In Stores Now 8/7

In Stores Now

It's a great week for local music. The latest from Olympia-via-Seattle artist Briana Marela is what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "her strongest set to date of adventurous electro-pop. Co-produced by Juan Pieczanski and Ryan Heyner of Small Black, the album features a brighter, more dynamic and hook-filled sound on songs ranging from densely layered, beat-driven electro-pop to celestial dream-pop ballads." Portland-bred band Guantanamo Baywatch unleash "an energetic blend of garage-rock, surf, and more." Dale Crover, the drummer for Montesano, Washington band the Melvins, releases his debut solo LP, featuring himself on 90% of all instruments. And on their third LP, Olympia-based band Naomi Punk deliver "an adventurous set of sludgy, noise-addled post-punk ranging from hypnotic, off-kilter rock to more experimental ambient fare."

Meanwhile, in other parts of the world... The official debut album from young Nashville artist Soccer Mommy (real name: Sophie Allison) is "a strong set of intimate indie-pop combining a warm, hazy sound with vulnerable lyrics and bittersweet melodies. The album combines newly recorded full-band versions of songs she previously recorded solo and released on Bandcamp along with some brand-new tunes." Eagles of Death Metal share a live album recorded at the Olympia Hall in Paris in 2016 as part of their Nos Amis Tour¸ The show was particularly poignant as it marked the band's first return to France since the 2015 concert at the Bataclan Theatre in Paris where gunmen opened fire on the crowd, leaving 89 dead. The new concert LP is dedicated to all those who lost their lives at the Bataclan.

  • Accept - "The Rise Of Chaos"
  • from The Rise of Chaos on Nuclear Blast
  • Black Grape - "Money Burns"
  • from Pop Voodoo on MCA / Universal
  • Brett Eldredge - "Love Someone"
  • from Brett Eldredge on Atlantic
  • Briana Marela - "Give Me Your Love"
  • from Call It Love on Jagjaguwar
  • Caroline Says - "Winter Is Cold"
  • from 50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can't Be Wrong on Western Vinyl Records
  • Coldplay - "All I Can Think About Is You"
  • from Kaleidoscope EP on Atlantic
  • Dale Crover - "Bad Move"
  • from The Fickle Finger of Fate on Joyful Noise
  • Dan Wilson - "Closing Time"
  • from Re-Covered on Big Deal Music
  • Dead Cross - "Seizure and Desist"
  • from Dead Cross on Ipecac
  • Def Leppard
  • from Hysteria [3-CD 30th Anniversary Edition] on Mercury
  • Eagles of Death Metal - "I Love You All The Time"
  • from I Love You All The Time: Live At The Olympia In Paris on UME
  • George Thorogood - "Party of One"
  • from Party of One on Rounder
  • Guantanamo Baywatch - "Video"
  • from Desert Center on Suicide Squeeze
  • Hard Working Americans - "We're All In This Together"
  • from We're All in This Together on Melvin / Thirty Tigers
  • Kenny Wayne Shepherd - "Lay It On Down"
  • from Lay It on Down on Concord
  • Lal & Mike Waterson - "Bright Phoebus"
  • from Bright Phoebus on Domino Recording Co.
  • Life on Venus - "Kingdom of the Day"
  • from Encounters on Shelflife
  • Marty Friedman - "Whiteworm"
  • from Wall Of Sound on Prosthetic Records
  • Mondo Cozmo - "Plastic Soul"
  • from Plastic Soul on Republic
  • Mystery Skulls - "Losing My Mind"
  • from One of Us on Warner Bros.
  • Naomi Punk - "Cookie"
  • from Yellow on Captured Tracks
  • Nick Heyward
  • from Woodland Echoes on Gladsome Hawk
  • Quiet Riot - "Wasted"
  • from Road Rage on Frontiers Music
  • Randy Newman - "The Great Debate"
  • from Dark Matter on Nonesuch
  • Soccer Mommy - "Allison"
  • from Collection on Fat Possum
  • Tyler Childers - "Whitehouse Road"
  • from Purgatory on Hickman Holler Records
  • Wage War - "Don't Let Me Fade Away"
  • from Dead Weight on Fearless Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/14

Philly-based band The Districts return with their third LP, what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "their strongest set to date, with a fuller, more dynamic and densely textured sound combining thick, swirling guitars, muscular rhythms and often-dark lyrics of isolation and dysfunctional relat...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 7/28

The highly-anticipated new album from Arcade Fire is finally here. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates notes, "Like their last album (2013's Reflektor), this one features a more dance-oriented sound... with takes on consumerism, social media, and content overload."

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site