In Stores Now 7/10

In Stores Now

Has your new summer jam hit the racks? This week, we see new releases from Toronto-collective Broken Social Scene. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the group's fifth album (and first in seven years) is "an often-buoyant set of maximalist, psych-tinged pop-rock with a lush, densely produced sound featuring soaring harmonies, exuberant melodies and lyrics celebrating community in the face of technology-abetted narcissism and the current toxic political environment."

Peter Perrett, the former frontman for The Only Ones, shares his debut solo album and first new music in decades. (Check out an exclusive interview with Perrett on the KEXP Blog here.) "He sounds remarkably together here, joined by his sons (who are also in the band Strangefruit) for a diverse set ranging from hypnotic, psych-tinged rock to surging power pop on songs of survival pairing his offhand vocals with often-sardonic lyrics."

Seattle band Great Grandpa launch their debut, "a promising set of emotive, '90s-steeped rock with a dynamic sound featuring grungy guitars, soaring vocals and catchy pop hooks." Another local fave, Pickwick, release their second full-length, "an impressive blend of moody soul-pop, gritty psych-funk and eerie psychedelic soul ballads." The third LP from UK trio Public Service Broadcasting "chronicles the rise and fall of the Welsh coal-mining industry and the decline of working-class communities, with a cinematic post-rock sound featuring atmospheric guitars and synths, lush strings, samples from vintage public information films, broadcasts and other sources, occasional guest vocals and surging melodies." This Is The Kit -- a project led by Paris-based British artist Kate Stables -- shares their fourth LP, "a strong set of expansive folk-pop incorporating elements of rock, jazz, various African styles and more. Produced by John Parish, the album combines inventive arrangements and a rich variety of instrumentation with her warm, serene vocals and evocative, sharply crafted lyrics."

  • Breakfast Muff - "Feast"
  • from Eurgh! on Amour Foo
  • Broken Social Scene - "Stay Happy"
  • from Hug of Thunder on Arts & Crafts
  • Chris Bell
  • from Looking Forward: The Roots of Big Star on Omnivore
  • Great Grandpa - "Expert Eraser"
  • from Plastic Cough on Double Double Whammy
  • HAIM - "Something To Tell You"
  • from Something To Tell You on Sony
  • J. Bernardt - "Wicked Streets"
  • from Running Days on Play It Again Sam
  • Jay-Z - "The Story of O.J."
  • from 4:44 on Roc Nation
  • k.d. lang - "Constant Craving (MTV Unplugged)"
  • from Ingénue [25th Anniversary Edition] on Nonesuch
  • Laura Nyro - "Goodbye Joe"
  • from A Little Magic, a Little Kindness: The Complete Mono Albums Collection on Real Gone Music
  • Little Barrie - "Love or Love"
  • from Death Express on Non-Delux
  • Lucy Rose - "Something's Changing"
  • from Something's Changing on Communion Music
  • Melvins - "Aim High (Love)"
  • from A Walk with Love & Death on Ipecac
  • M.O.D. (Method Of Destruction)
  • from Busted, Broke & American on Megaforce Records
  • Offa Rex - "Sheepcrook and Black Dog"
  • from The Queen of Hearts on Nonesuch
  • Peter Perrett - "How The West Was Won"
  • from How The West Was Won on Domino
  • Pickwick - "Turncoat"
  • from LoveJoys on Small Press Records
  • Prins Thomas / Bjørn Torske - "Arthur"
  • from Square One on Smalltown Supersound
  • Public Service Broadcasting - "They Gave Me A Lamp"
  • from Every Valley on PIAS
  • Randall Bramblett - "Garbage Man"
  • from Juke Joint at the Edge of the World on New West
  • Riverdogs - "American Dream"
  • from California on Frontiers Music
  • Sarah Jaffe - "Bad Baby"
  • from Bad Baby on Kirtland Records
  • Star Tropics - "Lost World"
  • from Lost World on Shelflife
  • STRFKR - "Happy Summertime"
  • from Vault, Vol. 2 on Polyvinyl
  • Saint Etienne - "Sun In My Morning"
  • from Tales From The Turnpike House (Expanded) on Saint Etienne Limited
  • This Is the Kit - "Moonshine Freeze"
  • from Moonshine Freeze on Rough Trade
  • Toro y Moi - "W.I.W.W.T.W."
  • from Boo Boo on Carpark Records
  • Tristen - "Glass Jar (feat. Jenny Lewis)"
  • from Sneaker Waves on Modern Outsider Records
  • Twista - "Baddest (Official Video) ft. Cap1"
  • from Crook County on GMG Entertainment / EMPIRE
  • Ulrich Schnauss - "A Song About Hope"
  • from No Further Ahead Than Today on Scripted Realities
  • Violent Femmes - "I'm Nothing - 10/4/2016 - Paste Studios, New York, NY"
  • from Two Mics & The Truth: Unplugged & Unhinged In America on PIAS
  • Whitehorse - "Nighthawks"
  • from Panther In The Doghouse on Six Shooter Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 7/17

Last Friday saw the release of not one, but two albums from local duo Shabazz Palaces. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star "an impressive set of adventurous hip hop combining an ominous, shape-shifting sound with often heavily processed and reverbed vocals and dys...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site