music fro...


Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site