Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson

  • Rock n' roll legend Fats Domino has passed away at the age of 89, due to natural causes. Born Antoine Domino in 1928, "Fats" combined the bluesy sound of his hometown of New Orleans with a boogie-woogie style to become one of the top artists of the 1950s and early '60s, including the hits "Ain't That a Shame" and "Blueberry Hill." Domino went on to score more than 30 Top 40 hits, including 23 gold singles. His children posted the following on social media:
    "We are all touched by the outpouring of love and tribute for our father. He passed away peacefully at home surrounded by those he loved and those who loved him. His music reached across all boundaries and carried him to all corners of the world.
    • …Then I rock myself to sleep
    • Prayin’ that I am here to keep
    • Then I ride the rising sun
    • Gee ain’t I being a lucky one
    • “Rising Sun”(Domino) ©1960 EMI Unart Catalog, Inc.
    We thank you for allowing us to grieve privately during this difficult time. Funeral arrangements are pending."
    [ CNN ]

  • Kevin Morby has shared two versions of a new song called "Baltimore," each one recorded during different album recording sessions. "Baltimore (Sky at Night)" came from the sessions for last year's Singing Saw, while "Baltimore (County Line)" was made during the sessions for this year's City Music. Neither version made it onto either album so Morby is sharing them now as a digital single with proceeds benefitting the Baltimore-based charity Believe In Music, which provides “an innovative music education for Baltimore’s youth.” [ Pitchfork ]
  • Musician masters Brian Eno and My Bloody Valentine's Kevin Shields have teamed up for a new song called "Only Once Away My Son," released through Adult Swim's Singles Program. The song is 9 minutes of experimental drone, which is exactly what one would expect an Eno/Shields collab to be. Eno released his latest album Reflection early this year and Shields has been busy remastering early My Bloody Valentine records, Isn't Anything (1988) and Loveless (1991), as high-quality vinyl releases. [ Rolling Stone ]
  • Morrissey is releasing his highly anticipated new album Low In High School next month and today he's shared the second single from it, "I Wish You Lonely." The synth-heavy song follows lead single "Spend The Day In Bed" and takes a stab at political leaders with the lyrics: “Tombs are full of fools who gave their life upon command of monarchy, oligarch, head of state, potentate, and now, never coming back, never coming back.” It comes with a lyric video featuring a boy holding a sign while sitting in a shopping cart. Low In High School is out November 17 via BMG. [ Paste ]
  • Yesterday, Alice Glass made a statement detailing the extreme physical, sexual, and psychological abuse brought upon her by former Crystal Castles bandmate Ethan Kath over the years they worked together. In the wake of her allegations, many of the forthcoming shows scheduled for the band have been canceled including Seattle's date at the Showbox, scheduled for November 2. Kath denied the accusations, saying that he is “outraged and hurt” and calling Glass’ account of their relationship “pure fiction.” Read Glass' full statement here. [ Stereogum ]
  • Ariel Pink released his latest album, Dedicated To Bobby Jameson, last month and today he's shared the video for the track "I Wanna Be Young." Directed by Salvador Cresta, the video is a collage of TV screens, altars, and Pink's face. He's previously shared videos for "Feels Like Heaven" and lead single "Another Weekend." [ Under the Radar ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

The Knife's Karin Dreijer has been teasing the possibility of new Fever Ray music for the past few weeks and today we have the official announcement. Entitled Plunge, the new album will be out tonight on streaming platforms. She previously shared the album's first single "To The Moon And Back" a...

Read More
Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Tune-Yards have returned with a brand new song that comes alongside an announcement that they'll be following up 2014's Nikki Nack with a brand new album called I can feel you creep into my private life, due January 19th via 4AD. The LP is produced by longtime collaborator Nate Brenner, who is no...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site